Monday, July 11, 2011

Week of July 11, 2011 - Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate (Formerly Elluminate)

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

ENGLISH COMPANION (EC) NING WEBSTITUTE: READING CLASSIC AND YA LIT WITH STUDENTS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 11 Jul 04:00PM New York / Mon 11 Jul 08:00PM GMT / Tue 12 Jul 06:00AM Sydney
Karen LaBonte. In this Webstitute, we are bringing together accomplished teachers, writers, and scholars to explore the best of each world, as well as areas where they blend to create a rich learning environment. This first session will feature, "Teresa Bunner: Finding Intersections & Creating Overlaps". See the EC Ning (www.englishcompanion.ning.com) website for more information.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/166171

EC NING WEBSTITUTE: READING CLASSIC + YA LIT WITH STUDENTS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 11 Jul 05:00PM New York / Mon 11 Jul 09:00PM GMT / Tue 12 Jul 07:00AM Sydney
Karen LaBonte. This session will feature a panel on Young Author.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163666

EC NING WEBSTITUTE: READING CLASSIC + YA LIT WITH STUDENTS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 11 Jul 06:00PM New York / Mon 11 Jul 10:00PM GMT / Tue 12 Jul 08:00AM Sydney
Karen LaBonte. This webinar will feature, "Reading Bytes: Reconsidering what it means to read literary & informational texts in online & blended environment."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163667

"MINI-GEEK FEST" MONTHLY ONLINE CONVERSATION JULY, 2011 (AzTEA-PD)
Mon 11 Jul 09:00PM New York / Tue 12 Jul 01:00AM GMT / Tue 12 Jul 11:00AM Sydney
Peggy George. Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don’t have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. It's not a presentation or a tutorial, but a conversation--think of it like a "show and tell" where ALL participants can contribute. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/166293

EC NING WEBSTITUTE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 12 Jul 06:00PM New York / Tue 12 Jul 10:00PM GMT / Wed 13 Jul 08:00AM Sydney
Karen LaBonte. Join this webinar to debrief and share take-aways from the recent EC Ning Websitute.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/163672

EPIC 2011: DEVELOPING NATIONAL E-PORFOLIO COMMUNITIES OF PRACTICE (Australia Series)
Wed 13 Jul 06:00AM New York / Wed 13 Jul 10:00AM GMT / Wed 13 Jul 08:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. During the 9th International ePortfolio & Identity Conference, 11-13 July 2011, a few presenters will be online to share their experiences in building and sustsaining eportfolio communities of practice in the UK and Australia: Sarah Chesney, Alison Felce and Emma Purcell will present:' A Tribe Learning to Survive? An e-portfolio community of practice'. Allison Miller and Carole McCulloch will present:' Developing a national e-portfolo community of practice to foster emerging e-portfolio practice'. The first part of this session will be beamed out live from The IET, Savoy Place London, UK and the second part will be cofacilitated from South Australia and Victoria. Come and join us to explore the national goals the key outputs from these two exciting projects.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/166023

YOUTH, INTERNET, AFRICA, ADULT LEARNING, JOBS … AND THE LIES (Explore LearnCentral)
Wed 13 Jul 11:00AM New York / Wed 13 Jul 03:00PM GMT / Thu 14 Jul 01:00AM Sydney
Richard Close. This webinar explores the concurrent struggle between industrial methods of education with the inevitable global evolution of how people learn collaboratively via the web. It illustrates the disconnect between colonial objectives for worker bees and WHO’s objectives of Life Skills for personal liberation. It will demonstrate Learning Center methods in U.S. women’s homeless centers, Community Learning Centers in Brooklyn and the struggle of US and African curriculum graduating students in markets without jobs. It challenges us on many levels while providing solutions.We will challenge industrial education, STEM and SCORM with how we learn on the web that is currently making Dewey’s Democracy in Education an evolutionary reality for us all.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/165882

WOLFRAM|ALPHA (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 13 Jul 09:30PM New York / Thu 14 Jul 01:30AM GMT / Thu 14 Jul 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. During the event, Crystal Fantry will answer questions about Wolfram|Alpha project.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/166482

APRENDIZAJE EN RED CON USO DE TIC (ARTIC) - SESIÓN 6 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 14 Jul 08:00PM New York / Fri 15 Jul 12:00AM GMT / Fri 15 Jul 10:00AM Sydney
Diego Leal. Sexta sesión del curso abierto ArTIC (http://artic.pbworks.com)
http://www.learncentral.org/event/166329

#ANYQS (Math 2.0 Series)
Sat 16 Jul 02:00PM New York / Sat 16 Jul 06:00PM GMT / Sun 17 Jul 04:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. During the event, Colin Graham will talk about skillfully evoking perplexing math situations with high-tech tools.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/166519
Post a Comment