Saturday, July 23, 2011

Week of July 25, 2011 - Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

HIGH SCHOOL THE MINARETS WAY - JON CORIPPO (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 25 Jul 04:00PM New York / Mon 25 Jul 08:00PM GMT / Tue 26 Jul 06:00AM Sydney
Rushton Hurley. When he got the chance to engineer Minarets High School from the ground up, Jon Corippo (ADE & GCT) threw away the playbook for high school and used resources like The Tipping Point, Freakonomics, Why Johnny Can't Read and Dumbing Us Down to reboot high school culture. He also mixed in constructivism, ZPD, Macbooks, cell phones, Google Apps and more. Learn about the elemental concepts that have lead to a school with 60% transfers IN, students who hate summer break and parents who are raving fans.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/166909

KIERAN EGAN ON LEARNING IN DEPTH (Future of Education Series)
Tue 26 Jul 08:00PM New York / Wed 27 Jul 12:00AM GMT / Wed 27 Jul 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve will talk with Kieran Egan about his new book "Learning in Depth". “Learning in Depth” is a simple though radical innovation in curriculum and instruction designed to ensure that all students become experts about something during their school years. Each child is given a particular topic to learn about through her or his whole school career, in addition to the usual curriculum, and builds a personal portfolio on the topic. To the surprise of many, children usually take to the program with great enthusiasm, and within a few months LiD begins to transform their experience as learners. The program usually takes about an hour a week, with the students working outside school time increasingly.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/165066



Join the "Collaborate for Good" contest!
Winners will receive a 1-year, 50-seat Blackboard Collaborate room to use to make a difference in the world.
Proposals due by Monday, July 25th.
http://www.WeCollaborate.com/




INTRODUCTION TO THE EPCOP MOOC (Australia Series)
Wed 27 Jul 06:00AM New York / Wed 27 Jul 10:00AM GMT / Wed 27 Jul 08:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. How do you create a MOOC? Tonight Coach Carole and her design team will discuss how they planned, designed and developed the EpCoP MOOC and showcase how the MOOC will be delivered to a growing group of registered participants. If you wish to register for the MOOC please go to: https://sites.google.com/site/epcoplearnspace/. Join us online to unpack the EpCoP MOOC.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/166897

QUESTIONING THE IMPOSSIBLE - MARK DOHN (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 27 Jul 12:00PM New York / Wed 27 Jul 04:00PM GMT / Thu 28 Jul 02:00AM Sydney
Rushton Hurley. “Why not?” I use these words not to challenge my students who say, “I can’t,” in the classroom, but to encourage them when they come to me with new ideas and concepts for projects that demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of academic content. By using multimedia tools, mobile devices and apps (I’m a huge fan of BYOD - Bring Your Own Device) my classroom often is a powerful space for learning through both failure and success. How do I back this up in the classroom? There was this little trip I took to the Amazon last year...
http://www.learncentral.org/event/166910

MATH PICKLE: MILLION-DOLLAR PROBLEMS WITH GRADES 7 TO 12 (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 27 Jul 09:30PM New York / Thu 28 Jul 01:30AM GMT / Thu 28 Jul 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. During the event, Gordon Hamilton will talk about solving real million-dollar problems with middle and high schoolers.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/167363

GET A CLUE: SEE WHAT WE CAN DO! - CAROL ANNE MCGUIRE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Fri 29 Jul 12:00PM New York / Fri 29 Jul 04:00PM GMT / Sat 30 Jul 02:00AM Sydney
Rushton Hurley. In Carol Anne McGuire's classroom, her students - who happened to be blind and visually impaired - created award-winning movies and co-produced multimedia projects with students in other countries, buoyed by the class motto, "Vision does NOT require sight!" You can even take part in how she sees the world in another way - as part of RockOurWorld.org, the effort she began to link classrooms around the world through music and digital media.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/166911
Post a Comment