Monday, November 22, 2010

Week of November 22, 2010 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

TECHNOLANGUAGES LIVE - THINKING CRITICALLY ABOUT THE IPAD IN THE LANGUAGES CLASSROM (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Mon 22 Nov 04:00AM New York / Mon 22 Nov 09:00AM GMT / Mon 22 Nov 07:00PM Sydney
Jess McCulloch. A discussion on ideas making the most of iPads in the languages classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/116888

STRATEGIES FOR STRUGGLING READERS: THE NON-READER (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Mon 22 Nov 05:30PM New York / Mon 22 Nov 10:30PM GMT / Tue 22 Nov 08:30AM Sydney
Nicole Lakusta. This webinar will describe the non-reader, give examples of what you can do to help this student and provide you with strategies that you can use to help this type of non-reader.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/120895

TECH TALK TUESDAYS -PING: AN ONLINE MUSIC PROGRAM FOR SCHOOLS (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Mon 22 Nov 11:45PM New York / Tue 22 Nov 04:45AM GMT / Tue 22 Nov 02:45PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. PingMusic.com.au is a social network for music education. During 2010, Ping has been delivering recycled percussion and singing activities to 15 rural primary schools in victoria. During 2011 Ping will roll out beginner guitar, drum, composition courses and the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra's VCE Music materials - Post 1910's composition. Ping integrates with Noteflight.com to enable scoring in the browser. In addition to this Practice tools, tuners and metronomes are being developed to make PingMusic.com.au a practice tool with social networking feeds. Ajax McKerral - PingMusic's project manager will present highlights from 2010 and demonstrate features arriving in 2011.Dont miss hearing about this innovative program.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/121080

21ST CENTURY LEARNING: CARING FOR ANIMALS IN THE CLASSROOM. (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Tue 22 Nov 12:00AM New York / Tue 22 Nov 05:00AM GMT / Tue 22 Nov 03:00PM Sydney
Leigh Hofman. Join Leigh Hofman, Educational Crusader at Habitat Heroes as she takes you through a whole new world of learning options that integrate traditional learning requirements into these 21st century themes. Learn how to find and use the various applications of Habitat Heroes and how they might apply in your classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/118768

BECOMING THE GREATEST TRAINER: 7 STRATEGIES FOR ADDING VALUE AND MAKING A DIFFERENCE IN TURBULENT TIMES (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Tue 23 Nov 01:00PM New York / Tue 23 Nov 06:00PM GMT / Wed 23 Nov 04:00AM Sydney
Bob Pike. Do you want to be a great trainer? Do you know what it takes to be one? Bob Pike CSP, CPAE-Speakers Hall of Fame, says that a great trainer is one that adds value and makes a difference. In this fast-paced, content rich webinar Bob will share great tips for becoming a great trainer.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/116002

CONCERNS ABOUT STUDENTS' ASSESSMENT. PART B (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Tue 23 Nov 02:00PM New York / Tue 23 Nov 07:00PM GMT / Wed 23 Nov 05:00AM Sydney
Manos Alisavakis. Starting from the practices and personal views about the planning of an exam, we will try to make: i) a reflection via the personal views of other peers, ii) a presentation of the fundamental and problems of assessment, iii) a conversation about the criticism and the side-effects that have been found from the research. We will try to clear up the misunderstandings about the procedure and the role of student’s assessment. The protection from side - effects will be the webinar’s conclusion.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/120652

21ST CENTURY LEARNING: CARING FOR ANIMALS IN THE CLASSROOM. (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Tue 23 Nov 04:00PM New York / Tue 23 Nov 09:00PM GMT / Wed 23 Nov 07:00AM Sydney
Leigh Hofman. Join Leigh Hofman, Educational Crusader at Habitat Heroes as she takes you through a whole new world of learning options that integrate traditional learning requirements into these 21st century themes. Learn how to find and use the various applications of Habitat Heroes and how they might apply in your classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/118770

MATT LEVINSON - FROM FEAR TO FACEBOOK (FUTURE OF EDUCATION SERIES)
Tue 23 Nov 08:00PM New York / Wed 23 Nov 01:00AM GMT / Wed 23 Nov 11:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon as he interviews Matt Levinson about his book, From Fear to Facebook.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/121827

ET@LKING: UNCONFERENCE - DEBRIEFING AFTER VIRTUAL EVENTS (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Wed 24 Nov 04:00AM New York / Wed 24 Nov 09:00AM GMT / Wed 24 Nov 07:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. Come and here what Allanah Kirby has to say about the organising, scheduling, managing and reflecting on a virtual conference. Join us to discuss your experiences in the recent Global Education Conference and unpack some of the learning, the inspiration, the challenges and the experiences of a full week of Elluminate conference sessions. We'll provide a glimpse of back stage preparation for a collaborative presentation at the GEC - Classroom 2.0 Live meets the Australia Series.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/121591

BUILDING TEACHING SKILLS THROUGH THE INTERACTIVE WEB (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Sat 27 Nov 09:00AM New York / Sat 27 Nov 02:00PM GMT / Sun 27 Nov 12:00AM Sydney
Jeff Magoto. Teacher training for EFL teachers. Today's focus is ANVILL and its possibilities for web-based training in F2F and DE.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/121678
Post a Comment