Saturday, May 15, 2010

This Coming Week's Live and Interactive Events in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. Be on the lookout for Australia-time-friendly events as part of the new Australia Series, and Spanish-language Webinars from the Aula 2.0 Series!

A number of folks have emailed me looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, and while the developers at LearnCentral are working on a good long-term solution, you'll find my Google Calendar "hack" at LearnCentral.tv. Hope it helps!

I also hope you'll consider hosting your own public webinars using the LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Sunday, May 16th
  • 7pm PDT (US) /10pm EDT (US) / 2am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times):
    MOODLE MEET CONNECTED LEADERSHIP ONLINE CONFERENCE

    What does it mean to be a "connected educational leader.” What does it mean to be a a "connected educational leader." What is effective leadership in the 21st century? Is the style of leadership needed in the 21st century different than what was required in the 20th century? Join this session to explore what it means to be a "connected educational leader." This webinar introduces the topics that will be discussed during our Connected Leadership Moodle Meet May 16 to 21.
    LearnCentral Link:
    http://www.learncentral.org/event/74666 (pre-registration required)
Monday, May 17th
  • 10:45pm PDT (US) / 1:45am EDT (US) (next day) / 5:45am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    AUSTRALIA SERIES
    Tech Talk Tuesdays: Is it really pen and paper?The livescribe pen!” Among other ideas it's time to speed up the running records and move classes into the 21st century. Jenny Ashby will present many ideas for using the livescribe pen in the Primary school by teachers and students. See how easily it converts written to typed text and puts a copy on a secure website to share including graphics and audio. Quickly create how to's and explanations. Let your parents view the latest reading interview.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/73253
Tuesday, May 18h
  • 5am PDT (US) / 8am EDT (US) / 12am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times):
    ELLUMINATE LIVE SERIES
    Doing More With Less: How Elluminate Can Help You." Hot topics in education currently involve budget cuts, driving down costs, increasing efficiency and not compromising on quality. So how do you really achieve this? Join this webinar to meet Jesper Schumacher, Functional System Administrator from Open University Netherlands, who will discuss why they chose Elluminate as their preferred solution:
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/70715 (pre-registrated required)

  • 9am PDT (US) / 12pm EDT (US) / 4pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    AULA 2.0
    Using Skype in ESL and literacy programs with Dr. SarahEaton." Learn what Skype is and how it can be used in ESL and literacy programs. We will look at how Skype can be used in personal and professional situations, it's applications for ESL and literacy programs and how it can be used to increase the technology literacy of teachers and tutors who may not be so tech savvy themselves.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/73298

  • 5pm PDT (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    FUTURE OF EDUCATION SERIES
    Interview with Charles Fadel.” Steve Hargadon will interview Charles Fadel on "School Architecture in the Context of 21st Century Skills".
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/74495

  • 6pm PDT (US) / 9pm EDT (US) / 1am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times):
    AULA 2.0 SERIES
    Pensamiento Visible" de la Universidad de Harvard,con Ana Maria Fernandez.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/74792
Wednesday, May 19th
  • 2:30am PDT (US) / 5:30am EDT (US) / 9:30am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    STUDENTS 2.0 SERIES
    “Google Docs - storing and sharing your information in the cloud.”
    with host Jenny Luca. What do you know about Cloud Computing? Google Docs offers you an easy way of storing documents that can be shared with other people and edited easily. You will discover how you can access your documents from any computer, anywhere, provided you have an internet connection.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/68343
  • 3am PDT (US) / 6am EDT (US) / 10am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    AUSTRALIA SERIES
    “eT@lking: elearning Innovations in SA”
    with host Carole McCulloch. Presentation of range of innovation projects for VET in SA for 2010.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/69049

  • 11am PDT (US) / 2pm EDT (US) / 6pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    ELLUMINATE LIVE SERIES
    Supporting Exceptionally Able Children's Motivation for Learning.” Dr. Sarah McElwee, Post-doctoral Research Associate in the Department of Experimental Psychology at the University of Oxford, will look at how parents and teachers can help to motivate their gifted children and pupils towards achievement. Dr. McElwee’s presentation will focus on the following topics: the link between motivation and challenge; orientations to learning, specifically "performance" approaches versus "mastery" approaches; how beliefs about the nature of intelligence can impact upon motivation; socio-emotional aspects of underachievement and motivation and ideas for parents and teachers on building motivation.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/71110 (pre-registration required)

  • 12pm PDT (US) / 3pm EDT (US) / 7pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    MOODLE MEET CONNECTED LEADERSHIP ONLINE CONFERENCE
    Connected Leadership: The Vision, Skills, and Strategies to Lead Our Schools,” with Jason Borgen. How has the 21st century changed the scope of leadership? Join this webcast to hear about evidence and research regarding how students have changed more than ever before and how you, as a leader, need to develop your digital skills quickly to keep your school and district on top. This presentation will lead you in developing a vision based upon research and what other educators are saying is essential for today's schooling.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/node/74668

  • 6:30pm PDT (US) / 9:30pm EDT (US) / 1:30am (GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times)
    Math 2.0 Weekly: Cut the Knot!" with host Maria Droujkova. cut-the-knot.org is a large collection of math eye openers, essays on education, and tools of the trade - with love!
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/72924

  • 8pm PDT (US) / 11pm EDT (US) / 3am (GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times)
    Digital Citizenship Modules,”with Suzie Vesper. 21st century students need to be equipped with appropriate knowledge and skills to be successful digital citizens. This facilitated discussion will explore what this means for our schools. The discussion is happening as part of the Digital Citizenship module for teachers involved in the New Zealand ICT PD project.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/72288
Thursday, May 20th
  • 9am PDT (US) / 1pm EDT (US) / 5pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    ELLUMINATE LIVE SERIES
    Elluminate Product Spotlight: Elluminate Bridge For Sakai.” For users of the Sakai Collaboration and Learning Environment, our new “Elluminate Bridge for Sakai” gives you the power to easily and seamlessly integrate live, synchronous distance learning and collaboration into your coursework. That means instructors can schedule and deliver classes using Elluminate Live! our Internet-based, real-time, multi-platform eLearning tool that includes superior voice over the Internet, multi-point video, shared whiteboards, text messaging, breakout rooms, application sharing, PowerPoint import, and more. In this 45-minute webinar, Steve Schoen, Elluminate Senior Product Manager, & Rick Ruden, Senior Product Marketing Manager, will provide an overview of the Elluminate Bridge for Sakai.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/73768 (pre-registration required)

  • 10am PDT (US) / 1pm EDT (US) / 5pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    ELLUMINATE LIVE SERIES
    “Learning Styles: Fact Or Fiction.”
    “Ruth Clark’s books and workshops incorporate the most current research evidence on what works in workforce instructional environments. We offer research-based guidelines for creating effective training presentations, directive skill building training, and scenario-based multimedia learning.”
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/62851 (pre-registration required)

  • 10am PDT (US) / 1pm EDT (US) / 5pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    ELLUMINATE LIVE SERIES
    “Learning Project Charter In 45 Minutes? It's Important And Can Be Done!”
    Join Lou Russell as she shared about the Learning Project Charter and defines WHY the business or organization is spending money on the project instead of something else. Very few people know how or take the time to work through this important step. Since ‘Bad News Early is Good News’ in project work, it’s a step that pays you back in rework if skipped. In this session, learn quick and easy techniques to complete a ‘good enough’ Learning Project Charter in 45 minutes or less.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/70721 (pre-registration required)

  • 12:30pm PDT (US) / 3:30pm EDT (US) / 7:30pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    AUSTRALIA SERIES
    “Business Breakfast - Fear of Elluminating! (Bring your IT people).”
    The third seminar in the Business Breakfast series looks at the greatest barrier to using Elluminate effectively - the IT department! For many large organisations the fear of anything being able to penetrate the firewalls that are built around their silos can amount to paranoia. No amount of reassurance seems to work. The best way to remove the fear is to take them on a short and gentle journey into the unknown with IT people who know the territory. Bring along your IT decision makers. We'll take them by the hand and show them the security benefits to their world and yours and see if we can't make using Elluminate a greater possibility in your organisation.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/52161

  • 1pm PDT (US) / 4pm EDT (US) / 8pm GMT/UTC (intl times): MIDDLE SCHOOL PORTAL 2: MATH AND SCIENCE PATHWAYS (MSP2)
    “Timely Teachings: Seasons and the Cycles of Night and Day.”
    Join us as we discuss two challenging topics in the elementary and middle school curriculum - day and night and seasons from both science and literacy perspectives. We'll review scientific principles, examine common misconceptions and formative assessment strategies, and discuss how to approach these topics by integrating science and literacy. We'll share resources from Beyond Penguins and Polar Bears, the National Science Digital Libraries' Middle School Portal, and other high-quality content providers.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/71141

  • 2pm PDT (US) / 5pm EDT (US) / 9pm GMT/UTC (intl times): PBS TEACHERS SERIES
    “PBS Cyberchase Summer Challenge Training.”
    Join us as we discuss two challenging topics in the elementary and middle school curriculum - day and night and seasons from both science and literacy perspectives. We'll review scientific principles, examine common misconceptions and formative assessment strategies, and discuss how to approach these topics by integrating science and literacy. We'll share resources from Beyond Penguins and Polar Bears, the National Science Digital Libraries' Middle School Portal, and other high-quality content providers.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/67593

  • 4pm PDT (US) / 7pm EDT (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    EDUBLOGS SERIES
    “Edublogs Fine Focus.”
    Join us for our forthnightly "Fine Focus" sessions on a wide range of topics from: how to use tools/applications (the "techie stuff"),edu issues, e-learning tools/strategies and much more. In fact anything "e" that is of interest to educators. PS If you have anything you would like to share we would love you to deliver a session for us.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/67254
     
  • 5pm PDT (US) / 8pm EDT (US) / 12am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    FUTURE OF EDUCATION SERIES
    Steve Hargadon interviews Michael Furdyk, co-founder of TakingITGlobal, the largest online community of youth interested in global issues and creating positive change. Michael has spoken to over 50,000 educators about the importance of engaging students and integrating technology and global perspectives into the classroom. In 2008, he was named by Contribute Magazine as one of 10 Tech Revolutionaries Redefining the Power and Face of Philanthropy.
    LearnCentral Link
    : http://www.learncentral.org/event/74961
Saturday, May 22nd
  • 9am PDT (US) / 12pm EDT (US) / 4pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE! SERIES
    “Classroom 2.0 LIVE!” Join Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George for another webinar about using technology tools in the classroom.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/67058

  • 9am PDT (US) / 12pm EDT (US) / 4pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    LEARNING GAMES NETWORK SERIES
    Choosing and Using Video Games in the Classroom: Review and Reflect.” In this final session of the Learning Games Network's "Choosing and Using Learning Games in the Classroom" series, we will look back on successes and obstacles, possibilities and challenges. What have we learned? Are there ways to motivate students to use media more effectively through project-based learning and/or designing games to complement instruction?
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/58450

  • 10am PDT (US) / 2pm EDT (US) / 6pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    LEARNING GAMES NETWORK SERIES
    Designing eGames: Pitching the Design .” You've got five minutes to tell someone about your game. Go!” That is essentially how a design pitch works. It requires a concise and exciting description of what the game is and what it does. We’ll discuss some of the best ways to share your story/work with those who may help you make your creation a reality.
    LearnCentral Link: http://www.learncentral.org/event/61842/
Thanks for your attention, and see you online!
Post a Comment