Monday, January 24, 2011

Week of January 24, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

INSIDE THE MIND OF GARY STAGER (Future of Education Series)
Tue 25 Jan 08:00PM New York / Wed 26 Jan 01:00AM GMT / Wed 26 Jan 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Gary Stager and goes "Inside the Mind" of the often controversial education thinker.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132740

GETTING CAMPUS-WIDE ADOPTION—AND HAPPY FACULTY—WITH BLACKBOARD COLLABORATE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 26 Jan 12:00PM New York / Wed 26 Jan 05:00PM GMT / Thu 27 Jan 04:00AM Sydney
Gailene Nelson. More than half of all faculty at the University of Findlay utilize Blackboard Collaborate for everything from live online classes and office hours, to meetings and virtual conferences. In fact, the faculty believe Blackboard Collaborate is so vital to their teaching that a recent survey found that 93% of all faculty ‘agree’ or ‘strongly agree’ to recommend Blackboard Collaborate to other faculty members. Join Mike Shaffer, Academic Technology Specialist at the University of Findlay, to gain insight into how he has spread true campus-wide adoption and to gain a few tips and tricks about how you too can garner similar wide-spread adoption at your own school.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/128729/

JANUARY MOODLE FORUM: THE LANDSCAPE OF K-12 ONLINE LEARNING (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 26 Jan 03:30PM New York / Wed 26 Jan 08:30PM GMT / Thu 27 Jan 07:30AM Sydney
Laura Mikowychok. Join Laura and special guest Allison Powell, Vice President of iNACOL, for "The Landscape of K-12 Online Learning". What does the future of learning look like? How do we define a world-class education for today’s students? Online learning offers a solution for expanding opportunities, global collaboration, and 21st century skills. Learn about the latest research and what works for K-12 online learning.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/128495

MICHAEL HORN REVISITS DISRUPTING CLASS -- THE 2ND EDITION (Future of Education Series)
Wed 26 Jan 07:00PM New York / Thu 27 Jan 12:00AM GMT / Thu 27 Jan 11:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve interviews regular guest Michael Horn, co-author of Disrupting Class, to discuss the new edition of the book.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132741

P2PU COURSE - CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 26 Jan 07:30PM New York / Thu 27 Jan 12:30AM GMT / Thu 27 Jan 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. What does the future of learning look like? How do we define a world-class education for today’s students? A national and global perspective on the future trends in education, expectations for students, and what strategies schools need to have in place will be shared. Globalization requires students to be academically prepared for a vastly different workplace to achieve success in a knowledge-based economy. eLearning is providing a revolution across the globe for the best teachers to reach the most remote students as well as engage our most challenging populations—low income, at risk of dropping out, special needs, and ELL students. Online learning offers a solution for expanding opportunities, global collaboration, and 21st century skills. So all schools can deliver on the promise that every student should have access to the best education available, regardless of their neighborhood or geography. Learn about the latest research and what works for K-12 online learning.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131360

MATH FUTURE SERIES: HOWTOSMILE.ORG - SCIENCE AND MATH INFORMAL LEARNING EDUCATORS (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 26 Jan 09:30PM New York / Thu 27 Jan 02:30AM GMT / Thu 27 Jan 01:30PM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Sherry Hsi will lead us in exploring http://howtosmile.org and answer questions about the project.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131104

SUSTAINABILITY STUDIO OPENING (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 27 Jan 12:00PM New York / Thu 27 Jan 05:00PM GMT / Fri 28 Jan 04:00AM Sydney
C Geith. Join the opening session for "P2PU Sustainability"s.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/130108

SCHOOLS AS LAGGING INDICATORS OF CULTURAL CHANGE: RESPONDING TO THE DIG. MEDIA LEADERSHIP CHALLENGE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 27 Jan 05:00PM New York / Thu 27 Jan 10:00PM GMT / Fri 28 Jan 09:00AM Sydney
Jason Borgen. Over the past several decades the way human culture is produced, disseminated and used has been transformed in profound ways by digital media. In the past few years, social networking, blogs, the publication of video, civic, political, and artistic products produced persons who a short time ago would have had no publication outlet have played a particularly significant role in the content of the culture. Apart from notable exceptions, many school districts throughout the U.S. still operate within a context of a culture which is out of sync with the contemporary situation. Schools generally are making digital media fit into a “business as usual” rather than a transformation of the learning environment. This Webinar will consider the nature of the dissonance between the world as it is and the schools as they are. It will focus on leadership challenges for school personnel and will describe resources provided by the Consortium for School Networking (CoSN) to assist school leaders in responding to the challenge. The task is not just to define the gap but to close it.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/118300

TEACHER 2.0: BUILDING OPPORTUNITIES FOR PERSONAL AND PROFESSIONAL SUPPORT (Classroom 2.0 Series)
Thu 27 Jan 08:00PM New York / Fri 28 Jan 01:00AM GMT / Fri 28 Jan 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve holds an open community discussion on how Web 2.0 tools can provide educators with personal and professional support, as well as with career opportunities. How do you create and build your own personal reputation in an authentic way? How do you find work or passion-based opportunities outside of the traditional classroom? What is the value of a personal learning network? Given that the current educational environment is characterized by extremes--financial constraints exist alongside incredible new opportunities, and educators as the focus of intense criticism while at the same time acknowledged as being critical to school success--what kind of support would you want from a Teacher 2.0 network?
http://www.learncentral.org/event/133547

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 10 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 27 Jan 08:30PM New York / Fri 28 Jan 01:30AM GMT / Fri 28 Jan 12:30PM Sydney
Catherine Martin. The presentation will be followed, as always, by an open Q&A time with Laura for all of your Moodle questions.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100314

INFUSING DIGITAL STORIES THROUGHOUT THE PRIMARY CURRICULUM (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 29 Jan 09:00AM New York / Sat 29 Jan 02:00PM GMT / Sun 30 Jan 01:00AM Sydney
S. Lister. Stories as an instructional strategy in math? Social studies? Phys-ed? And/or Science?!! Participants will experience the skills necessary to create digital stories and then learn how the process of digital storytelling can be applied in a variety subjects within the Primary grades. The workshop will conclude with tips and tricks for using Digital Storytelling in more demanding classrooms such as those with only 1 computer, limited technology, large class sizes, etc. This workshop will be presented in a ‘blended’ format where there will be f2f participants (pre-service teachers) in North Bay, Ontario, Canada mixing with online guests from around the world.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125058

NOW SERVING...A CLASSROOM IN A CLOUD (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 29 Jan 02:00PM New York / Sat 29 Jan 07:00PM GMT / Sun 30 Jan 06:00AM Sydney
S. Lister. In this workshop we will examine web 2.0 educational applications. We will start with an appetizer of freely available open educational resources (OER’s) and then move onto the main course of Google applications – tasty morsels for every connected classroom. Dessert will be a selection of ‘cloud’ collaboration tools that can support global connections in the classroom. All diners will receive a parting gift of resources to build your own cloud personal learning network (PLN).
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125060
Post a Comment