Saturday, May 22, 2010

This Coming Week's Live and Interactive Events in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. A number of folks have emailed me looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, and while the developers at LearnCentral are working on a good long-term solution, you'll find my Google Calendar "hack" at LearnCentral.tv. Hope it helps!

Be on the lookout for Australia-time-friendly events as part of the new Australia Series, and Spanish-language Webinars from the Aula 2.0 Series! I hope you will also consider hosting your own public webinars using the LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

Monday, May 24th
  • 10am PDT (US) / 1pm EDT (US) (next day) / 5pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    Cyberchase Summer Challenge Training.” Join this PBS training session to learn how to use FREE Cyberchase resources to extend your students summer learning!
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/72592

  • 10:45pm PDT (US) / 1:45am EDT (US) (next day) / 5:45am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    AUSTRALIA SERIES
    “Voice First (Podcasting Options).”
    “Digital audio can be used at all levels, in a variety of ways with students to help them make sense of their learning. Oral language has often played second fiddle to reading and writing in our teaching practice yet it is the corner stone for all language development and also for constructing learning in a meaningful way. In this session Lois Smethurst will discuss the use of voicethread, livescribe pens, skype and podcasting in the classroom. "Voice First" is about creating meaningful learning through oral language and the increasing importance of developing verbal communication as we move into an era of global classrooms. Different podcasting options including voicethread will be discussed.”
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/75970
Tuesday, May 25th
  • 5pm PDT (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    FUTURE OF EDUCATION SERIES
    Interivew with Cathy Davidson on The Future of Learning.” Steve Hargadon will interview Cathy Davidson , co-author of The Future of Learning Institutions in a Digital Age.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/60489
Wednesday, May 26th
  • 2:30am PDT (US) / 5:30am EDT (US) / 9:30am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    STUDENTS 2.0 SERIES
    “Ning and other social network environments - how to work and earn with others,”
    with host Jenny Luca. Ning environments are a great way of learning and communicating with like-minded people. But every Ning environment is dependent on its members to drive discussions and support one another in their learning. This session is designed to help you understand how you can help one another to create a community in Students 2.0 that will prove of benefit to you all.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/68344

  • 3am PDT (US) / 6am EDT (US) / 10am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    AUSTRALIA SERIES
    “Murder under the Microscope,”
    with host Carole McCulloch. “Stanley Yip from the Centre for Learning Innovation will be presenting the Murder under the Microscope project. ‘MuM’ is an online environmental game for school students in years 5 to 10, typically children aged 9 to 15 years. Teams of students research and analyse the evidence to solve the crime.”
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/76202

  • 1:30pm PDT (US) / 4:30pm EDT (US) / 8:30pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    MIDDLE SCHOOL PORTAL 2: MATH AND SCIENCE PATHWAYS
    Let's Present With Prezi! ,” with Jason Borgen. Join us as we introduce a presentation tool that brings a whole new meaning to the experience of powerpointlessness. We'll look at the zebra tool and it's different functions but spend the majority of time talking with educators that are using Prezi in their classrooms and professional development work.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/71836

  • 3:30pm PDT (US) / 6:30pm EDT (US) / 10:30pm (GMT/UTC (intl times)
    Take Off, Migrate to Another Home School Option.”Why do some birds remain on resident grounds for four seasons, while others only survive by wintering in one location and bringing new life into the world at another site? That’s just one of the topics you’ll hear about when homeschooling mom Sue Ferrara, PhD, and BrainPOP's Allisyn Levy team up. Join them as they show you how to “migrate” to a new educational playground and bring new life into your homeschool curriculum.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/node/76318

  • 4pm PDT (US) / 7pm EDT (US) / 11pm (GMT/UTC (intl times)
    Creating Online Learning Documents.” Join Lorna Costantini and Kim Caise for a session on creating innovative learning materials, manuals and documents for use in the classroom or online learning courses.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/72135

  • 6pm PDT (US) / 9pm EDT (US) / 1am (GMT/UTC (intl times)
    AULA 2.0 SERIES
    Vamos aprender a crear nuestro primer blog.” LicÂș William H. Vegazo Muro, de Lima, Peru nos hablara sobre como crear un blog, paso por paso. Primera parte.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/76422

  • 6:30pm PDT (US) / 9:30pm EDT (US) / 1:30am (GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times)
    Math 2.0 Weekly: IntMath," with host Maria Droujkova. IntMath uses Flash, Scientific Notebook and LiveMath to invite a wide range of people to interact and to communicate.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/72927
Thursday, May 27th
  • 11am PDT (US) / 2pm EDT (US) / 6pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    “2010 Elluminate Center of Excellence Showcase.”
    Elluminate's 2010 Centers of Excellence will share their success stories. Join us to be impressed and inspired.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/69931

  • 4pm PDT (US) / 7pm EDT (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    EDUBLOGS SERIES
    “Edublogs - Serendipity (PD out of a blue sky).”
    Join us in our fortnightly unconference sessions. Bring along the burning issues and hot topics YOU would like to discuss. Topic is chosen by poll at the start of the session.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/67257

  • 4pm PDT (US) / 7pm EDT (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    “HS19530: 1-1 HS iMovie Projects in Social Studies.”
    Ninth grade students in a 1-to1 high school present cross curricular, collaborative iMovie projects on 19th century immigration. Students trace push pull factors, patterns and trends, the journey, nativist reactions and individual and group contributions that helped shape America. Students and teachers will be available for questions after the presentation.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/73703

  • 4:30pm PDT (US) / 7:30pm EDT (US) / 11:30pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    “VSTE Webinar: Advocating at the Federal Level.”
    Come join ISTE’s Director of Government Affairs, Hilary Goldmann for an evening of information and advocacy. Hilary will address advocacy at the federal level and how to get involved. She will go into detail about how EETT works and what it means to your division locally. We will also discuss more of the politics behind the beltway action.
    LearnCentral Link:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/62747

  • LearnCentral Link: 5pm PDT (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    Resources online for teachers.” Join Kerrie Smith for an exploration of EDNA services and tools. LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/74491 (two hour session)

  • 7:15pm PDT (US) / 10:15pm EDT (US) / 2:15am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times):
    “Resources online for teachers.”  Join Kerrie Smith for an exploration of EDNA services and tools. LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/74511 (two hour session)
Post a Comment