Monday, January 17, 2011

Week of January 17, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

PARENTS AS PARTNERS (PARENTS AS PARTNERS)
Mon 17 Jan 09:00PM New York / Tue 18 Jan 02:00AM GMT / Tue 18 Jan 01:00PM Sydney
Lorna Costantini. Dr. Debbie Pushor from the University of Saskatchewan is an Associate Professor in the Department of Curriculum Studies in the College of Education. Dr. Pushsor's doctoral work has focused on parent engagement and parent leadership.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/128922

INTERVIEW WITH WILL RICHARDSON (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Tue 18 Jan 08:00PM New York / Wed 19 Jan 01:00AM GMT / Wed 19 Jan 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Will Richardson on education, technology, and the impact of Web 2.0 on teaching and learning.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/127862/

SABERES 2.0 - REDES SOCIALES EN EL ENTORNO DE LA SALA DE CLASE (AULA 2.0)
Tue 18 Jan 09:00PM New York / Wed 19 Jan 02:00AM GMT / Wed 19 Jan 01:00PM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. La educación siempre ha sido una red social.Enseñamos y aprendemos en red, greagariamente. Educar, simple y llanamente esinteraccionar, dialogar (La Mayéutica). Creamos interaccionado (intercreatividad), aprendemos colaborando (intercolaboración). Todo aprendizaje es tiempo de apertura.....
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131087

PRIMARY SOURCE GLOBAL READ (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Wed 19 Jan 03:00PM New York / Wed 19 Jan 08:00PM GMT / Thu 20 Jan 07:00AM Sydney
Maggie Kaiser. Primary Source is proud to announce a unique global reading opportunity. Responding to requests from educators, Primary Source will facilitate a FREE worldwide book discussion, or "Global Read," featuring an online discussion forum followed by a "live" web-based session. You are invited to join us for a discussion of the young adult novel, Bamboo People, by Mitali Perkins — a compelling coming-of-age story about child soldiers in modern Burma. The online discussion forum will begin on Wednesday, January 12th. Then join the author for a live chat on January 19th.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/126611

INTERVIEW WITH YONG ZHOU (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Wed 19 Jan 08:00PM New York / Thu 20 Jan 01:00AM GMT / Thu 20 Jan 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Yong Zhao on the Chinese education system, test scores, and "Tiger Moms."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131508/Interview+with+Yong+Zhao

NOW'S THE TIME TO BECOME A POWERPOINT ROCK STAR! (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Thu 20 Jan 01:00PM New York / Thu 20 Jan 06:00PM GMT / Fri 21 Jan 05:00AM Sydney
Tom Kuhlmann. Want to know what’s new in PowerPoint 2010? Then check out these tips and tricks from Tom Kuhlmann, author of the Rapid E-Learning Blog. Tom will show off some of the new features that make PowerPoint 2010 one of the best and most versatile software applications out there. Whether you build presentations, develop elearning, or use PowerPoint to create graphics, you’re sure to benefit from this boatload of practical tips and tricks.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/127858

BUILDING COMMUNITY AT A DISTANCE: FACULTY DEVELOPMENT, PEER REVIEW, AND COLLABORATION TECHNOLOGY (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 20 Jan 01:30PM New York / Thu 20 Jan 06:30PM GMT / Fri 21 Jan 05:30AM Sydney
Gailene Nelson. In this session, as a result of their faculty development experience utilizing Wimba Pronto and Wimba Classroom, the presenters will share many of the benefits of a virtual, technologically mediated approach to peer-review, including: a sharpened focus on best practices in course design, faculty training on the use of Wimba collaboration tools and development of community among interdisciplinary faculty teaching at a distance who might never meet face-to-face.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/128735

VSTE WEBINAR (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 20 Jan 07:00PM New York / Fri 21 Jan 12:00AM GMT / Fri 21 Jan 11:00AM Sydney
VSTE. VSTE will host another webinar for educators.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/98358

INTERVIEW WITH BARNETT BARRY (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Thu 20 Jan 08:00PM New York / Fri 21 Jan 01:00AM GMT / Fri 21 Jan 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Barnett Berry on the new book Teaching 2030: What We Must Do for Our Students and Our Public Schools
http://www.learncentral.org/event/127863

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 9 (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 20 Jan 08:30PM New York / Fri 21 Jan 01:30AM GMT / Fri 21 Jan 12:30PM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 9 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100312

BOOTSTRAP WORLD (MATH 2.0)
Sat 22 Jan 02:00PM New York / Sat 22 Jan 07:00PM GMT / Sun 23 Jan 06:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Emmanuel Schanzer will present this webinar about Bootstrap [http://www.bootstrapworld.org], an algebra-focused curriculum, which introduces students to functional programming by having them program their own videogames in a web-based IDE [http://www.wescheme.org]. The curriculum, freely available since 2006, currently reaches hundreds of at-risk middle school students around the country.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131102
Post a Comment