Sunday, March 06, 2011

Week of March 6, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

LEARN TO BE AT SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sun 6 Mar 07:00PM New York / Mon 7 Mar 12:00AM GMT / Mon 7 Mar 11:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Learn To Be offers free tutoring online to economically disadvantaged students. Do you have ideas for our chapter at Syracuse University in New York? Come and meet the Steering Committee.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/143877

A SWEET WAY TO SEARCH THE WEB (TL Cafe)
Mon 7 Mar 07:00PM New York / Tue 8 Mar 12:00AM GMT / Tue 8 Mar 11:00AM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones. The economy has been hit hard and schools are feeling it - some states are not funding databases any longer - but don't fear - one Website curated the best of the Web for educators, and it's free to use! Shannon Miller, librarian at Van Meter Schools in Iowa, and Mark Moran, Founder of Dulcinea Media, will offer guidance and insight that helps teacher librarians teach students - and faculty - how to use the Web effectively, safely, efficiently and responsibly. They will show how educators and students can use SweetSearch and other Web sites to easily find primary sources and the best content on the Web for current events, history, language arts, science and culture.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122155

CREATIVE IMAGE EDITING IN THE CLOUD (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 7 Mar 08:00PM New York / Tue 8 Mar 01:00AM GMT / Tue 8 Mar 12:00PM Sydney
Rushton Hurley. Learn about all sorts of free, online tools for working creatively with digital images.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/135241

KEVIN KELLY ON WHAT TECHNOLOGY WANTS (Future of Education Series)
Mon 7 Mar 08:00PM New York / Tue 8 Mar 01:00AM GMT / Tue 8 Mar 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve will talk with Kevin Kelly about his brilliant book, What Technology Wants.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142202

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: CHALLENGE BASED LEARNING (Australia Series)
Tue 7 Mar 12:00AM New York / Tue 8 Mar 05:00AM GMT / Tue 8 Mar 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirstchin. Find out how Challenge Based Learning was used with Primary and Middle Years students, by someone who has actually taught it.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/143028

DON SMITHMIER ON CROWD-SOURCED LEARNING (Future of Education Series)
Tue 8 Mar 08:00PM New York / Wed 9 Mar 01:00AM GMT / Wed 9 Mar 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon will talk with Don Smithmier on Crowd-sourced Learning and Sophia.org
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142204

PSYCHOLOGY OF MATH LEARNING (Math 2.0 Series)
Tue 8 Mar 09:00PM New York / Wed 9 Mar 02:00AM GMT / Wed 9 Mar 01:00PM Sydney
Carol Cross.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132599

SABERES 2.0 - ESTÁNDARES UNESCO DE COMPETENCIAS EN TIC PARA DOCENTES (Aula 2.0)
Tue 8 Mar 09:00PM New York / Wed 9 Mar 02:00AM GMT / Wed 9 Mar 01:00PM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. La forma como nuestros estudiantes se comunican e interactuan hoy es muy diferente a como nosotros lo hacíamos hace algunas décadas. Es importante conocer las compentecias que los estudiantes de ahora deben desarrollar para vivir, aprender y trabajar con éxito en una sociedad cada vez más compleja; es por esto que el docente actualmente desempeña una tarea de gran importancia para que los estudiantes puedan alcanzar y desarrollar las competencias que necesitan. En esta charla se hablará de los estándares de las competencias en TIC para docentes propuestas por UNESCO en el año 2008, como punto de referencia y continuo mejoramiento en la labor como docentes del siglo XXI.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/143825

ET@LKING:- LET'S TALK ABOUT BLOGGING (Australia Series)
Wed 8 Mar 12:00AM New York / Wed 9 Mar 05:00AM GMT / Wed 9 Mar 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirstchin. This session will be a general sharing session where participants can ask questions about blogging from where to begin, how to write posts, tag, add categories, what to write etc about right through to advanced blogging and what makes an effective blog. What place does blogging have in eLearning? Come along and share your blogs and your questions and join in the conversations.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/143340

VISUAL LITERACY AND NONLINGUISTIC REPRESENTATIONS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 9 Mar 12:00PM New York / Wed 9 Mar 05:00PM GMT / Thu 10 Mar 04:00AM Sydney
C. Geith.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/133449

PRIMARY SOURCE GLOBAL READ (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 9 Mar 03:00PM New York / Wed 9 Mar 08:00PM GMT / Thu 10 Mar 07:00AM Sydney
Maggie Kaiser. Global Read of "The Red Umbrella" by Christina Diaz Gonzalez - live chat with the author.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/134015

P2PU COURSE - CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 9 Mar 07:30PM New York / Thu 10 Mar 12:30AM GMT / Thu 10 Mar 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131367

VISUAL LITERACY AND NONLINGUISTIC REPRESENTATIONS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 10 Mar 04:00PM New York / Thu 10 Mar 09:00PM GMT / Fri 11 Mar 08:00AM Sydney
Kimberly Lightle. Science and literacy instruction in the elementary grades is the focus of a new series of web seminars for the 2010-2011 school year. The series is sponsored by Beyond Penguins and Polar Bears, an NSF-funded project that provides professional development and instructional resources to elementary teachers.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/89910

MITCH RESNICK FROM MIT MEDIA LAB (Future of Education Series)
Thu 10 Mar 08:00PM New York / Fri 11 Mar 01:00AM GMT / Fri 11 Mar 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve will talk with Mitch Resnick from MIT Media Lab.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142205

FEATURED TEACHER (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 12 Mar 12:00PM New York / Sat 12 Mar 05:00PM GMT / Sun 13 Mar 04:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Join Kim, Lorna and Peggy as they talk with Carol Broos, Music Teacher.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/143889

BUBBLZ MATH (Math 2.0 Series)
Sat 12 Mar 02:00PM New York / Sat 12 Mar 07:00PM GMT / Sun 13 Mar 06:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Bubblz the clown has metre balloons and is not afraid to use them at schools and conferences!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142382

LEARN TO BE - ONLINE LEADERSHIP EXCHANGE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 12 Mar 03:00PM New York / Sat 12 Mar 08:00PM GMT / Sun 13 Mar 07:00AM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. Learn To Be is a non-profit that provides free online tutoring to children in underserved communities. The Online Leadership Exchange is a meeting open to the public where leaders from the various University Chapters come together to share updates and discuss best practices. More information about Learn To Be is available at http://www.learntobe.org
http://www.learncentral.org/event/140771

HIGH TECH HIGH -- COLLEGIAL CONVERSATIONS (High Tech High Graduate School of Education)
Sat 12 Mar 03:00PM New York / Sat 12 Mar 08:00PM GMT / Sun 13 Mar 07:00AM Sydney
Ben Daley. Educators gather virtually to discuss student work and educator dilemmas.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125299
Post a Comment