Monday, May 30, 2011

This Week's Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: NUMERACY AND THE IDEVICE (Australia Series)
Tue 30 May 12:00AM New York / Tue 31 May 04:00AM GMT / Tue 31 May 02:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Lets get real with number! Using numbers with meaning to enhance numeracy via the iPod or ipad. There's an app for almost all numeracy learning. Plus there are real life apps that supply so much number information daily with meaning that we can take advantage of in our numeracy lessons. Allowing students to express their Mathematical knowledge in their hands couldn't be easier on the idevices. Come and get some great examples that you can use in your numeracy classes. (Primary focus but many work flows can be adapted for higher levels).
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162602

JAMES BOSCO ON "DIGITAL MEDIA AND PARTICIPATORY LEARNING" (Future of Education Series)
Tue 31 May 08:00PM New York / Wed 1 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Wed 1 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews James Bosco, Principle Investigator at the Consortium for School Networking (CoSN). For the past 3 years CoSN has been involved in a project which is called "Participatory Learning in Schools: Leadership and Policy." This project is funded by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation and is included in the Foundation's digital media and learning program. Jim asks if "participatory learning" is just another set of buzzwords that will be here today and gone tomorrow? What does "participatory learning" actually mean, and how does it intersect with digital media? What has the CoSN project revealed about efforts in school districts to confront the challenges and seize the opportunities of participatory learning?
http://www.learncentral.org/node/162493

ACTION RESEARCH IN EDUCATION (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 1 Jun 04:00AM New York / Wed 1 Jun 08:00AM GMT / Wed 1 Jun 06:00PM Sydney
Hery The. This presentation covers basic approach on educational action research and basic technique on this research.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162599

ET@LKING: DIGITAL CITIZENSHIP (Australia Series)
Wed 1 Jun 06:00AM New York / Wed 1 Jun 10:00AM GMT / Wed 1 Jun 08:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. Join this webinar to discuss what is needed to be a responsible digital citizen.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162489

KATE FRIDKIS, MONIKA HARDY, LISA NIELSEN, AND CLARK ALDRICH: PANEL DISCUSSION ON "UNSCHOOLING" (Future of Education Series)
Wed 1 Jun 08:00PM New York / Thu 2 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Thu 2 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. This webinar will feature a panel moderated by Steve Hargadon discussing "unschooling" with Kate Fridkis, Monika Hardy, Lisa Nielsen, and Clark Aldrich. We'll use Clark's recently-published book, Unschooling Rules, as the basis for the conversation. In particular, we'll look at the innovative methods of education that can be found in home-schooling and unschooling, and how those principles could be applied to public school settings.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/162494

"COMMUNITY CONNECT" AUSTRALIA SERIES (Australia Series)
Thu 2 Jun 06:00AM New York / Thu 2 Jun 10:00AM GMT / Thu 2 Jun 08:00PM Sydney
Junita Lyon. oin "Community Connect" as guest presenter renowned blogger and educator Chris Betcher takes us around the wordpress dashboard and helps you understand further how to implement Blogs in your classroom practice or for your personal use.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162603

CAL NEWPORT ON HOW TO BE A HIGH SCHOOL SUPERSTAR ("HACK YOUR EDUCATION" SERIES) (Future of Education Series)
Thu 2 Jun 08:00PM New York / Fri 3 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Fri 3 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve as he interviews Cal Newport, author of How to Be a High School Superstar: A Revolutionary Plan to Get into College by Standing Out (Without Burning Out). For three years Cal interviewed what he calls "relaxed superstars:" students who live relaxed and happy high school lives and who get admitted to the colleges of their choice. He brings a unique perspective to the "student success" literature, by recommending that students who want to do well should 1) "underschedule" themselves by scheduling free time for exploring, 2) master one serious interest, and 3) pursue accomplishments that are "hard to explain, not hard to do."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142216

AMAZON TRIBE STUDY: IS MATH INBORN? (Math 2.0 Series)
Fri 3 Jun 02:00PM New York / Fri 3 Jun 06:00PM GMT / Sat 4 Jun 04:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Pierre Pica will introduce his math, language, cognition studies with peoples in tribal and industrial societies.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/162630

ISTE 2011, EDUBLOGGERCON, ISTEUNPLUGGED, AND TEACHER 2.0 (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 4 Jun 12:00PM New York / Sat 4 Jun 04:00PM GMT / Sun 5 Jun 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Join us as our special guest, Steve Hargadon, share information about the ISTE 2010 Conference in Philadalphia, June 25-29. Information will include tips for participating in the conference both in person and virtually such as EduBloggerCon, ISTE Unplugged, the Bloggers Cafe, and how to prepare to maximize your experience during the conference. Steve will also introduce Teacher 2.0 and lead a conversation about how you can get involved. http://www.teacher20.com Teacher 2.0 is an independent network for educators to explore their interests and passions, and to build a network of support for educators at all levels. Through this community, with online events, interviews, and workshops, our goal is to have educators help each other become re-energized about finding and following their passions--as a part of their careers and in their contributions to the world.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/162496
Post a Comment