Friday, December 03, 2010

Week of December 6, 2010 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

PARENTS AS PARTNERS (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Mon 6 Dec 09:00PM New York / Tue 6 Dec 02:00AM GMT / Tue 6 Dec 12:00PM Sydney
Lorna Costantini. Amanda Henson from Parentella will be joining us to share how they connect teachers and parents using their free software application.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122519/

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: IPADS - QUESTIONS, APPS, RESOURCES & DISCUSSION (AUSTRALIA SERIES)
Mon 6 Dec 11:45PM New York / Tue 6 Dec 04:45AM GMT / Tue 6 Dec 02:45PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. What do you know about the iPad? What would you like to know? Why are you interested in using the iPad in your classroom? Is it the right piece of technology for you? This session is more of a conversation than a presentation and will cover these and more questions as well as a few iPad (and iPod Touch) apps that you might like to explore. So come along ready to ask, answer and share as well as pick up some ideas and resources along the way.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/123491

THE NEW BLENDED LEARNING (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Tue 7 Dec 01:00PM New York / Tue 7 Dec 06:00PM GMT / Wed 7 Dec 04:00AM Sydney
David Wilkins. Blended learning has become an accepted practice in the learning space. Blended today means some combination of online learning, classroom experiences, and on-the-job mentoring. It’s benefits and impacts are well-known and well-researched. But what if we’re not really blending the right stuff? What if the gains we’ve seen to date are just the tip of the iceberg? Today’s blended learning is a cocktail of ice, water, and seltzer water – all variations on a theme, the theme of top-down learning. We’re blending delivery models, but not the learning paradigm. The new blended learning mixes formal learning with collaborative and social learning, internal learning with training for the extended enterprise. In this session, we’re going to discussion what the new blending looks like, how it differs from the old, and why you should consider adding it to your mix. We’ll talk about when and how to blend social into your formal learning mix, and how to get started. Join us for this interactive webinar.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122902

ED. RESOURCES (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Tue 7 Dec 03:30PM New York / Tue 7 Dec 08:30PM GMT / Wed 7 Dec 06:30AM Sydney
Andrew Pass. A discussion of useful educational resources in the 21st Century.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/109621

MSP2 ONLINE BOOK CLUB DISCUSSION - UNSCIENTIFIC AMERICA (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR )
Tue 7 Dec 07:00PM New York / Wed 7 Dec 12:00AM GMT / Wed 7 Dec 10:00AM Sydney
Kimberly Lightle. In Unscientific America journalist and author Chris Mooney teams up with scientist Sheril Kirshenbaum to explain how religious ideologues, science-phobic politicians, a profit driven media, and hyper-specialized scientists have all helped create this dangerous state of affairs. They propose a broad array of initiatives to reverse the current trend, and bring about a greater integration of science into our national discourse—before it's too late.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/112625

INTERVIEW WITH KIERAN EGAN (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Tue 7 Dec 08:00PM New York / Wed 7 Dec 01:00AM GMT / Wed 7 Dec 11:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Kieran Egan, director of the Imaginative Education Research Group. Dr. Egan's work focuses on a new educational theory and its implications for a changed curriculum, teaching practices, and the institution of the school. He is the author of over 20 books, including most recently The Future of Education: Reimagining Our Schools from the Ground Up, and Learning in Depth (coming 2011).
http://www.learncentral.org/node/124183

CAPTURING THE D N A: A PRACTICAL APPROACH TO KEEPING LEADERSHIP ALIVE ACROSS THE GENERATIONS (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Wed 8 Dec 01:00PM New York / Wed 8 Dec 06:00PM GMT / Thu 8 Dec 04:00AM Sydney
Gabriella Salvatore. Is a generation of leadership knowledge moving to Florida in 2014? How should we accommodate the changing face of our workforce as the Boomers retire? Capturing a generation’s knowledge (tacit and otherwise)—keeping what’s relevant for current business and sifting through that which no longer resonates—is THE leadership development charge and challenge of the day. In this complimentary webinar, learning strategist, Gabriella Salvatore, will talk about leadership development process and content, sharing data from a proprietary industry study she has been conducting that focuses on the learning needs of the next generation as well as the most practical and innovative methods for meeting them.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122896/

CONCERNS ABOUT STUDENT'S ASSESSMENT. PART D (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Wed 8 Dec 02:00PM New York / Wed 8 Dec 07:00PM GMT / Thu 8 Dec 05:00AM Sydney
George Panagiotakopoulos. Starting from the practices and personal views about the planning of an exam, we will try to make: i) a reflection via the personal views of other peers, ii) a presentation of the fundamental and problems of assessment, iii) a conversation about the criticism and the side-effects that have been found from the research. We will try to clear up the misunderstandings about the procedure and the role of student’s assessment. The protection from side - effects will be the webinar’s conclusion. Webinar will be held in Greek language.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/124019/

MOBILE TECHNOLOGIES AND MOODLE Q&A (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Wed 8 Dec 03:30PM New York / Wed 8 Dec 08:30PM GMT / Thu 8 Dec 06:30AM Sydney
Laura Mikowychok. Are you interested in developing mobile apps or having your students develop mobile apps in the classroom? If so, then this presentation is for you! During this presentation we will discuss cases of m obile learning use and demonstrate how to develop mobile apps using Google’s easy-to-use App Inventor tool. This free tool requires no programming and allows you to publish real mobile apps. Dr. Ray Pastore, Assistant Professor of Instructional Technology at Watson School of Education, University of North Carolina Wilmington (UNCW) will discuss Mobile Learning: How to use and develop mobile apps for the classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/123294

ANVILL'S LESSON TOOLS (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Wed 8 Dec 07:00PM New York / Thu 8 Dec 12:00AM GMT / Thu 8 Dec 10:00AM Sydney
Jeff Magoto. Authoring content -- making materials -- online or off is a challenge. Hopefully ANVILL's tools have made designing lessons around speaking activities considerably easier. Let's examine and discuss. some of the possibilities Tcasting, Voiceboards and others open up for language teachers who are trying to incorporate more task-based speaking in their courses
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122794

BUILDING CAMPUS COMMUNITY AND CONDUCTING STAFF TRAINING INSTANTLY WITH PRONTO (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 9 Dec 12:00PM New York / Thu 9 Dec 05:00PM GMT / Fri 9 Dec 03:00AM Sydney
Gailene Nelson. Learn how two schools have used Wimba Pronto for years to instantly connect classmates, IT departments, and staff
http://www.learncentral.org/event/123654

DO-IT-YOURSELF ELEARNING WITH FREE AND INSTANT DELIVERY TOOLS (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Thu 9 Dec 01:00PM New York / Thu 9 Dec 06:00PM GMT / Fri 9 Dec 04:00AM Sydney
Ray Jimenez. How do you drastically cut cost and immediately roll-out eLearning? Do-it-yourself. Whether you are a lone and single do-it-all eLearning department or part of the large development team, the skills of the do-it-yourself eLearning producer are of increasingly high value. Many eLearning initiatives have to be done and delivered now and you are expected to respond. In this webinar, you will learn quick and dirty - but effective - eLearning approaches. You will learn a simplified design and low costs solutions.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/122898/

CITIZEN SCIENCE AND INQUIRY (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINAR)
Thu 9 Dec 04:00PM New York / Thu 9 Dec 09:00PM GMT / Fri 9 Dec 07:00AM Sydney
Kimberly Lightle. The presenter will share how teachers and students can get involved with bird-related citizen-science projects and authentic outdoor inquiry!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/89906

INTERVIEW WITH JULIE YOUNG (FUTURE OF EDUCATION)
Thu 9 Dec 08:00PM New York / Fri 9 Dec 01:00AM GMT / Fri 9 Dec 11:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon will interview Julie Young, President and Chief Executive Officer of Florida Virtual School. In 1997, Julie Young pioneered the launch of Florida Virtual School with the goal of providing high quality, online courses to students throughout the State of Florida. That vision has resulted in Florida Virtual School’s becoming the largest provider of Internet-based courseware and instruction for middle and high school students in Florida and around the globe.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/124184

FEATURED TEACHER - LEE KOLBERT (CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 11 Dec 12:00PM New York / Sat 11 Dec 05:00PM GMT / Sun 11 Dec 03:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Featured teacher, Lee Kolbert will share the ways she uses technology in her classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/124178
Post a Comment