Monday, November 08, 2010

Week of November 8, 2010 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!


TECHNOLANGUAGES LIVE (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Mon 8 Nov 04:00AM New York / Mon 8 Nov 09:00AM GMT / Mon 8 Nov 07:00PM Sydney
Jess McCulloch. This activity will focus on discussing ideas for ICT based group work in the languages classroom. Group work is a great way of creating a student centered classroom where students work independently and make choices that interest them and utilising ICT can assist in this.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/111273

MINI-GEEK FEST MONTHLY ONLINE CONVERSATION-NOVEMBER, 2010 (AZTEA)
Mon 8 Nov 10:00PM New York / Tue 8 Nov 03:00AM GMT / Tue 8 Nov 01:00PM Sydney
Peggy George and Kim Thomas. Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don't have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home. Professional Development credit (1 hour) will be available. The show is on the second Monday of each month from 8-9PM (Pacific). It's not a presentation or a tutorial, but a conversation--think of it like a "show and tell" where ALL participants can contribute. Shows will be recorded and archived so if you can't participate in the live sessions, you can listen to the recordings later. We look forward to an exciting and interesting conversation! Feel free to share this invitation with your "tech-loving" colleagues.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/109786

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: BLOGGING ISN'T JUST FOR BIG KIDS (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Mon 8 Nov 11:45PM New York / Tue 8 Nov 04:45AM GMT / Tue 8 Nov 02:45PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. In this session, Kathleen McGeady, whose class blog reached 20,000 visitors this week, will cover some of the following in regard to blogging with her grade 2 class.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/114875

21ST CENTURY LEARNING: BIODIVERSITY IN THE CLASSROOM. (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR SERIES)
Tue 8 Nov 12:00AM New York / Tue 8 Nov 05:00AM GMT / Tue 8 Nov 03:00PM Sydney
Leigh Hofman. Are you looking for a new way to teach biodiversity? Would you like to get students excited and engaged in a way that embeds the learning and gets them active? Biodiversity is an important issue and is currently being highlighted by the UNEP in this Year of Biodiversity. Join Leigh Hofman, Educational Crusader at Habitat Heroes as she takes you through a whole new world of learning options that integrate traditional learning requirements into biodiversity fields. Learn how to find and use the various applications of Habitat Heroes and how they might apply in your classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/109413

21ST CENTURY LEARNING: BIODIVERSITY IN THE CLASSROOM. (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Tue 9 Nov 05:00PM New York / Tue 9 Nov 10:00PM GMT / Wed 9 Nov 08:00AM Sydney
Leigh Hofman. Are you looking for a new way to teach biodiversity? Would you like to get students excited and engaged in a way that embeds the learning and gets them active? Biodiversity is an important issue and is currently being highlighted by the UNEP in this Year of Biodiversity. Join Leigh Hofman, Educational Crusader at Habitat Heroes as she takes you through a whole new world of learning options that integrate traditional learning requirements into biodiversity fields. Learn how to find and use the various applications of Habitat Heroes and how they might apply in your classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/109418

1 TOOL AT A TIME (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Tue 9 Nov 07:30PM New York / Wed 9 Nov 12:30AM GMT / Wed 9 Nov 10:30AM Sydney
Kate Christo. 1 Tool at A Time is proudly brought to you by SIGMS and SIGILT.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/113231

ET@LKING: MAHOODLE / GOOGLE (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Wed 10 Nov 04:00AM New York / Wed 10 Nov 09:00AM GMT / Wed 10 Nov 07:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. So what can you do with a Mahoodle Google for your online classes?
http://www.learncentral.org/event/117192

SURVIVORS VOICE (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Wed 10 Nov 02:00PM New York / Wed 10 Nov 07:00PM GMT / Thu 10 Nov 05:00AM Sydney
Mayte Esponda. The Strongest Oak Foundation, an international NGO based in Calgary, Alberta, is honored to present two very special guest panelists: Charles Mugabe and Jean de Dieu Tuyisenge. Charles and JD are Rwandan genocide survivors who, as young children in 1994, endured one of history’s greatest tragedies and overcame insurmountable odds to stay alive, despite most or all of their families. Today, they strive to build a better life for themselves and others by leading social and educational projects for those in need. Charles (connecting from a village in Rwanda) and JD (connecting from Simon Fraser University in Vancouver) will share their incredible stories in a motivational encounter like none other, certain to inspire you with their passion for life and unwavering resilience.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/111842

GAGA FOR GOOGLE DOCS PART 4: SPREADSHEETS (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Wed 10 Nov 05:00PM New York / Wed 10 Nov 10:00PM GMT / Thu 10 Nov 08:00AM Sydney
Rochele Rodrigo. Having access to a free and easy to use spreadsheet application is great; however, the power of Google Spreadsheets is in it’s collaborative and publication abilities. Come to this webinar to learn various tips and tricks to using Google Spreadsheets. We’ll also talk about ways to incorporate Google Spreadsheets into various teaching and learning activities.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/92765

2010 K12 ONLINE CONFERENCE POST-CONFERENCE SESSION WITH DAVID WARLICK (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Wed 10 Nov 07:00PM New York / Thu 10 Nov 12:00AM GMT / Thu 10 Nov 10:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise. Please join us for a lively discussion with world famous presenter and speaker, David Warlick. This event will close out the live events of the 2010 K12 Online Conference.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/115946

UN ABRE BOCAS A LA CONFERENCIA MUNDIAL DE EDUCACION (AULA 2.0)
Wed 10 Nov 09:00PM New York / Thu 10 Nov 02:00AM GMT / Thu 10 Nov 12:00PM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. El objetivo de este taller es mostrar las diferentes ponencias que hay y como se participa en la Conferencia Mundial de EducaciĆ³n. Ademas compartir un momento con miembros de Aula 2.0.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/117532


GLOBAL BLENDED LEARNING IMPLEMENTATIONS - FIELD-TESTED STRATEGIES FOR SUCCESS (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Thu 11 Nov 01:00PM New York / Thu 11 Nov 06:00PM GMT / Fri 11 Nov 04:00AM Sydney
Cindy Huggett. Using best-in-class examples from experience in the field, author and expert Cindy Huggett will demonstrate how recent blended learning implementations have achieved results including consistent leadership and management development across geographically dispersed learning audiences.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/115996

EXPLORING GAMING, CULTURE & EDUCATION WITH PROFESSOR ROGER TRAVIS (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 11 Nov 02:00PM New York / Thu 11 Nov 07:00PM GMT / Fri 11 Nov 05:00AM Sydney
Barbara Lindsey. In today's session, members of BeyondWebCT have the opportunity to learn exactly that as they talk with Professor Roger Travis about his unique Video Games and Human Values Initiative and his innovative application of gaming environments in courses in classics—including both culture and language courses. This promises to be an engaging and illuminating session and we welcome fellow educators with an interest in the use of gaming in education.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/116095

RESEARCH PROJECTS, REVISITED (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 11 Nov 04:00PM New York / Thu 11 Nov 09:00PM GMT / Fri 11 Nov 07:00AM Sydney
Kimberly Lightle. Science and literacy instruction in the elementary grades is the focus of a new series of web seminars for the 2010-2011 school year. The series is sponsored by Beyond Penguins and Polar Bears, an NSF-funded project that provides professional development and instructional resources to elementary teachers.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/89905

THE KNOWLEDGE SHARING PLACE - 21ST CENTURY PD (KNOWLEDGE SHARING PLACE)
Thu 11 Nov 07:00PM New York / Fri 11 Nov 12:00AM GMT / Fri 11 Nov 10:00AM Sydney
Dean Mantz. Join the Tina and Barbara of LiveBinders and Dean Mantz as they talk with Steven W. Anderson (@web20classroom on Twitter) on establishing and developing successful 21st Century Professional Development.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/111224

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 4 (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 11 Nov 08:30PM New York / Fri 11 Nov 01:30AM GMT / Fri 11 Nov 11:30AM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 4 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100260

CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE - TEACHING GENERATION TEXT (CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 13 Nov 12:00PM New York / Sat 13 Nov 05:00PM GMT / Sun 13 Nov 03:00AM Sydney
Classroom 2.0 LIVE Co-Hosts. Join Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George for a session with Lisa Neilsen and Willyn Webb for a discussion about cell phones in the classroom and 'teaching generation text'.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/117828

HIGH TECH HIGH -- COLLEGIAL CONVERSATIONS (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Sat 13 Nov 03:00PM New York / Sat 13 Nov 08:00PM GMT / Sun 13 Nov 06:00AM Sydney
Ben Daley. Educators gather virtually to look at students' work and discuss educator dilemmas.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100005
Post a Comment