Saturday, June 11, 2011

This Week's Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

O-MUN DEBATE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sun 12 Jun 08:30AM New York / Sun 12 Jun 12:30PM GMT / Sun 12 Jun 10:30PM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. Students will simulate the United Nations General Assembly and debate the issue of food security. Please register via http://o-mun.org/register and learn more about our program at http://o-mun.org/about
http://www.learncentral.org/event/161467

EFACILITATE: A MOODLE FACILITATION JOURNEY (Australia Series)
Mon 13 Jun 03:30AM New York / Mon 13 Jun 07:30AM GMT / Mon 13 Jun 05:30PM Sydney
Coach Carole. On Monday June 13 at 5.30 pm Sydney time we’ll be interviewing Waleed on his experiences as Business Manager for their GAClearn (Moodle based learning environment) and how he supports a very large team of efacilitators located across the world. You’ll have an opportunity to discuss with Waleed how his facilitators benefitted from the recent GAC Facilitation Course (GFC) and how he manages the support structure using up-to-the-minute online tools such as Dropbox.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163588

WASTEWATER EDUCATION (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 13 Jun 01:00PM New York / Mon 13 Jun 05:00PM GMT / Tue 14 Jun 03:00AM Sydney
Wasterwater Education. Wastewater systems management and financing options for small communities.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/160459

CHROMEBOOK PILOT - LESSONS LEARNED SO FAR (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 13 Jun 08:00PM New York / Tue 14 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Tue 14 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Rushton Hurley. Matthew Peskay of KIPP LA Schools will discuss what students in his schools have experienced with the Google Cr-48 pilot program. How do cloud-based devices benefit schools, and why should teachers care?
http://www.learncentral.org/event/159106

"MINI-GEEK FEST" MONTHLY ONLINE CONVERSATION JUNE, 2011 (AzTEA 2.0 Professional Development)
Mon 13 Jun 09:00PM New York / Tue 14 Jun 01:00AM GMT / Tue 14 Jun 11:00AM Sydney
Peggy George and Kim Thomas. Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don't have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home. It's not a presentation or a tutorial, but a conversation--think of it like a "show and tell" where ALL participants can contribute.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163769

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: ENGAGING STUDENTS WITH TECHNOLOGY (Australia Series)
Tue 13 Jun 02:00AM New York / Tue 14 Jun 06:00AM GMT / Tue 14 Jun 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. This session will focus on engaging students through technology, with a particular emphasis on the creative arts. We will be looking at recording, video, audio, claymation, animation, games etc. Something to unleash the creative spirit in the most reluctant learner!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163511

THE ACCESSIBLE VIRTUAL CLASSROOM (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 14 Jun 12:00PM New York / Tue 14 Jun 04:00PM GMT / Wed 15 Jun 02:00AM Sydney
Gailene Nelson. Accessible technologies have long been a necessity in both the face-to-face and online classrooms, but sometimes even the best teachers haven’t always been aware of the best practices about how implement them. In this presentation – which will be closed-captioned - learn how several schools such as UMass Boston and Bloomsburg University have utilized the accessibility capabilities of Blackboard Collaborate technologies to teach students with disabilities and even be nominated for national teaching awards. Valerie Haven from UMass Boston will share first-hand experience about supporting synchronous conferencing for students with disabilities and how she adapted to new challenges that demand adaptation and innovation. We will also hear about the work of Sam Slike and his team at Bloomsburg University who were finalists for the IMS Learning Impact award. Finally, we will hear from Blackboard Collaborate’s own Shannon Urban who will discuss effective instructional techniques of using accessible collaboration technologies.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/151754

LINGUAFOLIO ONLINE FOR STARTALK (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 14 Jun 04:00PM New York / Tue 14 Jun 08:00PM GMT / Wed 15 Jun 06:00AM Sydney
Krystal Sundstrom. In this webinar, you’ll learn about navigating LinguaFolio Online, how to manage student accounts, and how to integrate LinguaFolio in your program.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162577

LARRY FERLAZZO ON HELPING STUDENTS MOTIVATE THEMSELVES (Future of Education Series)
Tue 14 Jun 08:00PM New York / Wed 15 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Wed 15 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon for a live and interactive Future of Education interview with Larry Ferlazzo on his new book, Helping Students Motivate Themselves: Practical Answers to Classroom Challenges.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163805

ET@LKING: QR CODES IN EDUCATION (Australia Series)
Wed 15 Jun 06:00AM New York / Wed 15 Jun 10:00AM GMT / Wed 15 Jun 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. This session will focus on the ever emerging technology QR (Quick Response) codes. As a recent edition in the Horizon Report they have grown to become a powerful addition in any classroom. These simple 21st century barcodes have changed the way in which we connect to the internet. QR Codes are basically a modern version of the barcode, however by the very fact that they can be read from all directions they can contain much more information. The session will explore various educational examples from a wide variety of subject areas. Participants will have a hands on look at scanning and create their very own QR Codes. Leave with practical skills to utilise them in your practice.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163612

HOW TO GET THE MOST OUT OF ISTE11 FOR LIBRARY MEDIA SPECIALISTS (TL Cafe)
Wed 15 Jun 08:00PM New York / Thu 16 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Thu 16 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones. ISTE-SIGMS: How to Get the Most Out of ISTE11 for Library Media Specialists
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163223

NUMBERED NOTES (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 15 Jun 09:30PM New York / Thu 16 Jun 01:30AM GMT / Thu 16 Jun 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Jason MacCoy in the discussion of music education from the user interface point of view.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162924

PODCASTING WITH BLACKBOARD COLLABORATE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 16 Jun 12:00PM New York / Thu 16 Jun 04:00PM GMT / Fri 17 Jun 02:00AM Sydney
Gailene Nelson. Nearly every student listens to podcasts, yet so few instructors make their content available in this widely popular format. Learn how instructors can use Blackboard Collaborate web conferencing and voice authoring to EASILY create their own podcasts. Perfect for creating vocal overviews of practically any subject, podcasts increase the interaction and student engagement level of online classes by allowing students to hear in-depth explanations of detailed subjects by their instructors. In fact, now that the export features of Blackboard Collaborate web conferencing and voice authoring have become so much richer, audio (and even video) can be exported to iPods, iPhones, or other MP3 and MP4 players so students can listen to the their instructors when they're on-the-go or exercising.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/161613

DENISE POPE ON "DOING SCHOOL" (Future of Education Series)
Thu 16 Jun 08:00PM New York / Fri 17 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Fri 17 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon for a live and interactive Future of Education interview with Denise Pope, author of "Doing School: How We Are Creating a Generation of Stressed Out, Materialistic, and Miseducated Students." Dr. Pope is quoted extensively in the movie Race to Nowhere, and in this book looks at the educational experience at a well-regarded California public high school from the students' point of view. She "follows five highly-regarded students through a school year and discovers that these young people believe getting ahead requires manipulating the system, scheming, lying and cheating." Dr. Pope believes we need "a new vision of what it means to be successful in school" and that student voices are a key component of any conversation on school success.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163806

APRENDIZAJE EN RED CON USO DE TIC (ARTIC) - SESIÓN 2 (Aula 2.0)
Thu 16 Jun 08:00PM New York / Fri 17 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Fri 17 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Diego Leal. Segunda sesión del curso abierto ArTIC.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163780

MATH GAME DESIGN GROUP MEETING (Math 2.0 Series)
Thu 16 Jun 09:00PM New York / Fri 17 Jun 01:00AM GMT / Fri 17 Jun 11:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Randall Fujimoto and Maria Droujkova in discussing game mechanics of Math Trek photography game.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162930

TURNING YOUR SCHOOL INTO A TECHNOLOGY CENTER (Explore LearnCentral)
Fri 17 Jun 06:00PM New York / Fri 17 Jun 10:00PM GMT / Sat 18 Jun 08:00AM Sydney
Elly Faden. How can schools become collaborative technology centers - using existing computers, software, and skills? We will review School Documentation Architecture: the core of your technology center.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162741

IPODSIBILITIES - IAUTHOR AND IBOOK (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 18 Jun 12:00PM New York / Sat 18 Jun 04:00PM GMT / Sun 19 Jun 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Join us for a conversation with Megan Wilson as she presents, "iAuthor and iBook".
http://www.learncentral.org/node/163701

NEW POSITIONING OF MATHEMATICS? (Math 2.0 Series)
Sat 18 Jun 02:00PM New York / Sat 18 Jun 06:00PM GMT / Sun 19 Jun 04:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Alexandre Borovik in the discussion of his books and the fundamental issues in mathematics education.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162925
Post a Comment