Monday, October 25, 2010

This Week's Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

TECHNOLANGUAGES DROP-IN
Mon 25 Oct 05:00AM New York / Mon 25 Oct 09:00AM GMT / Mon 25 Oct 07:00PM Sydney
Jess McCulloch. As part of the technoLanguages series, there will be a monthly 'Live' session on the 2nd Monday with a prepared presentation etc, and then on the 4th Monday of the month, a 'Drop-In' session where participants can ask more questions, tell their own stories and talk about what interests them. There will be no specific topic or presenter organised for these sessions. Please bring a story or tool or idea to share.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/111266

TEACHING ENGLISH AND SOCIAL NETWORKING (FUTURE OF EDUCATION SERIES)
Mon 25 Oct 08:00PM New York / Tue 25 Oct 12:00AM GMT / Tue 25 Oct 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon interviews Jim Burke. Part of the FutureofEducation.com interview series. Jim is the creator of the English Companion Ning, 'Where English teachers go to help each other.'
http://www.learncentral.org/event/106902/

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: CYBERSAFETY WHEN LEARNING ONLINE (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Tue 25 Oct 12:45AM New York / Tue 25 Oct 04:45AM GMT / Tue 25 Oct 02:45PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. How do you integrate technology into 21st century classrooms? Digital tools can be used to engage students, enhance learning and allow creativity and collaboration. Loosely based around Bloom’s Revised taxonomy, find out how to use web2.0 tools for accessing, storing, analysing, applying and sharing information. Promote student engagement and creativity using digital storytelling, animations and audio/video projects.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/111301

21ST CENTURY LEARNING: RECYCLING IN THE CLASSROOM
Tue 25 Oct 01:00AM New York / Tue 25 Oct 05:00AM GMT / Tue 25 Oct 03:00PM Sydney
Leigh Hofman. Are you looking for a new way to teach about the recycling and sustainability? Would you like to get students excited and engaged in a way that embeds the learning and gets them active? Recycling is an important issue and one that is easy to practice in our everyday lives.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/106072

ANYWHERE, ANYTIME LEARNING WITH VIDEO (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Tue 26 Oct 01:00PM New York / Tue 26 Oct 05:00PM GMT / Wed 26 Oct 03:00AM Sydney
Sebastian Grady. Sebastian Grady, COO of Altus Learning, will share stories from companies that are using video to capture critical knowledge throughout their global organizations. Learn how you can use video to enhance both formal and informal learning programs to reduce cost and increase learning. Video is an effective way for training organizations to capture knowledge from where ever it is in the organization. The training organization is in a unique position to harness this collective knowledge and make it compelling, accessible and reusable by the organization. Video-based learning can be incorporated into formal learning programs as well as left standing alone to serve as a performance support tool. (Pre-registration required.)
http://www.learncentral.org/event/106920

21ST CENTURY LEARNING: RECYCLING IN THE CLASSROOM
Tue 26 Oct 06:00PM New York / Tue 26 Oct 10:00PM GMT / Wed 26 Oct 08:00AM Sydney
Leigh Hofman. Are you looking for a new way to teach about the recycling and sustainability? Would you like to get students excited and engaged in a way that embeds the learning and gets them active? Recycling is an important issue and one that is easy to practice in our everyday lives.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/106077

THE DEATH AND LIFE OF THE GREAT AMERICAN SCHOOL SYSTEM: HOW TESTING AND CHOICE ARE UNDERMINING EDUCATION (FUTURE OF EDUCATION SERIES)
Tue 26 Oct 08:00PM New York / Wed 26 Oct 12:00AM GMT / Wed 26 Oct 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon will interview Diane Ravitch. Part of the FutureofEducation.com series.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/113749

DESARROLLO DEL PENSAMIENTO LÓGICO EN LOS ESTUDIANTES A TRAVÉS DE SCRATCH (AULA 2.0 SERIES)
Tue 26 Oct 11:00PM New York / Wed 26 Oct 03:00AM GMT / Wed 26 Oct 01:00PM Sydney
Thomas Chaskel y Reinaldo Duque. Scratch es un nuevo lenguaje de programación que facilita la creaciónde tus propias historias interactivas, animaciones, juegos, música yarte, y compartirlos a través de la web. Scratch está diseñado para ayudar a niñ@s (a partir de los 8 años o incluso niñ@s más pequeñ@scon la ayuda de un guía) a desarrollar habilidades propias del siglo21 (pensar de forma creativa, comunicarse claramente, analizarsistemáticamente, utilizar tecnologías con fluidez, colaborar de forma efectiva, diseñar y aprender continuamente). Mientras ellos creanproyectos, estos niñ@s aprenden importantes conceptos matemáticos y computacionales, mientras adquieren un profundo entendimiento del proceso de diseño.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/113257

ET@LKING: RETRIBALIZING, LITERARY STYLE: VIRTUAL BOOK CLUBS AND BOOKCASTS (AUSTRALIA SERIES)

Wed 27 Oct 05:00AM New York / Wed 27 Oct 09:00AM GMT / Wed 27 Oct 07:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. McLuhan (see the video) predicted we’d have to leave the bookworld behind to be “with it” in the electronic world but with social media we can do it all.  Learn about an evolving virtual book club model, online or inworld, that culminates with the screening of collaboratively produced bookcasts, multimedia aesthetic responses to books. To preview bookcasting, check out this ncbookcast festival You can post questions and comments to the wiki discussion.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/112459

GAGA FOR GOOGLE DOCS PART 2: PRESENTATIONS & DRAWING (MIDDLE SCHOOL PORTAL SERIES)
Wed 27 Oct 06:00PM New York / Wed 27 Oct 10:00PM GMT / Thu 27 Oct 08:00AM Sydney
Rochelle Rodrigo. Having access to a free and easy to use presentation and drawing applications is great; however, the power of Google Presentation & Drawing are in their collaborative and publication abilities. Come to this webinar to learn various tips and tricks to using Google Presentation and Google Drawing. We’ll also talk about ways to incorporate Google Presentation and Google Drawing into various teaching and learning activities.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/92763/

MATH 2.0 WEEKLY: INTERVIEW WITH SYLVIA MARTINEZ (MATH 2.0 SERIES)
Wed 27 Oct 09:30PM New York / Thu 27 Oct 01:30AM GMT / Thu 27 Oct 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova and Ihor Charischak. An interview with Sylvia Martinez about Generation YES and other exciting projects.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/109079

UPDATED

SURVIVORS VOICE
Thu 28 Oct 12:00PM New York / Thu 28 Oct 04:00PM GMT / Fri 28 Oct 02:00AM Sydney
Mayte Espinoza. The Strongest Oak Foundation, an international NGO based in Calgary, Alberta, is honoured to present two very special guest speakers: Steven Shyaka and Jean de Dieu Tuyisenge. Steven and JD are Rwandan genocide survivors who, as young children in 1994, endured one of history’s greatest tragedies and overcame insurmountable odds to stay alive, despite most or all of their families. Today, they strive to build a better life for themselves and others by leading social and educational projects for those in need. Steven (connecting from a village in Rwanda) and JD (connecting from Simon Fraser University in Vancouver) will share their incredible stories in a motivational speech like none other, certain to inspire you with their passion for life and unwavering resilience.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/111815

BUILDING BETTER FACILITATOR GUIDES (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Thu 28 Oct 01:00PM New York / Thu 28 Oct 05:00PM GMT / Fri 28 Oct 03:00AM Sydney
Sebastian Grady. Good facilitator guides are the cornerstone for building great instructor led training. In this webinar you will learn how to build facilitator guides that are easy to use, easy to build and easy to maintain. (Pre-registration required.)
http://www.learncentral.org/event/106921

TOP 10 INTERNET RESOURCES FOR SCHOOL LEADERS (ADMIN 2.0 SERIES)
Thu 28 Oct 05:00PM New York / Thu 28 Oct 09:00PM GMT / Fri 28 Oct 07:00AM Sydney
Jason Borgen with presenters, Lisa Gonzales and Devin Vodicka. These resources can help you network, save time, and remain current on research. Sites like Doodle, Flickr, Blogger, Tokbox and Twitter will equip you to leave with new skills in building personal learning networks, enhancing communication skills, and improving productivity. Many of the resources can be used with teachers and students to expand their capacity as learners, communicators, and creative thinkers.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/103339

EDUBLOGS - SERENDIPITY (PD OUT OF A BLUE SKY) (AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Thu 28 Oct 07:00PM New York / Thu 28 Oct 11:00PM GMT / Fri 28 Oct 09:00AM Sydney
Jo Hart. Join Jo in another fortnightly unconference sessions. Bring along the burning issues and hot topics YOU would like to discuss. You can also add topic ideas the the Wallwisher. Topic is chosen by poll at the start of the session.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/106996

EPORTFOLIO COMMUNITY OF PRACTICE
Thu 28 Oct 07:00PM New York / Thu 28 Oct 11:00PM GMT / Fri 28 Oct 09:00AM Sydney
Coach Carole. Career Portfolio Manitoba is a pilot project whose vision is to use Essential Skills developed through all forms of learning as a key framework for helping Manitobans build ePortfolios for employability. The blended learning solution is based on a robust paper portfolio program which has been successfully delivered in various forms for two years. Career Portfolio Manitoba is produced and delivered by Learning Agents and Keystone Adult Education Services. It uses Mahara as its open source ePortfolio platform, working in tandem with Moodle, the open source learning management system. Don Presant of Learning Agents and Linda Maxwell of Keystone Adult Education Services will provide "reflection in action" from the front line early in the first delivery of their pilot, together with more detail about the context of the program and how it is being delivered.”
http://www.learncentral.org/event/106134

CLARENCE FISHER ON TEACHING AND LEARNING IN A NETWORKED WORLD (FUTURE OF EDUCATION SERIES)
Thu 28 Oct 08:00PM New York / Fri 28 Oct 12:00AM GMT / Fri 28 Oct 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Clarence Fisher, winner one of Canada’s highest teaching awards, the Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching. Clarence has been called "one of the ...master teachers of the twenty-first century" (by Dean Shareski, no less!).
http://www.learncentral.org/node/113740

VIRTUAL FIELD TRIPS (MIDDLE SCHOOL PORTAL SERIES)
Thu 28 Oct 09:00PM New York / Fri 28 Oct 01:00AM GMT / Fri 28 Oct 11:00AM Sydney
Mary Henton. This webinar provides a framework to expand teaching strategies by incorporating digital technology to explore the world, inquire about big ideas, and create authentic experiences. See examples of virtual field trips around STEM concepts. In addition, learn about tools used to create your own virtual journeys and how to access resources for established field trips.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/98510

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE
Thu 28 Oct 09:30PM New York / Fri 28 Oct 01:30AM GMT / Fri 28 Oct 11:30AM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for a discussion on chapter 2 of A Woman's Walk In Grace. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving.”
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100165

JOY IN LEARNING (CLASSROOM 2.0 SERIES)
Sat 30 Oct 12:00PM New York / Sat 30 Oct 04:00PM GMT / Sun 30 Oct 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George with Barbara Bray. Join the Classroom 2.0 LIVE co hosts for a session with Barbara Bray. Barbara will provide an overview of learning, the background of flow and why learning can be joyful experience. She will present the Reggio Emilia method and show examples of ongoing assessment that provides evidence of flow and a nurturing environment that can be replicated in any classroom no matter what age of the students.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/113743

K12 ONLINE VIRTUAL FIRESIDE CHAT (K12 ONLINE)
Sat 30 Oct 03:00PM New York / Sat 30 Oct 07:00PM GMT / Sun 30 Oct 05:00AM Sydney
Events Committee. The K12 Online Live Events Committee will host a free, virtual fireside chat to conclude week 1 of the K12 Online Conference. Join us for a unique experience discussing the presentation videos made by the following keynote presenters, Darren Kuropatwa for the “Kicking it Up a Notch” strand and Allanah Allison for the “A Week in the Classroom” strand.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/113748
Post a Comment