Saturday, August 06, 2011

Week of July 25, 2011 - Live and Interactive Webinars in Blackboard Collaborate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (formerly Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

COOL-ABORATE CONVERSATIONS: BLACKBOARD COLLABORATE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 8 Aug 01:00PM New York / Mon 8 Aug 05:00PM GMT / Tue 9 Aug 03:00AM Sydney
Lorrie Moffat. Are you a veteran Elluminate user and are curious about v11? Join us as we talk about features in the Blackboard Collaborate online classroom. The first hour of the session will be about the features most moderators use while the second hour will be about advanced whiteboard features.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/168077

CARIBBEAN ONLINE EDUCATORS CONFERENCE 2011 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 8 Aug 07:00PM New York / Mon 8 Aug 11:00PM GMT / Tue 9 Aug 09:00AM Sydney
LeRoy Hill. The Caribbean Educators Network (CEN) will be hosting a FREE Online Educators Conference (e-conference) from August 8-13th under the theme 'Open For Learning: Using Technology To Move Forward'. The theme captures the notion of openness through the use of technology as a way of advancing learning and professional development. Openness in education addresses the broad themes of access to education, the development of open educational resources and the use of technology promote open educational resources.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/154292

"MINI-GEEK FEST" MONTHLY ONLINE CONVERSATION AUGUST, 2011 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 8 Aug 09:00PM New York / Tue 9 Aug 01:00AM GMT / Tue 9 Aug 11:00AM Sydney
Peggy George. Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don’t have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. . It's not a presentation or a tutorial, but a conversation--think of it like a "show and tell" where ALL participants can contribute. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/168122

EPCOP MOOC WEBINAR (Australia Series)
Mon 8 Aug 09:00PM New York / Tue 9 Aug 01:00AM GMT / Tue 9 Aug 11:00AM Sydney
Coach Carole. In this webinar we will unpack and discuss some of the many ways in which practitioners think about e-portfolios! Are they for lifelong learning? Do I need one for my current courses? Could I use one for Recognition of Prior Learning? We will hear from the MOOCers about their discoveries, their plans for participating in the MOOC and we will find out just what impact e-portfolio learning is having on them so far. Come along and join the MOOCers and listen to what they have to say.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/167789

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: USING TECHNOLOGY TO ENGAGE IN NUMERACY (Australia Series)
Tue 8 Aug 02:00AM New York / Tue 9 Aug 06:00AM GMT / Tue 9 Aug 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirstchin. Learn how edmodo, wikis and web tools are used to engage students from years 5 to 9. Meet Penny Bentley, our presenter, who has been experimenting with the use of web 2.0 tools to engage students in maths and numeracy to improve their learning outcomes. Penny will explain how she uses games for skills practice, audioboo and an ipad app ShowMe for kids to talk about/reflect on what they are doing. Penny has created a wiki for each of her private tutorial students where they embed their work. Her use of Edmodo will also be shared. Please join us and share in the conversations.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/168168


The 2011 Worldwide Virtual Library Conference
November 2 - 3, All Free, All Online in Blackboard Collaborate
Submit to present or to be kept informed at http://www.Library2011.com




BYOL: A GAME CHANGER (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 9 Aug 07:00PM New York / Tue 9 Aug 11:00PM GMT / Wed 10 Aug 09:00AM Sydney
Cary Harrod. What happens to learning when 353 seventh graders walk into class with their own laptop, netbook or tablet? After five months of intensive planning, we launched our BYOL in January 2011, forever changing the story of what it means to teach and learn in our district. Join us for this informative session where administrators, teachers and students from our district will share their personal journey through a BYOL. We'll save some time to hear the stories of other districts who have taken or are thinking of taking the BYOL path and of course we'll leave time for questions from the community. Together, we can re-imagine learning.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/165930

DOUGLAS RUSHKOFF ON PROGRAM OR BE PROGRAMMED (Future of Education Series)
Tue 9 Aug 08:00PM New York / Wed 10 Aug 12:00AM GMT / Wed 10 Aug 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve interviews Douglas Rushkoff returning to talk to us about his new book, Program or Be Programmed: Ten Commands for a Digital Age. We'll talk about the difference between directing technology and being directed by it, and the implications of this in education.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/168281

ET@LKING: SCOOP.IT (Australia Series)
Wed 10 Aug 06:00AM New York / Wed 10 Aug 10:00AM GMT / Wed 10 Aug 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirstchin. Scoop.it allows users to create attractively laid out online magazines. In this session, Nellie Deutsch will discuss the use and potential of Scoop.it in education. Learn how to create a scoopit and why it is an increasingly popular topic centred media.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/168252

ACTION RESEARCH IN EDUCATION (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 10 Aug 09:30PM New York / Thu 11 Aug 01:30AM GMT / Thu 11 Aug 11:30AM Sydney
Hery The. Topics covered in this presentation are: 1) What is action research? 2) How do teachers implement the action research? 3) What are the benefit of doing an action research?
http://www.learncentral.org/event/167412

RESPONDING TO STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES ON YOUR CAMPUS: LEGAL ISSUES AND PRACTICAL CONSIDERATIONS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 11 Aug 01:00PM New York / Thu 11 Aug 05:00PM GMT / Fri 12 Aug 03:00AM Sydney
Jana Colter. This webinar will provide an overview of the ADA and Section 504 and the still uncertain impact of the ADA Amendments Act of 2008. Everyone knows the law, but the devil is in the details regarding institutional obligations to meet the needs of student with physical and/or psychological disabilities on your campus.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/167392

ALAN BLANKSTEIN ON IMPROVING INDIVIDUAL SCHOOLS (Future of Education Series)
Thu 11 Aug 08:00PM New York / Fri 12 Aug 12:00AM GMT / Fri 12 Aug 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve interviews Alan Blankstein on his latest book, The Answer Is in the Room: How Effective Schools Scale Up Student Success. Citing wisdom from top educational experts and building on what is already working, Blankstein offers tools for finding excellence in schools, scaling these practices across learning communities, and transforming low-performing schools into high-performing schools.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/168282

CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 13 Aug 12:00PM New York / Sat 13 Aug 04:00PM GMT / Sun 14 Aug 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Join this webinar to talk about technology tools and resources used in the classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/168280
Post a Comment