Saturday, May 08, 2010

This Coming Week's Live and Interactive Events in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive webinars through, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. Be on the lookout for Australia-time-friendly events as part of the new Australia Series, and Spanish-language Webinars from the Aula 2.0 Series!

A number of folks have emailed me looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, and while the developers at LearnCentral are working on a good long-term solution, you'll find my Google Calendar "hack" at Hope it helps!

I also hope you'll consider hosting your own public webinars using the LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (

Monday, May 10th
  • 10:30am PDT (US) / 1:30pm EDT (US) / 5:30pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    Leveraging Student/ Faculty Assessments To Improve Student Success.” The success of a student is determined in a large degree to the person teaching the class. In colleges, adjunct faculty are playing a larger role in delivering learning. Although most of these people are highly expert in their fields, most do not have good classroom skills and so the communication does not transfer well. Imagine a classroom where the teacher knows the behavioral preferences of each student, and the class as a whole. Imagine also the collaboration that comes from the students better understanding their own preferences and those of the teacher. Join Lou and shake up how you prepare for a class.
    LearnCentral Link: (pre-registration required)

  • 8pm PDT (US) / 11pm EDT (US) / 3am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times):
    AzTEA Mini-Geekfest Monthly Online Conversation." “Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don’t have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home.”
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 10:30pm PDT (US) / 1:30am (next day) EDT (US) / 5:30am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    Tech Talk Tuesdays: Gifted Students from a Students' Point of View ." Anne Mirtschin hosts as James Spittal, who was classified as a gifted student, talks about his experiences at school--including the story of his grade six teacher who would constantly 'remind' him that he was going to be successful one day when he would have been the last person to believe it. .
    LearnCentral Link:
Tuesday, May 11th
  • 5:00pm PDT (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times):
    Interview with Leonard Waks." Steve Hargadon interviews Leonard Waks on "The Web 2.0 Educational Revolution: Are We There Yet?"
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 6:00pm PDT (US) / 9pm EDT (US) / 1am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times):
    Factores a Tener En Cuenta en los Proyectos Colaborativos." Se desarrollará a partir de una charla que estará dividida en tres partes:  * Introducción a la tecnología educativa y las redes de aprendices. * Presentación de herramientas tecnológicas colaborativas (Wikis, Blogs y sistemas de gestión de aprendizaje -LMS- ) como apoyo a las redes sociales. * Socialización experiencia del colegio Clermont. El conferencista es Reinaldo Duque; Ingeniero de sistemas, trabaja con software libre desde hace aproximadamente 8 años. Miembro del grupo SLEC (Software de Libre redistribución y Educación en Colombia - )LearnCentral Link:
Wednesday, May 12th
  • 2:30am PDT (US) / 5:30am EDT (US) / 9:30am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    STUDENTS 2.0
    “Blogs - Learn how to set one up and write a post that gets you noticed,”
    with host Jenny Luca.How can writing your own blog help you to learn more about the things that interest you? In this session. we'll explore the process of setting up a blog, and how you go about writing posts that may help you connect with the people or organisations that are interested in the things that interest you.”
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 3am PDT (US) / 6am EDT (US) / 10am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    “eT@lking: Immersive Environments”
    with host Carole McCulloch. Immersive Environments - a presentation following up on the Immersive Education Initiative Summit in Boston.LearnCentral Link:

  • 10am PDT (US) /1pm EDT (US) / 5pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    How To Create No Lecture Webinars,” with Ray Jimenez. Webinars are great. They save time and accelerate learning. However, boring lectures kill webinars. Most webinars are extensions of talking heads clicking their PowerPoints to death. No wonder many learners multi-task and drop out. In this webinar Ray will share both proven and test methods and tactics to avoid 100% Lecture webinars and truly engage your learners in stimulating and mind-capturing learning experiences
    LearnCentral Link: (pre-registration required)

  • 11am PDT (US) / 2pm EDT (US) / 6pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    Formalizing Informal Learning: When And How.” The buzz about Learning 2.0 and Social Learning has turned into a clamor. Organizations know they need to jump onto this bandwagon, but they worry about how. Formal learning is well established and is well understood. Informal learning seems obvious but too ill-defined. Now is the time to move into the third dimension of learning, where formal and informal learning intersects with intention. Some experts have called this 'formalizing informal learning' while others term it 'non-formal' learning. Regardless of what it's called, this third dimension extends, enables and enhances learning in ways never possible before. Identifying and describing these new learning approaches and technologies is the easy part. So, come and join Lance Dublin to learn an approach to when and how you should formalize informal learning in your organization, how to market it to senior management, mid-management and the workforce, and what it takes to successfully implement this third dimension learning to produce powerful results.
    LearnCentral Link: (pre-registration required)

  • 5pm PDT (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am (GMT/UTC (intl times):
    OneNote 2007 for Students," with host Tammy Moore. Digital note-taking tools can make a student's life so much more efficient and productive. OneNote is a PC (sorry Mac users) compatible note-taking tool packed to the brim with the perfect tools for students. In our session, we will have a combination slide and application share tour of the software.
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 9:30pm PDT (US) / 12:30am EDT (US) (next day) / 4:30am (GMT/UTC (intl times):
    Starting a conversation about e-books," with host Kerrie Smith. Kerrie will lead a discussion about using e-books in teaching and learning.
    LearnCentral Link:
Thursday, May 13th
  • 4pm PDT (US) / 7pm EDT (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    New Media Literacies: Performance and Play.” “Join us for a participatory webinar exploring the new media literacies Performance and Play hosted by NML Community Manager, Vanessa Vartabedian and Research Director, Erin Reilly. Visit our website or our community for more information about the skills and our monthly webinar series.”
    LearnCentral Link: (90 minute session)

  • 4pm PDT (US) / 7pm EDT (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    “Edublogs - Serendipity (PD out of a blue sky).”
    Join Jo Hart for a fortnightly unconference sessions. Bring along the burning issues and hot topics YOU would like to discuss. Topic is chosen by poll at the start of the session.LearnCentral Link:

  • 5pm PDT (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am (next day) GMT/UTC (intl times):
    Interview with Think Global School Leaders.” Steve interviews Aron Solomon, Janice Cheng, and Mike Hourahine on the new Think Global School (
    LearnCentral Link:
Friday, May 14th
  • 12pm PDT (US) / 3pm EDT (US) / 7pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    Cultural Implications for Games in Education.” In this webinar, the featured speakers will discuss the cultural implications of games in education. Luis Almeida will discuss the types of tools used in game development. Patricia A. Young will focus on culture-specific design specifications as it pertains to meeting the needs of learners. Brandon C. Taylor will discuss best practices for designing human centered games. This webinar is a service of Minorities in Media (MIM) an Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT).
    LearnCentral Link
Saturday, May 15th
Thanks for your attention, and see you online!
Post a Comment