Monday, November 15, 2010

Week of November 15, 2010 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

SEARCH IT, FIND IT, SHARE IT: BETTER WEB RESEARCH-PART 2 (AZTEA)
Mon 15 Nov 10:00PM New York / Tue 15 Nov 03:00AM GMT / Tue 15 Nov 01:00PM Sydney
Peggy George and Kim Thomas. Join yolink evangelist Anne Kimbrel to discover ways to promote search literacy in your classroom. During this 3-webinar series you will come away with practical applications from teachers actually implementing and using these tools in their classrooms. With 2 weeks between each workshop you will have an opportunity to try the tools with your students and come back to share your successes and questions.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/116295

CONCERNS ABOUT STUDENT’S ASSESSMENT (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Tue 16 Nov 01:00PM New York / Tue 16 Nov 06:00PM GMT / Wed 16 Nov 04:00AM Sydney
Manos Alisavakis. Starting from the practices and personal views about the planning of an exam, we will try to make: i) a reflection via the personal views of other peers, ii) a presentation of the fundamental and problems of assessment, iii) a conversation about the criticism and the side-effects that have been found from the research. We will try to clear up the misunderstandings about the procedure and the role of student’s assessment. The protection from side - effects will be the webinar’s conclusion.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/118303

LEARNING IN TODAY'S WORLD: BLENDING THE BEST OF FORMAL, INFORMAL AND SOCIAL APPROACHES- LESSONS FROM (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Tue 16 Nov 02:00PM New York / Tue 16 Nov 07:00PM GMT / Wed 16 Nov 05:00AM Sydney
Lance Dublin. The buzz about informal, formally-informal and social learning continues to grow in intensity. Organizations know they need to jump onto this bandwagon, but they wonder both are these approaches valid and how can I ensure I’m successful. Formal learning is well established and is well understood. But nformal learning while seemingly obvious appears too broad, formally-informal seems too ill-defined and the definition of social learning is still evolving. Come and join me in this webinar series to learn how to blend these new learning approaches in news ways to extend, enable and enhance learning to meet the needs to today’s world.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/116000

JAMES TANTON'S INTERVIEW BY SUE VANHATTUM (MATH 2.0 WEEKLY)
Wed 17 Nov 09:30PM New York / Thu 17 Nov 02:30AM GMT / Thu 17 Nov 12:30PM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. James Tanton will talk about "Math Without Words" and his other Thinking Mathematics books and projects
http://www.learncentral.org/node/119730

SOCIAL EMOTIONAL ISSUES IN GIFTED CHILDREN (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Thu 18 Nov 02:00PM New York / Thu 18 Nov 07:00PM GMT / Fri 18 Nov 05:00AM Sydney
Margaret Keane. This webinar examines the social emotional needs of gifted children and suggest strategies for their support.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/101859

SOCIAL AND EMOTIONAL LEARNING (EDUTOPIA AND WINGS FOR KIDS) (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Thu 18 Nov 06:00PM New York / Thu 18 Nov 11:00PM GMT / Fri 18 Nov 09:00AM Sydney
Betty Ray. Edutopia and WINGS for Kids present this live chat on integrating social and emotional learning into your school or classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/119066

VSTE WEBINAR: ADINA POPA (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Thu 18 Nov 07:00PM New York / Fri 18 Nov 12:00AM GMT / Fri 18 Nov 10:00AM Sydney
Virginia Society for Technology in Education. This webinar will discuss VSTE.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/98354

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 5 (HOST YOUR OWN WEBINARS)
Thu 18 Nov 08:30PM New York / Fri 18 Nov 01:30AM GMT / Fri 18 Nov 11:30AM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 5 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100302

USANDO ELLUMINATE PARA PARTICIPANTES DE HABLA HISPANA (AULA 2.0)
Thu 18 Nov 10:00PM New York / Fri 18 Nov 03:00AM GMT / Fri 18 Nov 01:00PM Sydney
Rodolfo Calderon Vivar. Será una sesión de una hora, con media hora de presentación de herramientas de Elluminate y media hora de interacción con los participantes
http://www.learncentral.org/event/117373

MINIMAL MENTORING FOR MAXIMUM GROWTH (ELLUMINATE LIVE EVENTS)
Fri 19 Nov 01:00PM New York / Fri 19 Nov 06:00PM GMT / Sat 19 Nov 04:00AM Sydney
Lou Russell. As businesses do more with less, growing staff has taken a back seat. Mentoring is an important strategy for growing future leaders, but many companies believe that they don’t have time or staff to do it. In this session, learn ideas for scripting minimal mentoring leveraging online assessments and tools to maximize value while minimizing the time commitment.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/116001

CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE - TEACHING GENERATION TEXT (CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 20 Nov 12:00PM New York / Sat 20 Nov 05:00PM GMT / Sun 20 Nov 03:00AM Sydney
Classroom 2.0 LIVE Co-Hosts. Lorna Costantini will share innovative ways to use technology to involve and engage parents into the classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/119573
Post a Comment