Monday, August 15, 2011

Week of August 14, 2011 - Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

COLLABORATE INTERACTIVE SLIDE DESIGN (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 15 Aug 01:00PM New York / Mon 15 Aug 05:00PM GMT / Tue 16 Aug 03:00AM Sydney
Tammy Moore. This webinar will be a sharing of best practices for interactive design of activities for the Collaborate version 11 platform. We will look at how to use the new features and the old favorites to design slides to make the whiteboard an interactive experience for the moderator and participants. Come and share your favorite tips and tricks as well as wbds. No need to RSVP. Just drop on in.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168496

EPCOP MOOC WEBINAR (Australia Series)
Mon 15 Aug 09:00PM New York / Tue 16 Aug 01:00AM GMT / Tue 16 Aug 11:00AM Sydney
Coach Carole. EpCoP MOOC webinar
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167790

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: THE STUDENT VOICE (Australia Series)
Tue 15 Aug 02:00AM New York / Tue 16 Aug 06:00AM GMT / Tue 16 Aug 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Scott Duncan (@sduncan0101) will discuss the necessity of listening to students, valuing their opinions and including them in the school decision making processes. Scott recently presented a similar session at the Innovations Showcase for the Department of Education in Victoria, Australia. If time permits, he will share innovative uses of technology in his classroom and school.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168917

THE VALUE OF PEER COACHING (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 16 Aug 01:00PM New York / Tue 16 Aug 05:00PM GMT / Wed 17 Aug 03:00AM Sydney
Matt Huston. Teachers and schools face enormous challenges, from new technologies that shape how students learn, to declining budgets for professional development, to rising expectations for student achievement. Learn how Peer Coaching can help align professional development with 21st Century teaching and learning practices. Peer Coaching was recently recognized by ISTE as providing "highly effective professional development" for teachers. (http://www.iste.org/learn/coaching-white-paper.aspx) Understand why Peer Coaching works, what coaches and the teachers they work with gain from Peer Coaching, and how to get started with Peer Coaching.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168451

INTERVIEW WITH DR. GARY LOPEZ ON HIPPOCAMPUS.ORG (Future of Education Series)
Tue 16 Aug 08:00PM New York / Wed 17 Aug 12:00AM GMT / Wed 17 Aug 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon for a live and interactive FutureofEducation.com webinar with Dr. Gary Lopez to discuss HippoCampus, a project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (MITE) to provide high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects to high school and college students free of charge.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/168964



The 2011 Worldwide Virtual Library Conference
November 2 - 3, All Free, All Online in Blackboard Collaborate
Submit to present or to be kept informed at http://www.Library2011.com



SERVICE-LEARNING
(Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 17 Aug 05:00AM New York / Wed 17 Aug 09:00AM GMT / Wed 17 Aug 07:00PM Sydney
Keith Wilson. Service-learning is an instructional approach that engages students while increasing academic achievement by providing rigour and relevance in the curriculum. It promotes cognitive, social-emotional, and experiential engagement in meaningful learning. In quality service-learning experiences, teachers guide students through a learning process that facilitates high academic performance and empowers them to enact genuine social change in their communities. In these regular sessions participants will be shown ways that service-learning can be introduced into schools without disrupting established norms until it’s seen as the right thing to do. Opportunities for sharing your own best practice are actively sought and encouraged.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168577

GAME BASED LEARNING - AN INTRODUCTION (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 18 Aug 02:00PM New York / Thu 18 Aug 06:00PM GMT / Fri 19 Aug 04:00AM Sydney
Margaret Keane. During this webinar, Patrick will be introducing the concept of Game-based Learning, explain how it can be employed in instructional settings, and provide practical information on how to harness this engaging medium.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167251

INTERVIEW WITH JEFF PIONTEK (Future of Education Series)
Thu 18 Aug 08:00PM New York / Fri 19 Aug 12:00AM GMT / Fri 19 Aug 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon for a live and interactive FutureofEducation.com webinar with Jeff Piontek, Head of School at Hawaii Technology Academy, on on education change and reform.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/168966

LEARNING FORWARD WA EXEC BD WEBINAR (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 18 Aug 09:30PM New York / Fri 19 Aug 01:30AM GMT / Fri 19 Aug 11:30AM Sydney
Shelee King George. LFWA Exec Board prepares to lead a webinar on the national professional learning standards. Although a planning meeting in the Blackboard Interface, feel free to stop in and help us plan. You may want to do something similar with local schools in your area as well.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168811

ADOBE YOUTH VOICES AND POV (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 20 Aug 12:00PM New York / Sat 20 Aug 04:00PM GMT / Sun 21 Aug 02:00AM Sydney
Peggy George, Kim Caise, & Lorna Costantini. The topic for Saturday, August 20th will be “Adobe Youth Voices POV” with special guests Kim Flack and Leslie Rule. Kim and Leslie will share about “Project VoiceScape”, a collaboration between the Adobe Youth Foundation and PBS’ POV which hosted a contest for middle and high school students through documentary videos, photography, print media, radio diaries, animation, Web communications and other media. Students that participated in this project will share their videos and experiences throughout the competition.
http://live.classroom20.com/

"LEARN TO BE" NATIONAL LEADERSHIP EXCHANGE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 20 Aug 09:30PM New York / Sun 21 Aug 01:30AM GMT / Sun 21 Aug 11:30AM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. Learn To Be provides free online tutoring in primary and secondary math, science and language arts. Please join us if you are interested to meet with student leaders from our various university chapters (http://learntobe.org/university-chapters) as we exchange best practices discuss updates in our national network.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167551

ONLINE MODEL UNITED NATIONS DEBATES - FALL 2011 KICK-OFF (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sun 21 Aug 09:00AM New York / Sun 21 Aug 01:00PM GMT / Sun 21 Aug 11:00PM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. More information can be found on http://o-mun.org. We are going to introduce how a Blackboard Collaborate room can be used to host debates between youth delegates. We will also be introducing Twitter and iEtherpad as tools for research and paper writing.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168839
Post a Comment