Saturday, August 20, 2011

Week of August 22nd, 2011 - Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

ATLAST EXPLORE WEBINAR #1 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 22 Aug 07:00PM New York / Mon 22 Aug 11:00PM GMT / Tue 23 Aug 09:00AM Sydney
Rochelle Rodrigo. Meet the ATLAST Explore participants and start networking using Google+. Session will also include a brief how-to on Google+ and a brainstorming activity of ways to implement Google+ with students.

EPCOP MOOC WEBINAR (Australia Series)
Mon 22 Aug 09:00PM New York / Tue 23 Aug 01:00AM GMT / Tue 23 Aug 11:00AM Sydney
Coach Carole. EpCoP MOOC webinar

Tue 22 Aug 02:00AM New York / Tue 23 Aug 06:00AM GMT / Tue 23 Aug 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. David Simpson ( will discuss the use of facebook and other social networking sites in education and the need for/issues around digital citizenship education in Secondary schools.

TALLER MEMORIAS EN RED - #DDHHYC (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 23 Aug 11:30AM New York / Tue 23 Aug 03:30PM GMT / Wed 24 Aug 01:30AM Sydney
Luz Pearson. 1er encuentro - Derechos humanos y Comunicación - comunidad de aprendizaje Memorias en Red, región América Latina

PD STANDARDS AND LF WA NEXT STEPS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 23 Aug 05:30PM New York / Tue 23 Aug 09:30PM GMT / Wed 24 Aug 07:30AM Sydney
Shelee King George. Join us as we review the Professional Learning Standards newly released by Learning Forward and an opportunity to connect with other members across Washington state. View the new Learning Forward Washington Web site and plans for professional learning opportunities during the year. We will be increasing our online collaboration opportunities this year and our first meeting will be a small taste of how this can work.

The 2011 Worldwide Virtual Library Conference
November 2 - 3, All Free, All Online in Blackboard Collaborate
Submit to present or to be kept informed at

(The Knowledge Sharing Place)
Thu 25 Aug 07:00PM New York / Thu 25 Aug 11:00PM GMT / Fri 26 Aug 09:00AM Sydney
Dean Mantz. Come join Tina and Barbara, of LiveBinders, and Dean Mantz as we talk learning in the 21st Century classroom. Join the conversation as Tina and Barbara explain new enhancements in LiveBinders that aid in the ability for resources to be shared along with opportunity to create collaboratively. We will also be crowd sourcing a monthly webinar schedule to offer PD based sessions using Common Core Standards and STEM resources.

Thu 25 Aug 08:00PM New York / Fri 26 Aug 12:00AM GMT / Fri 26 Aug 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon on Thursday, August 25th, for a live and webinar with Bob Compton, producer of the new documentary film The Finland Phenomenon, an "inside look at the world's finest secondary education system." Narrated by Dr. Tony Wagner of Harvard (a previous guest on our show), the film does a very good job of showing the surprising factors that educators and policy-makers in Finland believe accounts for their consistently being ranked as one of the best (if not the best) education system in the world--including students starting school at age 7, limited homework and testing, highly-esteemed and compensated teachers, and "trust" at all levels. We'll talk about these and other fascinating aspects of education in Finland for an hour with Bob.

Thu 25 Aug 04:30PM New York / Thu 25 Aug 08:30PM GMT / Fri 26 Aug 06:30AM Sydney
Hery The. In general, references management software is expensive. On the other hand, in the digital era, with the increasing in demand of school works, students couldn't afford to use it. The "Mendeley" provides free services online and offline for free. In this presentation, I will guide participants step by step on sign up and download Mendeley to their computer/mobile devices. In addition, I will do a demo on how to "cite while you write", and "manage library/references".

Sat 27 Aug 12:00PM New York / Sat 27 Aug 04:00PM GMT / Sun 28 Aug 02:00AM Sydney
Peggy George. Saturday, August 27th will be another session of our “Featured Teacher” series featuring Carolyn Stanley. Join us as Carolyn shares ways she uses technology to motivate and engage her Middle School students. She will be sharing her experiences as an evolving teacher- from the traditional to one who is always learning about how technology can enhance our classrooms and make them vibrant student-centered learning stations Classroom 2.0 LIVE is an opportunity to gather with other member of the community in regular "live" web meetings. Special thanks for this go to our sponsor, Blackboard Collaborate, for providing the service that allows us to do this! Thanks so much for being a part of this community!
Post a Comment