Sunday, May 22, 2011

This Week's Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

EPORTFOLIO MONTH: MAY WEBINAR #4 (Australia Series)
Sun 22 May 08:30PM New York / Mon 23 May 12:30AM GMT / Mon 23 May 10:30AM Sydney
Coach Carole. The Australian Flexible Learning Framework (Framework) is supporting the EpCoP with an interactive e-Gemssession on 23 May. The e-Gems session will workshop the newly developed Key considerations for implementing an e-portfolio system(outlined in an E-portfolios blog post)based on the findings from the 2009 and 2010 E-portfolios implementation trials. Participants will discuss the best way to implement these considerations for their organisation and clients.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/155919

PEER-ED PEER COACHING BYTE-COLLECTING COACHING EVIDENCE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 23 May 07:00PM New York / Mon 23 May 11:00PM GMT / Tue 24 May 09:00AM Sydney
Shelee King George. Peer-Ed’s Peer Coaching Webinar Bytes are intended to connect peer coaching facilitators and their coaches. Each 30 minute Webinar will focus on one topic, deliver a short presentation, and then provide an opportunity to ask questions and/or share other strategies. This byte will feature Jane Miller, Educational Technology Facilitator for Spokane Public Schools. Hear how Spokane is maximizing their effect of Peer Coaching and collecting artifacts through the use of Excel to create a unique collaboration log that provides coaches with a structure for planning meetings and the collection of reflections. Consider how you can use this log in your own coaching work. Learn.Connect. Share.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/158078

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: DIGITAL STORYTELLING (Australia Series)
Tue 23 May 02:00AM New York / Tue 24 May 06:00AM GMT / Tue 24 May 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirstchin. At this stage the session will feature Richard Lambert (to be confirmed) Richard will share his passion for digital storytelling and its application in the classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/160321

IMAGINENATION MATTERS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 24 May 07:00PM New York / Tue 24 May 11:00PM GMT / Wed 25 May 09:00AM Sydney
Jeff Stanzler. ImagineNation Matters is a web-based project of the University of Michigan Schools of Information and Education that uses role-playing and mentorship to bring to life the stories of significant events and places in the history and cultural life of our nation. Learn about this free, story-based project in which university students serve as “mentors” to students in grades 3-6, portraying the characters from stories that explore topics ranging from state government to healthy eating, and helping to nurture an array of writing and thinking skills.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/160391

LINGUAFOLIO ONLINE FOR STARTALK (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 24 May 07:00PM New York / Tue 24 May 11:00PM GMT / Wed 25 May 09:00AM Sydney
Krystal Sundstrom. We will discuss LinguaFolio Online for STARTALK programs, and share information on how to register, how to navigate the tool, and how to integrate LinguaFolio Online with your STARTALK program.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/154413

STEVE DENNING ON RADICAL MANAGEMENT AND EDUCATION (Future of Education Series)
Tue 24 May 08:00PM New York / Wed 25 May 12:00AM GMT / Wed 25 May 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join me, Steve Hargadon, for a live and interactive FutureofEducation.com webinar with author and consultant Stephen Denning as we discuss his most recent book, The Leader's Guide to Radical Management. We'll discuss the imminent changes he sees in the workplace, and the impact those changes are likely to have on how we think both about educating and the educational workplace. In the last 25 years, Steve writes, "startups created 40 million jobs in the US, while established firms created almost none." Traditional management, he argues, is broken, and this is reflected in the fact that only 20% of workers are passionate about their jobs. The implications of his book relate not just to how we think about teaching and learning, but also to how we organize the work and the workplaces of teachers.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142215

ET@LKING: A GOOGLE GATHERING (Australia Series)
Wed 25 May 06:00AM New York / Wed 25 May 10:00AM GMT / Wed 25 May 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirstchin. Following on from last session's topic on the google teacher academy, participants will be given the opportunity to share their favourite google apps and how they use them. Creating forms in google will feature first. So, come along, bring your questions, ideas and ways in which you use the apps and share with us all.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/160322

FRONTIER SD= PEER COACHING WEBEVENT (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 25 May 04:30PM New York / Wed 25 May 08:30PM GMT / Thu 26 May 06:30AM Sydney
Shelee King George. This session will extend Frontier School Division's Peer Coaching training. Focus on Trust and protocols from Session 6 and 7 of the Peer Coaching Program hosted on the Parters in Learning Network. Training will be led byPeer-Ed.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/159399

SIR KEN ROBINSON ON "OUT OF OUR MINDS" (Future of Education Series)
Wed 25 May 08:00PM New York / Thu 26 May 00 GMT / Thu 26 May 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join me, Steve Hargadon, for a live and interactive FutureofEducation.com webinar with Sir Ken Robinson about the extensively revised and updated version of his best-selling classic, Out of Our Minds: Learning to be Creative. We'll talk about why it is essential to promote creativity, what happens in schools to make us think we are not creative, and what schools and organizations can do to develop creativity and innovation in a deliberate and systematic way.
http://www.stevehargadon.com/2011/05/may-25-interview-with-sir-ken-robinson.html

HOODA MATH (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 25 May 09:30PM New York / Thu 26 May 01:30AM GMT / Thu 26 May 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. During the event, Michael Edlavitch of Hooda Math will discuss his free game, movie and tutorial portal.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/160638

KINDLE TRICKS AND TIPS (BEYOND BUYING FROM AMAZON!) (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 26 May 07:00PM New York / Thu 26 May 11:00PM GMT / Fri 27 May 09:00AM Sydney
Kristin Fontichiaro . Part of the 4tvirtualcon.com conference at the U of Michigan, we'll look at how we can add free, quality content to Kindles and other ereaders to positively impact learning. 7-8pm EST.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/160458

ONLINE LEARNING: STRATEGIES FOR SUCCESS--FOLLOW-UP (Admin 2.0)
Thu 26 May 07:00PM New York / Thu 26 May 11:00PM GMT / Fri 27 May 09:00AM Sydney
Jason Borgen. Leadership 3.0 Symposium's Online Learning Summit consisted of national, state, and local experts in online learning programs. Attend this webinar to hear some of the emerging trends in online learning programs and how your schools and districts can be on the cutting edge.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/158903

CSOV STUDENT NEWS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Fri 27 May 08:00AM New York / Fri 27 May 12:00PM GMT / Fri 27 May 10:00PM Sydney
Molly Williams. Join Molly for a student news broadcast.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/159275
Post a Comment