Saturday, February 12, 2011

Week of February 14, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

SIGMS WEBINAR (TL Cafe)
Mon 14 Feb 08:00PM New York / Tue 15 Feb 01:00AM GMT / Tue 15 Feb 12:00PM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones. Join this session to discuss current trends facing media specialists.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125561

"MINI-GEEK FEST" MONTHLY ONLINE CONVERSATION-FEBRUARY, 2011 (AzTEA 2.0 Professional Development)
Mon 14 Feb 10:00PM New York / Tue 15 Feb 03:00AM GMT / Tue 15 Feb 02:00PM Sydney
Peggy George and Kim Thomas. Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don't have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home. You don't have to be from Arizona to participate--everyone is welcome. (Space is limited to the first 50 participants who join the session.)
http://www.learncentral.org/event/138668

SERVICE-LEARNING (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 15 Feb 04:30AM New York / Tue 15 Feb 09:30AM GMT / Tue 15 Feb 08:30PM Sydney
Keith Wilson. A regular service-learning webinar designed to attract new and experienced practitioners willing to share their best practice and take on other people's projects. This session is the first and will look at the fundamentals of service-learning.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/137679

ISTE SIGVE SPEAKER SESSION--VWBPE PANEL DISCUSSION (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 15 Feb 07:00PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 12:00AM GMT / Wed 16 Feb 11:00AM Sydney
Scott Merrick. This month's session in Second Life features the Virtual Worlds Best Practices in Education Executive Comittee members.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/137693

DAVID PERKINS ON MAKING LEARNING WHOLE (Future of Education Series)
Tue 15 Feb 08:00PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 01:00AM GMT / Wed 16 Feb 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon will interview David Perkins on his book Making Learning Whole.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/136781/

1 TOOL AT A TIME: FLICKR FUN (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 15 Feb 08:00PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 01:00AM GMT / Wed 16 Feb 12:00PM Sydney
Andrea Christman. Come learn some fun ways to use Flickr to support teaching and learning. Flickr has some great tools that allow you to select and share content with students. Participants will learn how to create Flickr Galleries, slide shows, and Geo-tag their photos.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125561

PSYCHOLOGY OF MATH LEARNING (Math 2.0 Series)
Tue 15 Feb 09:00PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Wed 16 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Carol Cross. Join this webinar to participate in a "live" discussion of P2PU "Psychology of Math Learning" class.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132595

DISEÑO DE ENTORNOS PERSONALES DE APRENDIZAJE (PLE), REDES PERSONALES DE APRENDIZAJE (PLN) Y ENTORNOS (Aula 2.0)
Tue 15 Feb 09:00PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Wed 16 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. El diseño de los PLE, PLN y PDE responde a la manera de cómo la gente utiliza la tecnología para conectar sus propias de redes de aprendizaje. Los tres entornos permiten a las personas confirmar por sí mismas sus contornos de aprendizaje para establecer y unir comunidades orientadas a la creación, consumo, producción, distribución y remezcla de artefactos útiles para la sociedad. De lo que se trata es de establever nuevos vínculos sociales en los que se comparte información actualizada, nuevos conocimientos, recursos innovadores y herramientas tecnológicas emergentes".
http://www.learncentral.org/event/138332

SUSTAINABILITY STUDIO GUEST SPEAKER (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 16 Feb 12:00PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 05:00PM GMT / Thu 17 Feb 04:00AM Sydney
C. Geith. Join this webinar to participate in a collaborative discussion.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/133446

MEASURING LEARNING'S IMPACT ON THE BUSINESS (Elluminate Live)
Wed 16 Feb 01:00PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 06:00PM GMT / Thu 17 Feb 05:00AM Sydney
Jeffrey Berk. This session will highlight six approaches that practitioners can use to measure learning's impact on the business. The approaches range from the use of ‘smart sheet' evaluations to glean reasonable indicators of learning's link to business results to a highly statistical causal model that creates an optimization roadmap of the correct inputs that drive results oriented outputs. In between we will explore the use of benchmarking, conditional questions, consultative templates and correlation analysis to reasonably yet credibly show how learning influences a business or behavioral outcome. In addition we will underscore the session with the use of concepts like Six Sigma applied to L&D to optimize performance and minimize defects.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/134852

GET EVERYBODY ELSE TO DO IT: ENTERPRISE PROJECT MANAGEMENT (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 16 Feb 01:30PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 06:30PM GMT / Thu 17 Feb 05:30AM Sydney
Lou Russell. You've been working hard on your own project management competence, but you are constantly stymied by all the other bozos who aren't working on theirs. Learn ways to grow PM in your organization so you get the help you need to get more done with less chaos.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/130254

ISSUES CONCERNING EVOLUTION TEACHING: PCK (PART IV) (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 16 Feb 02:30PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 07:30PM GMT / Thu 17 Feb 06:30AM Sydney
Panagiotis Stasinakis. With Greek secondary education teachers, we are going to talk about evolution teaching, didactics issues concerning this problematic subject for many science teachers. The webinar will be held in Greek language.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/137426

RSS/CLASSROOM MONITORING PORTAL (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 16 Feb 06:30PM New York / Wed 16 Feb 11:30PM GMT / Thu 17 Feb 10:30AM Sydney
Kim Caise. Join Flat Classroom and Digiteen project teachers as we explore using RSS feeds and Netvibes to monitor student activity on FCP projects.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/138805

P2PU COURSE - CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 16 Feb 07:30PM New York / Thu 17 Feb 12:30AM GMT / Thu 17 Feb 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join this webinar to learn about the fast-paced, highly interactive online course introduces curriculum development ideas of the last decade, concepts from the near future, and tried-and-true classics through participation in educator communities
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131364

THE KNOWLEDGE SHARING PLACE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 17 Feb 07:00PM New York / Fri 18 Feb 12:00AM GMT / Fri 18 Feb 11:00AM Sydney
Dean Mantz. Join Tina and Barbara of LiveBinders along with Dean Mantz as they visit with educators about 21st Century learning issues. This month we visit with Toby Price, Assistant Principal of Richland Upper Elementary School in Richland, MS. Toby will be talking about "21st Century Educational Leadership".
http://www.learncentral.org/event/136777

KEVIN KELLY ON WHAT TECHNOLOGY WANTS (Future of Education Series)
Thu 17 Feb 08:00PM New York / Fri 18 Feb 01:00AM GMT / Fri 18 Feb 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon will interview Kevin Kelly on his book What Technology Wants.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/136782

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 13 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 17 Feb 08:30PM New York / Fri 18 Feb 01:30AM GMT / Fri 18 Feb 12:30PM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 13 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100317

REACHING ALL LEARNERS: AT TIPS AND TRICKS THAT WORK (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 19 Feb 12:00PM New York / Sat 19 Feb 05:00PM GMT / Sun 20 Feb 04:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Karen Janowski will share instructional strategies and resources for use in he classroom that ensure all students are successful.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/138614

LEARN TO BE - ONLINE LEADERSHIP EXCHANGE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 19 Feb 03:00PM New York / Sat 19 Feb 08:00PM GMT / Sun 20 Feb 07:00AM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. Learn To Be is a non-profit that provides free online tutoring to children in underserved communities. The Online Leadership Exchange is a meeting open to the public where leaders from the various University Chapters come together to share updates and discuss best practices. More information about Learn To Be is available at http://www.learntobe.org
http://www.learncentral.org/event/137320
Post a Comment