Saturday, January 08, 2011

Week of January 9, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

ECN WEBSTITUTE - KEYNOTE, JANE A. G. KISE (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Sun 9 Jan 06:00PM New York / Sun 9 Jan 11:00PM GMT / Mon 10 Jan 10:00AM Sydney
Karen LaBonte. The keynote address of the Second Webstitute of the English Companion Ning by Dr. Jane Kise
http://www.learncentral.org/event/123203

ECN WEBSTITUTE - GEORGE COUROS: UNINTENDED BENEFITS: BUILDING RELATIONSHIPS USING SOCIAL MEDIA IN SC (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Sun 9 Jan 06:30PM New York / Sun 9 Jan 11:30PM GMT / Mon 10 Jan 10:30AM Sydney
Karen LaBonte. George's presentation will immediately flow into the Webstitute's closing conversation.We hope you'll stay to share your thoughts.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/128051

INTERVIEW WITH IRA DAVID SOCOL (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Tue 11 Jan 06:00PM New York / Tue 11 Jan 11:00PM GMT / Wed 12 Jan 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Ira David Socol on education, reform, technology, and more.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/127864

1 TOOL AT A TIME WEBINAR: AUDACITY (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Wed 12 Jan 07:00PM New York / Thu 13 Jan 12:00AM GMT / Thu 13 Jan 11:00AM Sydney
Kate Christo. Participants will learn how to use Audacity, to record, import and edit sound including filtering and export a sound file in different formats for classroom and web use. Simple sound effects through to complex soundscapes can be created using audacity. The session will use classroom based examples. A sharing and question time will be part of the Webinar. Supporting literature will be provided and screenclips will complement the session. The demonstrations will be in Windows, however supporting resources will cover using Audacity on the Mac. Lawrence is a Senior lecturer in the College of Education, University of Canterbury, New Zealand. He was a teacher and a special education teacher before moving into tertiary education. His areas of interest are learning, ICT, video and Assistive Technology.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/123305

READER'S THEATER AND INFORMATIONAL TEXT (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 13 Jan 04:00PM New York / Thu 13 Jan 09:00PM GMT / Fri 14 Jan 08:00AM Sydney
Kimberly Lightle. Science and literacy instruction in the elementary grades is the focus of a new series of web seminars for the 2010-2011 school year. The series is sponsored by Beyond Penguins and Polar Bears, an NSF-funded project that provides professional development and instructional resources to elementary teachers.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/89908

THE KNOWLEDGE SHARING PLACE - CREATIVELY THINKING WITH KELLY TENKELY (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 13 Jan 07:00PM New York / Fri 14 Jan 12:00AM GMT / Fri 14 Jan 11:00AM Sydney
Dean Mantz. The ladies of LiveBinders along with Dean Mantz will be talking with Kelly Tenkely of ilearntechnology.com The discussion will be focusing on Blooms to inspire critical thinking and collaboration creatively using a variety of web 2.0 tools. Kelly will provide some insight to her methods of evaluating sites and tools before they are recommended to educators.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125450

TEACHER-N-TEACHER: CONNECTING CLASSROOMS (MIDDLE SCHOOL PORTAL 2)
Thu 13 Jan 08:00PM New York / Fri 14 Jan 01:00AM GMT / Fri 14 Jan 12:00PM Sydney
Kimberly Lightle. Innovative classrooms today create opportunities for students to collaborate locally, nationally, or globally and empower them to forge new, purposeful academic relationships. This presentation provides educators with a framework that supports student learning communities around STEM concepts. Learn how to involve students in relevant, project-based learning with authentic audiences, nurture critical thinking, and facilitate the development of interpersonal and global communication skills.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/123975

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 8 (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 13 Jan 08:30PM New York / Fri 14 Jan 01:30AM GMT / Fri 14 Jan 12:30PM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 8 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100307

FEATURED TEACHER - ANNE MIRTSCHIN (CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 15 Jan 12:00PM New York / Sat 15 Jan 05:00PM GMT / Sun 16 Jan 04:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Join the Classroom 2.0 LIVE co-hosts for the latest session in the monthly Featured Teacher series with Anne Mirtschin of the Australia Series.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/129060
Post a Comment