Monday, November 30, 2009

Dan Willingham on "Why Don't Students Like School?"

Date: Tuesday, December 1st, 2009
Time:
1:00pm Pacific / 4:00pm Eastern / 9:00pm GMT (international times here)
Duration: 1 hour
Location: In Elluminate. Log in at http://tr.im/futureofed. The Elluminate room will be open up to 30 minutes before the event if you want to come in early. To make sure that your computer is configured for Elluminate, please visit http://www.elluminate.com/support. Recordings of the session will be posted within a day of the event.
Event Pagehttp://www.futureofeducation.com/forum/topics/dan-willingham-on-why-dont

Join Steve Hargadon for a live and interactive hour with Dan Willingham to discuss his book Why Don't Students Like School?. The book has been called "brilliant" (Wall Street Journal) and "a triumph" (Washington Post).

Daniel Willingham earned his B.A. from Duke University in 1983 and his Ph.D. in Cognitive Psychology from Harvard University in 1990. He is currently Professor of Psychology at the University of Virginia, where he has taught since 1992. Until about 2000, his research focused solely on the brain basis of learning and memory. Today, all of his research concerns the application of cognitive psychology to K-12 education. He writes the “Ask the Cognitive Scientist” column for American Educator magazine, and blogs at the Washington Post. He is also the author of Why Don't Students Like School? (Jossey-Bass). His writing on education has been (or is being) translated into Chinese, French, Korean, Thai, Portuguese, and Russian.

More information at http://www.danielwillingham.com.

(Photo credit: Dan Addison/UVa public affairs)
Post a Comment