Saturday, February 05, 2011

Week of February 7th, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

SCOPE AND SEQUENCE IN ANVILL (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 7 Feb 07:00PM New York / Tue 8 Feb 12:00AM GMT / Tue 8 Feb 11:00AM Sydney
Jeff Magoto. Join ANVILL Project Coordinator Jeff Magoto for a lively discussion of ANILL's newest tools for setting up and managing language lessons (and courses). This webinar will focus on best practices for adding and recording media, managing materials, and creating interactive tasks. It should be of benefit to both new and experienced ANVILL users.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/135269

PARENTS AS PARTNERS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 7 Feb 09:00PM New York / Tue 8 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Tue 8 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Lorna Costantini. Cale Birk, Principal of South Kamloops HS on working with parents will be sharing how his school and staff work with parents while preparing school improvement plans and communicating school happenings.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/133241

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: BUILDING A DIGITAL CLASSROOM (Australia Series)
Mon 7 Feb 11:00PM New York / Tue 8 Feb 04:00AM GMT / Tue 8 Feb 03:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Come along and join in our first Tech Talk Tuesday in 2011. (Please note the later starting time.) This will be a general sharing of conversations and discussions amongst participants about: Goals for 2011: What is a digital classroom? What are the basic hardware essentials of a digital classroom? What are the best web2.0 tools to use? What online/global projects are there to participate in? How do we find connections?, etc
http://www.learncentral.org/event/136773

ISSUES CONCERNING EVOLUTION TEACHING: DIDACTICS (PART III) (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 8 Feb 02:00PM New York / Tue 8 Feb 07:00PM GMT / Wed 9 Feb 06:00AM Sydney
Panagiotis Stasinakis. With Greek secondary education teachers, we are going to talk about evolution teaching, didactics issues concerning this problematic subject for many science teachers. The webinar will be held in Greek language.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/135824

PSYCHOLOGY OF MATH LEARNING (Math 2.0 Series)
Tue 8 Feb 09:00PM New York / Wed 9 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Wed 9 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Carol Cross. Join this "live" discusion of P2PU "Psychology of Math Learning" class.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132594

EDUCAR: UNA OPORTUNIDAD DE AMAR, CRECER Y TRASCENDER (Aula 2.0)
Tue 8 Feb 09:00PM New York / Wed 9 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Wed 9 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. La educación es una excelente oportunidad de desarrollo humano, convivencia, creatividad y encuentro de sentido. A través del ejercicio de su vocación, el educador entra en contacto con aquellos aspectos internos que le permiten observarse, conocerse y trascenderse, encontrando la fuerza y las condiciones apropiadas para que aflore lo mejor de sí mismo, sintiéndose pleno y realizado a través de su maravillosa tarea. ¿Qué aspectos favorecen y/o sabotean esta maravillosa posibilidad?
http://www.learncentral.org/event/136538/

SUSTAINABILITY STUDIO GUEST SPEAKER (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 9 Feb 12:00PM New York / Wed 9 Feb 05:00PM GMT / Thu 10 Feb 04:00AM Sydney
C Geith. Sustainability Studio Guest Speaker
ww.learncentral.org/event/133478

SID THE SCIENCE KID EWEEK (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 9 Feb 03:00PM New York / Wed 9 Feb 08:00PM GMT / Thu 10 Feb 07:00AM Sydney
Maura Thompson. Please join us for a Sid the Science Kid EWEEK webinar. This is the first year Sid will be participating in EWEEK and we've got lots of exciting resources to share to make your EWEEK events "Super Duper Ooper Schmooper" fun for families with young children!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132281

FLAT CLASSROOM PRESENTS: GOOGLE DOCS BOOTCAMP (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 9 Feb 03:30PM New York / Wed 9 Feb 08:30PM GMT / Thu 10 Feb 07:30AM Sydney
Julie Lindsay. Julie Lindsay, co-founder of the Flat Classroom(tm) Project, will present an overview of using Google docs to collaborate in global projects.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/136953

MSP2 ONLINE BOOK CLUB DISCUSSION: FINDING MRS. WARNECKE (Middle School Portal 2: Math & Science )
Wed 9 Feb 07:00PM New York / Thu 10 Feb 12:00AM GMT / Thu 10 Feb 11:00AM Sydney
Kimberly Lightle. Join us online to discuss Finding Mrs. Warnecke: The Difference Teachers Make.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/126210

P2PU COURSE - CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 9 Feb 07:30PM New York / Thu 10 Feb 12:30AM GMT / Thu 10 Feb 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join this webinar for a discussion about this fast-paced, highly interactive online course introduces curriculum development ideas of the last decade, concepts from the near future, and tried-and-true classics through participation in educator communities.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131363

FLAT CLASSROOM PRESENTS: USING NINGS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 10 Feb 09:00AM New York / Thu 10 Feb 02:00PM GMT / Fri 11 Feb 01:00AM Sydney
Julie Lindsay. Julie Lindsay, co-founder of the Flat Classroom(tm) Project, will present an overview of using Nings in global projects.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/136954

READING COMPREHENSION 2.0 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 10 Feb 04:00PM New York / Thu 10 Feb 09:00PM GMT / Fri 11 Feb 08:00AM Sydney
Kimberly Lightle. Science and literacy instruction in the elementary grades is the focus of a new series of web seminars for the 2010-2011 school year. The series is sponsored by Beyond Penguins and Polar Bears, an NSF-funded project that provides professional development and instructional resources to elementary teachers.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/89909

USING ELLUMINATE BOOT CAMP (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 10 Feb 07:00PM New York / Fri 11 Feb 12:00AM GMT / Fri 11 Feb 11:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise. Join Kim Caise, Flat Classroom(tm) Project Administrator, will provide an overview of Elluminate, moderator training and student summit preparation in this one hour session. Come with questions to ask. Very informal.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/136951

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 12 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 10 Feb 08:30PM New York / Fri 11 Feb 01:30AM GMT / Fri 11 Feb 12:30PM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 12 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100316

COMMUNITY CONNECT (Australia Series)
Thu 10 Feb 11:00PM New York / Fri 11 Feb 04:00AM GMT / Fri 11 Feb 03:00PM Sydney
Junita Lyon. This workshop by Community Connect will highlight Photo story 3 and how it can be used in the classroom. We will also discuss other forms of Digital Story Telling.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/136776

WAYNE MACKINTOSH ON AN OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES UNIVERSITY (Future of Education Series)
Fri 11 Feb 02:00PM New York / Fri 11 Feb 07:00PM GMT / Sat 12 Feb 06:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Wayne Mackintosh about WikiEducator and the formation of an OER University.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/137089/Wayne+Mackintosh+on+an+Open+Educational+Resources+University

CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 12 Feb 12:00PM New York / Sat 12 Feb 05:00PM GMT / Sun 13 Feb 04:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Bill Ferriter will present "Teaching the iGeneration".
http://www.learncentral.org/node/136778

HIGH TECH HIGH -- COLLEGIAL CONVERSATIONS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 12 Feb 03:00PM New York / Sat 12 Feb 08:00PM GMT / Sun 13 Feb 07:00AM Sydney
Ben Daley. Educators gather virtually to discuss student work and educator dilemmas.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125298
Post a Comment