Monday, May 16, 2011

Week of May 15, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

O-MUN DEMO DEBATE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 16 May 08:30AM New York / Mon 16 May 12:30PM GMT / Mon 16 May 10:30PM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. Online Model United Nations (O-MUN.org) is bringing United Nations simulations for secondary school students to Elluminate. We will be preparing from 12:30-13:00 UTC and debating from 13:00 to 14:30 UTC. Members of the public are welcome to represent countries or observe as guests.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/157963

EPORTFOLIOS IN MAY: EPORTFOLIOS IN THE TRADES (Australia Series)
Mon 16 May 06:00PM New York / Mon 16 May 10:00PM GMT / Tue 17 May 08:00AM Sydney
Coach Carole. Eportfolio presentations from the hairdressing & building & construction industries; plus culinary arts & public health
http://www.learncentral.org/event/154482

SIGMS WEBINAR (TL Cafe)
Mon 16 May 08:00PM New York / Tue 17 May 12:00AM GMT / Tue 17 May 10:00AM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/133554

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: WITHIN, ACROSS, BEYOND : USING TECHNOLOGY TO CONNECT KIDS AND REALISE A VISION (Australia Series)
Tue 16 May 02:00AM New York / Tue 17 May 06:00AM GMT / Tue 17 May 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirstchin. This presentation will focus on the following : connecting kids within the school using a wordpress multi-blog site and buddypress; connecting kids across schools through interschool discussions, using videoconferencing; and connecting kids beyond schools to our Virtual Experts, a team of online scientists, historians, graphic designers, filmmakers and engineers who help our kids in their learning. Come join us and share in this exciting use of technology in the classroom. Rob Spaglia and Simone Uren will be guest presenters.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/156583

ISTE SIGVE SPEAKER SESSION (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 17 May 08:00PM New York / Wed 18 May 12:00AM GMT / Wed 18 May 10:00AM Sydney
Scott Merrick. John Lester will speak about the use of web-based virtual worlds as platforms for learning and collaboration. He will be hosting his presentation in Jibe, a web-based multiuser virtual world platform based on Unity3d and developed by ReactionGrid. John will speak about the unique affordances of web-based multiuser virtual worlds, how Jibe can be integrated with web-based learning management systems and web-based collaboration applications, and how the game-based development tools of Unity3d can be used to create immersive learning experiences.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142089

MARK FENSKE ON "THE WINNER'S BRAIN" (Future of Education Series)
Tue 17 May 08:00PM New York / Wed 18 May 12:00AM GMT / Wed 18 May 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve interviews Mark Fenske about his book, The Winner's Brain.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/154676

COETAIL COURSE 2 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 18 May 06:00AM New York / Wed 18 May 10:00AM GMT / Wed 18 May 08:00PM Sydney
Kim Cofino. The 21st Century learner had been bombarded with new technology, access to wide ranging global communication, and a plethora of information. Accompanying this new world of learning are ethical, moral, and emotional considerations that are changing the way in which are students are interacting with the world. This course will explore current issues inherent in our technological world.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/157506

ET@LKING: THE GOOGLE TEACHER ACADEMY (Australia Series)
Wed 18 May 08:00AM New York / Wed 18 May 12:00PM GMT / Wed 18 May 10:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirstchin. Listen to Tony Richards, Roland Gesthuizen, Chris Betcher, Andrew Williamson and others as they share their experiences at the recent Google Academy in Sydney. Come and join in the conversations and consider how google and its apps can be used in education.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/157506

LIVE SESSION WITH DR.KIRT RUSNEKO (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 18 May 10:30AM New York / Wed 18 May 02:30PM GMT / Thu 19 May 12:30AM Sydney
Jim Gerry. "Migration and the Reproductive Strategies of Loggerhead Turtles" Dr. Kirt Rusenko, Gumbo Limbo Center and Florida Atlantic University
http://www.learncentral.org/event/157506

LINGUAFOLIO ONLINE FOR STARTALK (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 18 May 01:00PM New York / Wed 18 May 05:00PM GMT / Thu 19 May 03:00AM Sydney
Krystal Sundstrom. We will discuss LinguaFolio Online for STARTALK programs, and share information on how to register, how to navigate the tool, and how to integrate LinguaFolio Online with your STARTALK program.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/157506

LIVE SESSION WITH DR. KIRT RUSNEKO (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 18 May 03:30PM New York / Wed 18 May 07:30PM GMT / Thu 19 May 05:30AM Sydney
Jim Gerry. "Migration and the Reproductive Strategies of Loggerhead Turtles" Dr. Kirt Rusenko, Gumbo Limbo Center and Florida Atlantic University
http://www.learncentral.org/event/157506

CHRIS GUILLEBEAU ON "THE ART OF NON-CONFORMITY" (Future of Education Series)
Thu 19 May 08:00PM New York / Fri 20 May 12:00AM GMT / Fri 20 May 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon as he interviews Chris Guillebeau about his book, The Art of Non-Conformity.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/157506

POWER OF PROJECTS (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 21 May 12:00PM New York / Sat 21 May 04:00PM GMT / Sun 22 May 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Jen Wagner will share the power of having your students participate in collaborative projects connecting with other classrooms around the world.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/157506
Post a Comment