Sunday, June 05, 2011

This Week's Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

O-MUN LOBBYING & DIRECTORS MEETING (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sun 5 Jun 08:30AM New York / Sun 5 Jun 12:30PM GMT / Sun 5 Jun 10:30PM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. The student Model United Nations delegates will be lobbying a resolution on food security, while the adult advisors and student facilitators will have a planning meeting. Learn about our initiative at http://o-mun.org/about and join the community at http://o-mun.org/register before attending our meeting.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/161465

FRONTIER SD PEER COACHING WEB EVENT (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 6 Jun 04:30PM New York / Mon 6 Jun 08:30PM GMT / Tue 7 Jun 06:30AM Sydney
Shelee King George. This session will extend Frontier School Division's Peer Coaching training. Focus on Trust and protocols from Session 6 and 7 of the Peer Coaching Program hosted on the Parters in Learning Network. Training will be led byPeer-Ed.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/159400

PEER-ED PEER COACHING BYTE-LEADERSHIP SUPPORT (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 6 Jun 07:00PM New York / Mon 6 Jun 11:00PM GMT / Tue 7 Jun 09:00AM Sydney
Peer-Ed Peer Coaching Byte-Leadership Support. Peer-Ed’s Peer Coaching Webinar Bytes are intended to connect peer coaching facilitators and their coaches. Each 30 minute Webinar will focus on one topic, deliver a short presentation, and then provide an opportunity to ask questions and/or share other strategies. This byte will feature Tracy Watanabe, Technology Integration Specialist -Apache Junction Unified School District, Arizona. Hear how she keeps leadership in the loop and celebrates her peer coaching successes. Consider how you can apply these ideas to your coaching program. Learn. Connect. Share.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/158083

DIY SUMMER READING LIST (TL Cafe)
Mon 6 Jun 08:00PM New York / Tue 7 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Tue 7 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones. Join Guests: John Schumacher, Kelly Nelsen, & Shannon McClintock Miller and Ernie Cox: We will build an exciting summer reading list with the help of youth participants from around the country.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/137758

CHRISTOPHER CHABRIS AND DANIEL SIMONS ON THE INVISIBLE GORILLA (Future of Education Series)
Tue 7 Jun 08:00PM New York / Wed 8 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Wed 8 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve for a live and interactive Future of Education with Christopher Chabris and Daniel Simons, authors of The Invisible Gorilla: How Our Intuitions Deceive Us. While not a book specifically about education, this fascinating look at "how our minds don't work the way we think they do" will hopefully capture your attention as it has mine, as well as giving us a chance to think about its implications for education, both in terms of classroom practice and for larger educational policy.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142217

THE CYBRARY MAN (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 8 Jun 09:30PM New York / Thu 9 Jun 01:30AM GMT / Thu 9 Jun 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Jerry "The Cybrary Man" Blumengarten on one man's quest to support learning with a curated library.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162922

LINGUAFOLIO ONLINE FOR STARTALK (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 9 Jun 01:00PM New York / Thu 9 Jun 05:00PM GMT / Fri 10 Jun 03:00AM Sydney
Krystal Sundstrom. In this webinar, you’ll learn about navigating LinguaFolio Online, how to manage student accounts, and how to integrate LinguaFolio in your STARTALK program.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162576

MATHEMATICIAN'S LAMENT (Math 2.0 Series)
Thu 9 Jun 03:00PM New York / Thu 9 Jun 07:00PM GMT / Fri 10 Jun 05:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. David Wees and Richard DeMerchant will facilitate an open, interactive discussion about "Mathematician's Lament."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/162923

TROY HICKS ON BECAUSE DIGITAL WRITING MATTERS (Future of Education Series)
Thu 9 Jun 08:00PM New York / Fri 10 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Fri 10 Jun 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve hosts a live and interactive Future of Education with Troy Hicks, co-author of Because Digital Writing Matters: Improving Student Writing in Online and Multimedia Environments and author of The Digital Writing Workshop. We'll talk about how to apply digital writing skills effectively in the classroom, since many students may be adept at text messaging and communicating online but do not know how to craft a basic essay. Troy will also discuss how best to integrate new technologies into writing instruction.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/162989

SWEETSEARCH/FINDINGDULCINEA OVERVIEW AND UPDATES (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 11 Jun 12:00PM New York / Sat 11 Jun 04:00PM GMT / Sun 12 Jun 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Mark Moran, founder of Sweet Search, will give an overview of the SweetSearch and FInding Dulcinea website and share the recent updates.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/162988
Post a Comment