Friday, March 11, 2011

Week of March 14, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

COPYRIGHT CLARITY (TL Cafe)
Mon 14 Mar 07:00PM New York / Tue 15 Mar 12:00AM GMT / Tue 15 Mar 11:00AM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones. While copyright & fair use can be confusing to navigate you CAN use copyrighted material in your creative work!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142405

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: KIDS ETALKING TO KIDS (Australia Series)
Tue 14 Mar 12:00AM New York / Tue 15 Mar 05:00AM GMT / Tue 15 Mar 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Technology has enabled us to break down physical barriers and connect face-to-face with others around the world. Such connections can lead to global collaboration and mutual understanding. What could be more engaging than kids talking to kids across the world? What better way to encourage intercultural understanding, international-mindedness, and global awareness? The session will include examples of exciting collaborations which have enabled the ‘flattening of classroom walls’, allowing students to learn from and with people around the world. It will explore the ways learning can be enhanced through such interactions. It will highlight what we have learned, challenges and successes, and effective ways such connections can be established.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/145118

TECHNOLANGUAGES LIVE - REPORT FROM A CLASSROOM (Australia Series)
Tue 15 Mar 04:00AM New York / Tue 15 Mar 09:00AM GMT / Tue 15 Mar 08:00PM Sydney
Jess McCulloch. Andrew Jeppesen has been using technology in his classroom for the last few years and has had some great success. Andrew will share what he is currently doing with technology in his Japanese classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/143029

ISTE SIGVE MEETUP (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 15 Mar 08:00PM New York / Wed 16 Mar 01:00AM GMT / Wed 16 Mar 12:00PM Sydney
Scott Merrick. Second Life provides a robust platform for collaboration that provides educators with the opportunity to meet with friends all over the globe, all together, in one place. That place happens to be a virtual world. Join host Andy Wheelock (Spiff Whitfield in SL) as he chats with Linden Labs' Terence Linden, seeking a collective understanding of just where Linden Labs stands with our community in terms of the future of education in Second Life. Join us here or in Second Life or in both! Sponsored by ISTE Special Interest Group for Virtual Environments.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/140355

ET@LKING: YOUR PLN AND LIFE-LONG LEARNING: A MODEL FOR STUDENTS (Australia Series)
Wed 16 Mar 04:00AM New York / Wed 16 Mar 09:00AM GMT / Wed 16 Mar 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Jo McLeay, a veteran web2.0 user, will speak about life long learning and the great benefits of a PLN (Personal Learning Network).Have you heard the word net.know as in someone you have net.known for years and what a real relationship that can be even without meeting f2f. So different from how the print media presents it. Come, listen to and share with Jo.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/145136

SUSTAINABILITY STUDIO GUEST SPEAKER (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 16 Mar 12:00PM New York / Wed 16 Mar 05:00PM GMT / Thu 17 Mar 04:00AM Sydney
C. Geith.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/133455

P2PU COURSE - CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 16 Mar 07:30PM New York / Thu 17 Mar 12:30AM GMT / Thu 17 Mar 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131368

CANVAS OPEN SOURCE LMS. MATHEMATICS AND USABILITY. (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 16 Mar 09:30PM New York / Thu 17 Mar 02:30AM GMT / Thu 17 Mar 01:30PM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Open source, free Canvas LMS from Instructure features strong math support and built-in social media integration.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142385

1 TOOL AT A TIME: GETTING STARTED WITH GLOGSTER EDU (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 17 Mar 08:00PM New York / Fri 18 Mar 01:00AM GMT / Fri 18 Mar 12:00PM Sydney
Katie Christo. What do you get when you cross a digital poster with a blog? You get a Glog! Glogster EDU is a an exciting and free, online site for students and teachers to create multimedia pages to present projects and other course work. In this 30 minute session we will share examples of class Glogs and how to get started with your own Glogeter site.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/139907

MANAGING NON-DEDICATED TEAMS WHO DON'T HAVE TO LISTEN TO YOU (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Fri 18 Mar 01:30PM New York / Fri 18 Mar 06:30PM GMT / Sat 19 Mar 05:30AM Sydney
Lou Russell. Successful project management requires holding people accountable who do not directly report to you. These people don't have to do anything you say, technically. In this session, learn techniques and strategies for influencing people to help you get your projects done successfully, to increase overall accountability of everyone involved and get it all done at the quality, price and time your business needs.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/130259

VOICETHREAD UPDATE (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 19 Mar 12:00PM New York / Sat 19 Mar 05:00PM GMT / Sun 20 Mar 04:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Ben Pappell, Steve Muth & Katie Beck will share about the new features recently added to VoiceThread.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/145700

MATHEMATICS 1001 (Math 2.0 Series)
Sat 19 Mar 02:00PM New York / Sat 19 Mar 07:00PM GMT / Sun 20 Mar 06:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Richard will talk about his latest book "Mathematics 1001" and his other math popularization projects.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142387

LEARN TO BE - ONLINE LEADERSHIP EXCHANGE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 19 Mar 03:00PM New York / Sat 19 Mar 08:00PM GMT / Sun 20 Mar 07:00AM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. Learn To Be is a non-profit that provides free online tutoring to children in underserved communities. The Online Leadership Exchange is a meeting open to the public where leaders from the various University Chapters come together to share updates and discuss best practices. More information about Learn To Be is available at http://www.learntobe.org
http://www.learncentral.org/event/140772
Post a Comment