Saturday, July 30, 2011

Week of July 30, 2011 - Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

EPCOP MOOC INTRO WEBINAR (Australia Series)
Mon 1 Aug 09:00PM New York / Tue 2 Aug 01:00AM GMT / Tue 2 Aug 11:00AM Sydney
Coach Carole. A repeat intro to the EpCoP MOOC has been scheduled for August 2 to suit a new influx of registered participants and for those in other time zones who could not attend the first one. (see learnspace Webinar gallery for link to recordings.) We will meet for an hour from 11am - 12 noon Sydney time in the Australia e-Series Blackboard Collaborate room at: http://tinyurl.com/29tyznz/ We are using the latest version of Blackboard Collaborate so please plan to enter the room at least 20 minutes early just in case you have any difficulties.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/167786

ETC PRESS AND MEANING OF GAMES (Math 2.0 Series)
Tue 2 Aug 11:00AM New York / Tue 2 Aug 03:00PM GMT / Wed 3 Aug 01:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Drew Davidson to discuss the participatory future of content creation, and his game design book "Well Played."
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167866

PROYECTO CANAIMA EDUCATIVO- VENEZUELA (Aula 2.0)
Tue 2 Aug 09:00PM New York / Wed 3 Aug 01:00AM GMT / Wed 3 Aug 11:00AM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. El Proyecto Canaima Educativo tiene como finalidad la incorporación, la dotación y la formación en materia tecnológica, en primera instancia, al subsistema de Educación Primaria Bolivariana, esto incluye estudiantes y docentes de aula. Este proyecto inicio con la entrega de laptop a niños, niñas y docentes en el año escolar 2009-2010 y pretende completar la dotación a todo el sector para 2011-2012. Expositor Carlos Raul Araque C.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/167740

SPEAKS VOLUMES ONLINE-LEARNING CONFERENCE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 2 Aug 03:00AM New York / Tue 2 Aug 07:00AM GMT / Tue 2 Aug 05:00PM Sydney
Connie Swiderski. This is an online learning conference sponsored by the Region XI Education Service Center in Fort Worth, Texas. To speak volumes is to be highly expressive or significant, having a major or important effect, or to express something very clearly and completely. Join us in speaking volumes on ideas, resources, and best practices that improve online education. This FREE conference is open to everyone but registration is required. Check the calendar for synchronous and asychnronous conference activities.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142755

INTERVIEW WITH JANE NELSEN AND MARY MAGUIRE ON ADLERIAN PSYCHOLOGY AND EDUCATION (Future of Education Series)
Tue 2 Aug 08:00PM New York / Wed 3 Aug 12:00AM GMT / Wed 4 Aug 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve interviews author Jane Nelsen and therapist Mary Maguire to explore the value of the Positive Discipline model and Adlerian principles in thinking about the current education reform movements--and the broader scope of democratic cultural shifts facilitated by the Internet and social media.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/167799



The 2011 Worldwide Virtual Library Conference
November 2 - 3, All Free, All Online in Blackboard Collaborate
Submit to present or to be kept informed at http://www.Library2011.com


ET@LKING: LEARNING @ YOUR LIBRARY (Australia Series)
Wed 3 Aug 06:00AM New York / Wed 3 Aug 10:00AM GMT / Wed 3 Aug 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. What can your library do to enhance teaching and learning? Facing challenges of digital literacy, digital content, e-books and equitable access to information, libraries are at the forefront of addressing key educational and social issues of ICT and change.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/167731

COUNT 10, READ 10 (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 3 Aug 09:30PM New York / Thu 4 Aug 01:30AM GMT / Thu 4 Aug 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Bon Crowder of www.MathFour.com in discussing the new Count 10, Read 10 numeracy initiative for families.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167867

MASTERING MATH FACTS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 4 Aug 08:00PM New York / Fri 5 Aug 12:00AM GMT / Fri 5 Aug 10:00AM Sydney
Laura Candler. Research has shown that lack of fluency in computation prevents many students from excelling in math. Laura Candler of Teaching Resources will share specific strategies for teaching math facts and making sure that students know them fluently. The primary focus of the session will be on mastery of times tables, but many of the strategies can be applied to addition and subtraction facts.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/164213

INTERVIEW WITH JAMES MAYFIELD ON INSTITUTIONAL VERSUS VILLAGE EDUCATION (Future of Education Series)
Thu 4 Aug 08:00PM New York / Fri 5 Aug 12:00AM GMT / Fri 5 Aug 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve will talk with Dr. James Mayfield, co-founder of CHOICE Humanitarian, as we talk about the contrasts he has seen between central government (institutional) education and "Village Community Education." We'll use this distinction as a springboard for talking about self-determination in both humanitarian work and education, how it might help us as we think about broader education reform debates, and other lessons Jim has learned through his work on world poverty.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167800

BLAST FROM THE PAST ARCHIVE FAVORITE (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 6 Aug 12:00PM New York / Sat 6 Aug 04:00PM GMT / Sun 7 Aug 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Constantini and Peggy George. This show will be a lively, fun and interactive way to share some great finds from our show archives. We are also opening up the discussion forum to share treasures from conferences like ISTE 2011 or the free online ed tech virtual speaksVOLumes conference. This will be a smackdown-type style show talking about favorite tools, ideas, strategies gleaned from our past archived show (http://live.classroom20.com/archive-and-resources.html). Come to share or just learn about "treasured gems" from the past with our "Blast from the Past Archives Favorite Show"!
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167787
Post a Comment