Tuesday, March 30, 2010

This Week's Webinars Begin with Sir Ken Robinson Tonight

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. Be on the lookout for Australia-time-friendly events as part of the new Australia Series!

I also hope you'll consider hosting your own public webinars using the LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Tuesday, March 30th
  • FUTURE OF EDUCATION SERIES
    5pm PDT (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am (next day) GMT/UTC (intl times):

    Join me for a live and interactive interview with Sir Ken Robinson, author of The Element:  How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything.   
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/60493
Wednesday, March 31st
  • THE AUSTRALIA SERIES
    2am Pacific (US) / 5am EDT (US) / 9am GMT/UTC (intl times)
    :
    "E-blends and Regional/Remote Students Overcoming the Challenges" with Jo Hart.  This will be an interactive session aimed at exploring some of the challenges (and some possible solutions) of using e-learning blends for flexible delivery to a highly diverse and geographically scattered student group across four AQF levels of literacy, numeracy and study skills.
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/65232

  • EDUCATION FOR A DIGITAL WORLD 2.0 SERIES
    12pm Pacific (US) / 3pm EDT (US) / 7pm GMT/UTC (intl times)
    :
    "Cultivating Communities of Practice: Analysis of 3 Case Studies Using the 7 Principles" with Sylvia Currie, Patricia Delich, and Paul Stacey.  "In this session we will describe 3 case studies using Wenger, McDermott, & Snyder's (2002) 7 Principles for Cultivating Communities of Practice. This framework provides a close look at how our decisions about community design and technologies to support community activities were made and revised, as well as a consistent and rich view to help those involved in online and hybrid communities learn from our experiences."  30 minutes.
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/65701

  • EDUCATION FOR A DIGITAL WORLD 2.0 SERIES
    12:30pm Pacific (US) / 3:30pm EDT (US) / 7:30pm GMT/UTC (intl times)
    :
    "Blended Work – Experiences From International Development Project" with Susan Chrichton and Azra Naseem.  "We know about blended learning but what about blended work? When we use learning tools in academic work place applications, what changes and what are the challenges?  This seminar shares the authors’ experiences from the last fourteen months as we’ve navigated the virtual terrain connecting colleagues in Pakistan East Africa, the UK and Canada.  Trust us, time zones weren’t the biggest challenge!"  30 minutes.
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/65704

  • 4pm Pacific (US) / 7pm EDT (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    "Blogging for Beginners" with Lorna Costantini and Kim Caise.  Designed for participants new to blogging. Students will create a blog hosted at Weebly.com. Concepts covered - reading and writing a blog post, adding images, embedding video, what is an rss feed, and using a feed reader to monitor blog posts and comments.
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/65209

  • MERLOT CLASSIC WEBSITE AWARDS SERIES
    5pm Pacific (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am (next day) GMT/UTC (intl times):
    "Connecting Concepts – Biology Classics Award" with Jan Cheetham.  Students play the role of predators on moths on a tree trunk. Then, they play the role of biologist, analyzing the changing gene frequencies of the moth population and determining if the population evolved over three generations. Students will: 1) collect data by “eating” moths; 2) calculate gene frequencies for each phenotype over three generations; 3) interpret graphs of data their data to determine if microevolution occurred; and 4) explain how selection acts on populations.
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/60496
Thursday, April 1st




  • THE AUSTRALIA SERIES
    4pm Pacific (US) / 7pm EDT (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    "Edublogs Serendipity - Unconference Session" with 
    Jo Hart.  "Join us in our fortnightly unconference sessions. Bring along the burning issues and hot topics YOU would like to discuss. Topic is chosen by poll at the start of the session."
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/59846

  • MERLOT CLASSIC WEBSITE AWARDS SERIES
    5pm Pacific (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am (next day) GMT/UTC (intl times):
    "Texas Language Technology Center – World Languages Classics Award" with Carl Blyth. The Texas Language Technology Center is a model for innovation in technology-enhanced learning materials to teach languages. Many of its projects have won prestigious awards already and several have received five-star peer reviews in MERLOT, such as Tex’s French Grammar, Le Francais interactif, Ta Falado and Spanish Proficiency Exercises.
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/60497
Saturday, April 3rd




  • MATH 2.0 SERIES
    11am Pacific (US) / 2pm EDT (US) / 6pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    "MathOverflow." Anton Geraschenko, the founder, will present the research mathematics question and answer community MathOverflow.
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/63030
Thanks for your attention, and see you online!
Post a Comment