Saturday, August 27, 2011

Week of August 29, 2011 - Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: LEARNING TO SCRATCH (Australia Series)
Tue 29 Aug 02:00AM New York / Tue 30 Aug 06:00AM GMT / Tue 30 Aug 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Marc Grossman, all the way from the UK will be our global presenter for this session. Learn how to use Scratch for effective learning and programming in your classroom. Scratch is a popular, free programming language for everyone.It has been developed by MIT and allows users to develop programming skills in a user friendly environmnet and to create interactive stories, games, music and art. Outcomes can be shared online. In this session, Marc will cover the following:- Learning to Scratch -What can Scratch be used for -Where to download Scratch from! -How to move and draw with Scratch -The different types of Scratch blocks -How to find resources for Scratch.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/170274

DISEÑO DE PRESENTACIONES DIGITALES CON PREZI (Aula 2.0)
Tue 30 Aug 11:00AM New York / Tue 30 Aug 03:00PM GMT / Wed 31 Aug 01:00AM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. Taller práctico básico sobre el uso de la herramienta gratuita Prezi para el diseño de presentaciones digitales interactivas: Creación de cuenta, configuración de una presentación, botones de herramientas (Zebra), creación de bloques de texto, agregar imágenes y vídeos, conectar nodos de conocimiento, vizualizar presentaciones, compartir enlaces y diseñar presentaciones colaborativas. EXPOSITOR: Prof. Antonio Delgado- Labora como Diseñador Instruccional en la Universidad de Puerto Rico en Arecibo. Administrador de plaraformas de eLearning: MOODLE, Blackboard y Edu 2.0, Bloguero Educativo (Edumorfosis), TuiterEducador (@edumorfosis), Educador Conectivista, Colaborador en las redes educativas: Aula 2.0, EducaPR, CLED y expositor en diferentes eventos educativos nacionales e internacionales.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/170313

TALLER MEMORIAS EN RED - #DDHHYC (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 30 Aug 11:30AM New York / Tue 30 Aug 03:30PM GMT / Wed 31 Aug 01:30AM Sydney
Luz Pearson. 2do encuentro de la comunidad de aprendizaje del curso Memorias en Red
http://www.learncentral.org/node/169725

RICHARD AND REBECCA DUFOUR ON PROFESSIONAL LEARNING COMMUNITIES TO IMPROVE SCHOOLS (Future of Education Series)
Tue 30 Aug 05:00PM New York / Tue 30 Aug 09:00PM GMT / Wed 31 Aug 07:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join me Tuesday, August 30th, at an earlier-than-normal time for a live and interactive FutureofEducation.com webinar with Richard and Rebecca DuFour on using Professional Learning Communities to improve schools.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/170480

ADVOCACY IN YOUR LIBRARY PROGRAM (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 30 Aug 07:30PM New York / Tue 30 Aug 11:30PM GMT / Wed 31 Aug 09:30AM Sydney
Lisa Perez. Attend this session to learn about advocacy tips for school librarians.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/169832

SABERES 2.0 - DISEÑO DE PRESENTACIONES DIGITALES CON PREZI (Aula 2.0)
Tue 30 Aug 09:00PM New York / Wed 31 Aug 01:00AM GMT / Wed 31 Aug 11:00AM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. Taller práctico básico sobre el uso de la herramienta gratuita Prezi para el diseño de presentaciones digitales interactivas: Creación de cuenta, configuración de una presentación, botones de herramientas (Zebra), creación de bloques de texto, agregar imágenes y vídeos, conectar nodos de conocimiento, vizualizar presentaciones, compartir enlaces y diseñar presentaciones colaborativas. EXPOSITOR: Prof. Antonio Delgado-Labora como Diseñador Instruccional en la Universidad de Puerto Rico en Arecibo. Administrador de plaraformas de eLearning: MOODLE, Blackboard y Edu 2.0, Bloguero Educativo (Edumorfosis), TuiterEducador (@edumorfosis), Educador Conectivista, Colaborador en las redes educativas: Aula 2.0, EducaPR, CLED y expositor en diferentes eventos educativos nacionales e internacionales.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/170311




The 2011 Worldwide Virtual Library Conference
November 2 - 3, All Free, All Online in Blackboard Collaborate
Submit to present or to be kept informed at http://www.Library2011.com



EPCOP MOOC WEBINAR
(Australia Series)
Wed 31 Aug 06:00AM New York / Wed 31 Aug 10:00AM GMT / Wed 31 Aug 08:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. Webinar at 8 pm (Sydney time) Wednesday August 31st (note this event replaces the usual Tuesday session for the EpCoP MOOCers and is open to all.) My Showcase is an e-portfolio system with a difference! Dave Waller and David Sowden from My Showcase have stepped in to deliver an exciting look into their system that provides a neat segue between a personal learning space and an eportfolio. MyShowcase™ is an open source web application which offers personalised evidence gathering for e-portfolios. In our Bb C room at 8 pm (Sydney time) Join us in our Blackboard Collaborate room here: http://tinyurl.com/29tyznz See our googlesite for recording.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167792

TAKE YOUR CLASSROOM GLOBAL! (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 31 Aug 11:00PM New York / Thu 1 Sep 03:00AM GMT / Thu 1 Sep 01:00PM Sydney
Kate Lang. Today’s world is changing fast, and students need to be prepared to both compete and collaborate in an increasingly digitized and interconnected global society. Join Jennifer D. Klein of TakingITGlobal in this webinar to explore how to harness online tools to build transformative global learning experiences that build students’ technology skills while empowering them to be active global citizens. Sharing experiences garnered through 19 years teaching in a variety of settings, Jennifer will discuss the importance of global education and the potential of technology to connect students with global peers, humanizing global challenges and inspiring youth to work together for positive change.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/169138

APRENDIZAJE EN RED CON USO DE TIC (ARTIC) - SESIÓN 3 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 1 Sep 07:00PM New York / Thu 1 Sep 11:00PM GMT / Fri 2 Sep 09:00AM Sydney
Diego Leal. Tercera sesión del curso abierto ArTIC (http://artic.pbworks.com
http://www.learncentral.org/node/170227
Post a Comment