Monday, July 18, 2011

Week of July 17, 2011 - Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

Mon 18 Jul 09:00AM New York / Mon 18 Jul 01:00PM GMT / Mon 18 Jul 11:00PM Sydney
Diego Leal. Sexta sesión del curso abierto ArTIC (

Tue 19 Jul 06:00AM New York / Tue 19 Jul 10:00AM GMT / Tue 19 Jul 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. This will be an informal session where participants will be given the opportunity to share favourite websites, new or tried web 2.0 tools, projects they may want help with etc. Application sharing will be used where possible. Please come along and share in the conversations. Link to be provided.

THE ROLE OF INTUITION - DAN REZAC (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 19 Jul 04:00PM New York / Tue 19 Jul 08:00PM GMT / Wed 20 Jul 06:00AM Sydney
Rushton Hurley. We see it in our design. We see it in our processes and methods. Intuition is everywhere, and it’s shaping the tools we use in the classroom. Let's explore a world where intuition is our guide, and we’ll discover what role it plays in the choices we make for what we teach, what we learn, and how we present the world to our students.

ISTE SIGVE SPEAKER SESSION (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 19 Jul 08:00PM New York / Wed 20 Jul 12:00AM GMT / Wed 20 Jul 10:00AM Sydney
Scott Merrick. Join Scott for the latest webinar in the ISTE SIGVE Speaker Series.

The "Collaborate for Good" Contest!
Winners will receive a 1-year, 50-seat Blackboard Collaborate room to use to make a difference in the world.
One week left--make your proposal or vote on some great ones already posted!

BLOGGING+++ (Australia Series)
Wed 20 Jul 06:00AM New York / Wed 20 Jul 10:00AM GMT / Wed 20 Jul 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Sue Wyatt will share how she is creating a travelling blog from the perspective of a Tasmanian Devil. Application sharing will show how she is creating it and what features are being added to it, to create and effective blog. Sue will also discuss the recent blogging challenge and share some of the amazing outcomes.

Wed 20 Jul 04:00PM New York / Wed 20 Jul 08:00PM GMT / Thu 21 Jul 06:00AM Sydney
Rushton Hurley. My passion for teaching and learning is reflected in the wonderful possibilities of Google Earth. This free program can be used for activities across the curriculum, and I'll talk about its connections to 21st century learning, student engagement, and what it's meant to me as an educator.

THE POSSIBILITIES OF 1:1 - KERN KELLEY (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 21 Jul 04:00PM New York / Thu 21 Jul 08:00PM GMT / Fri 22 Jul 06:00AM Sydney
Rushton Hurley. Now that there's hardware in each students hands, let's talk about ways to use it in the classroom. We'll discuss real examples of the positive and negatives involved with rolling out a 1 to 1 program.

READING WORKSHOP WORKS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 21 Jul 08:00PM New York / Fri 22 Jul 12:00AM GMT / Fri 22 Jul 10:00AM Sydney
Laura Candler. In many classrooms, students are improving their reading skills and showing growth on tests. But the real question is whether or not their improvement translates into a passion for reading. In this webinar, Laura Candler will share how you can get started with the reading workshop approach. This method not only improves reading skills, it inspires kids to learn to love reading.
Post a Comment