Monday, December 13, 2010

Week of December 13, 2010 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

"MINI-GEEK FEST" MONTHLY ONLINE CONVERSATION-DECEMBER, 2010 (AZTEA PD)
Mon 13 Dec 10:00PM New York / Tue 13 Dec 03:00AM GMT / Tue 14 Dec 02:00PM Sydney
Peggy George and Kim Thomas. Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don't have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home. Professional Development credit (1 hour) will be available. The show is on the second Monday of each month from 8-9PM (MST-AZ). It's not a presentation or a tutorial, but a conversation--think of it like a "show and tell" where ALL participants can contribute. Shows will be recorded and archived so if you can't participate in the live sessions, you can listen to the recordings later. We look forward to an exciting and interesting conversation! Feel free to share this invitation with your "tech-loving" colleagues.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/118428/

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: END OF YEAR AND CHRISTMAS CELEBRATIONS (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Mon 13 Dec 11:45PM New York / Tue 13 Dec 04:45AM GMT / Tue 14 Dec 03:45PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. As this is the last session for 2010, let’s celebrate with some fun, games and general sharing. There will be presents for all, so wear some party/Christmas headgear and share it using the video cam & microphone. Bring a photo and share Christmas celebrations with those from other cultures. Bring some food for the virtual feast (copyright free images etc) Share your most exciting moment for 2010 Bring any ideas you may have for this last session for 2010.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/124994/

IMPROVE YOUR TRAINING SESSIONS THROUGH IMPROV GAMES (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Tue 14 Dec 01:00PM New York / Tue 14 Dec 06:00PM GMT / Wed 15 Dec 05:00AM Sydney
Tracy Tagliati and Dr. Sivasailam "Thiagi" Thiagarajan. Based on sarcastic slights from corporate types, we have identified three major objections to using improv sessions for training purposes. Using an interactive improv approach, we will explores strategies for reducing and removing these complaints. You learn how to adapt improv games to improve their instructional effectiveness. In this walk-the-talk session, you will explore and plagiarize improv strategies for improving human performance.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122899

ED. RESOURCES (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Tue 14 Dec 03:30PM New York / Tue 14 Dec 08:30PM GMT / Wed 15 Dec 07:30AM Sydney
Andrew Pass. A Discussion of useful educational resources in the 21st Century
http://www.learncentral.org/event/109629

INTRODUCTION TO MYSAKAI: AN ONLINE LEARNING MANAGEMENT TOOL (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Tue 14 Dec 08:00PM New York / Wed 14 Dec 01:00AM GMT / Wed 15 Dec 12:00PM Sydney
Kimberly Lightle. Learn how to set up a basic classroom and use some of the basic tools in rSmart's mySakai, an online learning management tool similar to Blackboard and Moodle.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/123974

INTERVIEW WITH DEBORAH MEIER (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Tue 14 Dec 08:00PM New York / Wed 14 Dec 01:00AM GMT / Wed 15 Dec 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Deborah Meier, education reformer, writer, and activist.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/124181

ET@LKING: A VIRTUAL PARTY AND CELEBRATION (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Wed 15 Dec 04:00AM New York / Wed 15 Dec 09:00AM GMT / Wed 15 Dec 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. As this is the last session for 2010, we will have a party with fun, games, sharing conversations etc. Please bring along some or all of the following and share with us all:- A highlight for the yearA photo (resized) depicting where you live or your cultureYour favourite moments of 2010 – educational/personalA funny moment, a sad moment and a proud momentSomething new you tried this year educationallyFor those who celebrate Christmas, an object to share over the webcam or an image (resized) to place on the whiteboardMost importantly some virtual food (images, photos- copyright free)games or ideas
http://www.learncentral.org/event/124998

2010 EDUBLOG AWARDS LIVE CEREMONY (EDUBLOG AWARDS)
Wed 15 Dec 07:00PM New York / Thu 16 Dec 12:00AM GMT / Thu 16 Dec 11:00AM Sydney
Sue Waters and Steve Hargadon. The awards ceremony will be broadcast live in Elluminate and we’ll hold a special introduction to Elluminate 15 minutes before the awards ceremony is scheduled to begin for those that have never used it before. Those that are announced as winners in each category will be offered a chance to speak – so if you are nominated, you may want to be prepared with a microphone and a few words if you’d like. :)
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125956

FINNODE: IMPLEMENTING THE VIRTUAL SOCIAL LEARNING COMMUNITY (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 16 Dec 11:00AM New York / Thu 16 Dec 04:00PM GMT / Fri 17 Dec 03:00AM Sydney
Maria Pinnear. We are delighted to invite you to a FinNode Social eLearning webinar. During this webinar, school leaders from the US and Finland will discuss how they transferred their successful learning environments in their school to their virtual social learning environments and how it is transforming their already successful school.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125028

INTERVIEW WITH ALFIE KOHN (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Thu 16 Dec 03:00PM New York / Thu 16 Dec 08:00PM GMT / Fri 17 Dec 07:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews education writer Alfie Kohn, author of eleven book, including "The Homework Myth" and "Punished by Rewards."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125470

EDUBLOGS SERENDIPITY/FINE FOCUS - END OF YEAR VIRTUAL PARTY (THE AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Thu 16 Dec 06:00PM New York / Thu 16 Dec 11:00PM GMT / Fri 17 Dec 10:00AM Sydney
Jo Hart. Join us for our final Serendipity/Fine Focus for this year! Its time to party. This week we have a virtual party to celebrate another year of Serendipity/Fine Focus. We invite you to bring along your virtual goodies to share - there will definitely be chocolate! Share your ideas for the future of Serendipity/Fine focus and join us in some virtual games. PS if you have something to share in the New Year we would love you to present a session for us!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122837

THE KNOWLEDGE SHARING PLACE - TIPS & TRICKS (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 16 Dec 07:00PM New York / Fri 16 Dec 12:00AM GMT / Fri 17 Dec 11:00AM Sydney
Dean Mantz. Join Tina Schneider and Barbara Tallent of LiveBinders along with Dean Mantz from Mantz's Mission as they talk tips and tricks for a successful experience using LiveBinders. Come join the fun!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/121445

FEATURED TEACHER - LEE KOLBERT (CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 18 Dec 12:00PM New York / Sat 18 Dec 05:00PM GMT / Sun 19 Dec 04:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Featured teacher, Lee Kolbert will share the ways she uses technology in her classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/125548
Post a Comment