Monday, November 29, 2010

Week of November 29, 2010 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

EPORTFOLIOS COMMUNITY OF PRACTICE: THE TRIALS 2010 (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Mon 29 Nov 08:30PM New York / Tue 29 Nov 01:30AM GMT / Tue 29 Nov 11:30AM Sydney
Coach Carole. Data and results will be shared from the 2010 Eportfolio Implementation Trials.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/115865

THE FOUR COMPONENTS OF A LEADING EDGE LEARNING ENVIRONMENT: AUTHOR, DELIVER AND TRACK, REINFORCE, AND SOCIAL LEARNING (ELLUMINATE LIVE)
Tue 30 Nov 01:00PM New York / Tue 30 Nov 06:00PM GMT / Wed 30 Dec 04:00AM Sydney
Matthew Lloyd. This session will explore the key building blocks of a holistic and contemporary organizational learning environment. The role played by each component will be examined along with the various approaches that can be adopted depending on the unique context of your organization.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/116003

CONCERNS ABOUT STUDENT’S ASSESSMENT. PART C (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Tue 30 Nov 02:30PM New York / Tue 30 Nov 07:30PM GMT / Wed 30 Dec 05:30AM Sydney
Manos Alisavakis. Starting from the practices and personal views about the planning of an exam, we will try to make: i) a reflection via the personal views of other peers, ii) a presentation of the fundamental and problems of assessment, iii) a conversation about the criticism and the side-effects that have been found from the research. We will try to clear up the misunderstandings about the procedure and the role of student’s assessment. The protection from side - effects will be the webinar’s conclusion. Webinar will be held in Greek language.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122464

WEB TOOLS AND SOCIAL MEDIA FOR ORGANISATIONS (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Tue 30 Nov 06:00PM New York / Tue 30 Nov 11:00PM GMT / Wed 30 Dec 09:00AM Sydney
Rhys Moult. This session will involve an online presentation from Jane Bozarth, an international expert on use of web tools and social media for organisational improvement from North Carolina, USA with following Q&A.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/110578

INTERVIEW WITH PHILIP SCHLECHTY (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Tue 30 Nov 08:00PM New York / Wed 30 Dec 01:00AM GMT / Wed 30 Dec 11:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve will interview Phillip Schlechty on his book, Leading for Learning: How to Transform Schools into Learning Organizations.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/122522

A DIGITAL TOOLBOX FOR THE 21ST CENTURY LEARNER (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Wed 1 Dec 04:00AM New York / Wed 1 Dec 09:00AM GMT / Wed 1 Dec 07:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Britt Gow an innovative science teacher at Hawkesdale P12 College. Britt has expertly incorporated online tools into her classroom using her blog effectively as the communication platform. In this presentation, Britt will speak on her adaptation of the revised Bloom’s taxonomy for the 21st century classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122505

DIGITAL TEXT, AT (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Wed 1 Dec 08:00PM New York / Thu 1 Dec 01:00AM GMT / Thu 1 Dec 11:00AM Sydney
Jenifer Gossman. Join Beth Poss and Chris Bugji as they explore how library media specialists can enhance the learning of all students by infusing Universal Design for Learning principles in their practice. They will highlight the use of digital text and other assistive technologies.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/112951

SEARCH IT, FIND IT, SHARE IT: BETTER WEB RESEARCH-PART 3 (AzTEA 2.0 PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT)
Wed 1 Dec 09:00PM New York / Thu 1 Dec 02:00AM GMT / Thu 1 Dec 12:00PM Sydney
Peggy George. Join yolink evangelist Anne Kimbrel to discover ways to promote search literacy in your classroom. During this 3-webinar series you will come away with practical applications from teachers actually implementing and using these tools in their classrooms. With 2 weeks between each workshop you will have an opportunity to try the tools with your students and come back to share your successes and questions.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/116298/

VIRTUAL HOLIDAY PARTY: GAMES, PUZZLES AND FUN! (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Thu 2 Dec 01:00PM New York / Thu 2 Dec 06:00PM GMT / Fri 2 Dec 04:00AM Sydney
Lou Russell. Join us for a purely fun celebration. We will play games, share gifts, solve puzzles and have a virtual celebration of the end of 2010! You deserve a celebration because you will have had an amazing year!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/64521

SMARTPHONES, HANDHELDS, AND APPS—ORCHESTRATING PRODUCTIVITY/LEARNING (ADMIN 2.0)
Thu 2 Dec 07:00PM New York / Fri 2 Dec 12:00AM GMT / Fri 2 Dec 10:00AM Sydney
Jason Borgen. As access to mobile devices like smart phones and wifi-capable handhelds has increased, the number of applications or ‘apps,’ programs written to run on one or more of these devices, has grown at an even faster rate. The rapid development of apps for all ages, from adults to preschoolers, is encouraging educators to reconsider ways smart phones and other mobile devices can be used to support teaching and learning. Attend this Webinar to learn about basic considerations when allowing mobile technologies on campus and to explore apps that will help you be a more productive administrator and that teachers can use to support student learning.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/107358

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 6 (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Thu 2 Dec 08:30PM New York / Fri 2 Dec 01:30AM GMT / Fri 2 Dec 11:30AM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 6 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100304

THE BOOK WHISPERER (CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 4 Dec 12:00PM New York / Sat 4 Dec 05:00PM GMT / Sun 4 Dec 03:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Donalyn Miller, known as the 'Book Whisperer', will share strategies she uses to integrate technology and foster the love of reading with her students.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/121728

APGS: TRANSFORMING THE SPIRAL OF LIFE (MATH 2.0)
Sat 4 Dec 02:30PM New York / Sat 4 Dec 07:30PM GMT / Sun 4 Dec 05:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join Dani Novak for his presentation of APGS, software for dynamic mathematical art.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/119732
Post a Comment