Monday, July 04, 2011

Week of July 4, 2011 - Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

SANDY HIRSH ON LIBRARIES AND DIGITAL LITERACY (Future of Education Series)
Tue 5 Jul 08:00PM New York / Wed 6 Jul 12:00AM GMT / Wed 6 Jul 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon for a live and interactive Future of Education interview with Sandy Hirsh, the director of the School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) at San José State University. We'll be talking all about the current and future state of libraries and librarians, and will also discuss our recently announced Library 2.011 worldwide virtual conference, for which she is the conference co-chair.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/165061

WOLFRAM DEMONSTRATIONS (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 6 Jul 09:30PM New York / Thu 7 Jul 01:30AM GMT / Thu 7 Jul 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Kelvin Mischo of Wolfram Research for a discussion of several Wolfram projects, including Demonstrations.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/165957

CAROL BLACK ON SCHOOLING THE WORLD (Future of Education Series)
Thu 7 Jul 08:00PM New York / Fri 8 Jul 12:00AM GMT / Fri 8 Jul 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon for a live and interactive Future of Education interview with Carol Black, director of the film "Schooling the World: The White Man's Last Burden." The film questions the impact of modern educational methods and structures on indigenous cultures, particularly in the Buddhist culture of Ladakh in the northern Indian Himalayas--and then ultimately also questioning institutional education's promises in the United States and in the "developing world."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/165063
Post a Comment