Saturday, February 19, 2011

Week of February 20, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

MATHSEEKER: THE PUBLISHING GROUP MEETING (Math 2.0 Series)
Sun 20 Feb 02:00PM New York / Sun 20 Feb 07:00PM GMT / Mon 21 Feb 06:00AM Sydney
Sue VanHattum, Dani Novak and Maria Droujkova. Discuss community publishing, promoting and discovering of math books.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/140314

SYMBIOTIC LEARNING WEEKLY MEETING (Math 2.0 Series)
Sun 20 Feb 04:00PM New York / Sun 20 Feb 09:00PM GMT / Mon 21 Feb 08:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Our first dream is to develop a virtual body/atlas with which you could explore, research with and share the results. A way to do science online and remove the ethical, financial and other constraints and just get back to researching ideas, gathering results and sharing them.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/140232

PARENTS AT PARTNERS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 21 Feb 09:00PM New York / Tue 22 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Tue 22 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Lorna Costantini. Join Lorna Costantini with special guest, Larry Ferlazzo.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/137624

SERVICE LEARNING (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 22 Feb 06:00AM New York / Tue 22 Feb 11:00AM GMT / Tue 22 Feb 10:00PM Sydney
Keith Wilson. These regular sessions are open to anyone who wants to know more about the wonderful world of service-learning or who already has some fascinating best practices to share.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/139449

USING GOOGLE FORMS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 22 Feb 11:00AM New York / Tue 22 Feb 04:00PM GMT / Wed 23 Feb 03:00AM Sydney
Sarah Eaton. Learn how to use Google forms and embed them on your website or use them in your own e-learning presentations. This is an open and free event. Everyone is welcome to attend.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/138170

LEADERSHIP AGILITY: THE FOUR SECRETS TO DEVELOPING LEADERS IN AN INCREASINGLY COMPLEX WORLD (Elluminate Live Events)
Tue 22 Feb 01:00PM New York / Tue 22 Feb 06:00PM GMT / Wed 23 Feb 05:00AM Sydney
Ann Herrmann-Nedhi. In this highly engaging and interactive webinar, you will learn the four secrets to developing the creative, integrative, adaptive thinking skills essential to every leader's success.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/138197

JOHN SEELY BROWN ON THE NEW CULTURE OF LEARNING (Future of Education Series)
Tue 22 Feb 08:00PM New York / Wed 23 Feb 01:00AM GMT / Wed 23 Feb 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon as he talks with John Seely Brown about his new book, The New Culture of Learning.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/136783

PSYCHOLOGY OF MATH LEARNING (Math 2.0 Series)
Tue 22 Feb 09:00PM New York / Wed 23 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Wed 23 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Carol Cross. "Live" discussion of P2PU "Psychology of Math Learning" class.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132596

DISEÑO DE PORTAFOLIOS ELECTRÓNICOS (Aula 2.0)
Tue 22 Feb 09:00PM New York / Wed 23 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Wed 23 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. "Taller práctico dirigido a la creación de entornos en los que se gestiona la progresión del aprendizaje y se evidencia los avances a lo largo del desarrollo personal, profesional, social y cultural. Se utilizará Google Sites como herramienta para el diseño del entorno virtual y sus configuraciones básicas".
http://www.learncentral.org/event/138335

ET@LKING: THE GLOBAL STUDENT BLOGGING CHALLENGE (Australia Series)
Wed 23 Feb 04:00AM New York / Wed 23 Feb 09:00AM GMT / Wed 23 Feb 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirstchin. Sue Wyatt who has co-organised a number of successful global student blogging challenges in conjunction with edublogs will speak about the upcoming global Student Blogging Challenge. See 2010 Student Challenge.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/140107

SUSTAINABILITY STUDIO GUEST SPEAKER (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 23 Feb 12:00PM New York / Wed 23 Feb 05:00PM GMT / Thu 24 Feb 04:00AM Sydney
C. Geith.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/133452

IMPROVE YOUR TRAINING SESSIONS THROUGH IMPROV GAMES (Elluminate Live Events)
Wed 23 Feb 01:00PM New York / Wed 23 Feb 06:00PM GMT / Thu 24 Feb 05:00AM Sydney
Tracy Tagliati and Dr. Sivasailam "Thiagi" Thiagarajan. Based on sarcastic slights from corporate types, we have identified three major objections to using improv sessions for training purposes. Using an interactive improv approach, we will explores strategies for reducing and removing these complaints. You learn how to adapt improv games to improve their instructional effectiveness. In this walk-the-talk session, you will explore and plagirize improv strategies for improving human performance.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/138200

ISSUES CONCERNING EVOLUTION TEACHING: PRACTICE (PART V) (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 23 Feb 02:30PM New York / Wed 23 Feb 07:30PM GMT / Thu 24 Feb 06:30AM Sydney
Panagiotis Stasinakis. With Greek secondary education teachers, we are going to talk about evolution teaching, teaching practice issues concerning this problematic subject for many science teachers. The webinar will be held in Greek language.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/139625

STEVE WHEELER ON THE FUTURE OF WEB 2.0 TECHNOLOGIES IN LEARNING. (Future of Education Series)
Wed 23 Feb 03:00PM New York / Wed 23 Feb 08:00PM GMT / Thu 24 Feb 07:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Steve Wheeler on The Future of Web 2.0 Technologies in Learning.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/138191

ELLUMINATE MODERATOR BOOTCAMP (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 23 Feb 07:00PM New York / Thu 24 Feb 12:00AM GMT / Thu 24 Feb 11:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise. Join the Flat Classroom(tm) Project teachers for an overview of moderating an Elluminate session for student summits.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/140417

P2PU COURSE - CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 23 Feb 07:30PM New York / Thu 24 Feb 12:30AM GMT / Thu 24 Feb 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131365

MICHAEL HORN AND HEATHER STAKER ON THE NORTH CAROLINA SCHOOL CONNECTIVITY INITIATIVE (Future of Education Series)
Thu 24 Feb 07:00PM New York / Fri 25 Feb 12:00AM GMT / Fri 25 Feb 11:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon hosts Michael Horn and Heather Staker on their case study on the North Carolina School Connectivity Initiative.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/138193

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 13 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 24 Feb 08:30PM New York / Fri 25 Feb 01:30AM GMT / Fri 25 Feb 12:30PM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 14 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100318

LIVEBINDERS (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 26 Feb 12:00PM New York / Sat 26 Feb 05:00PM GMT / Sun 27 Feb 04:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Tina Schneider and Barbara Tallent will join the session to use livebinders to share strategies for using livebinders to collaborate and share resources.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/140410

LEARN TO BE - ONLINE LEADERSHIP EXCHANGE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 26 Feb 03:00PM New York / Sat 26 Feb 08:00PM GMT / Sun 27 Feb 07:00AM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. Learn To Be is a non-profit that provides free online tutoring to children in underserved communities. The Online Leadership Exchange is a meeting open to the public where leaders from the various University Chapters come together to share updates and discuss best practices. More information about Learn To Be is available at http://www.learntobe.org
http://www.learncentral.org/event/137321
Post a Comment