Tuesday, March 30, 2010

New Education for a Digital World Event Series

The "Education for a Digital World 2.0" series kicks off Wednesday, March 30th, with two sessions.  This series is a part of the LearnCentral public Webinar program and FutureofEducation.com.  The collaboratively authored book, Education for a Digital World 2.0, and its predecessor Education for a Digital World represent a shift in how educators are sharing their research, experiences and best practices in online teaching and learning.  Join us as we talk with individual authors about their contributions and the global online collaborative writing journey.

Title:  Cultivating Communities of Practice: Analysis of 3 Case Studies Using the 7 Principles
Authors/Presenters:  Sylvia Currie, Patricia Delich, and Paul Stacey
Date: Wednesday, March 31st, 2010
Time: 12:00 pm Pacific Time / 3:00 pm Eastern Time / 7:00pm GMT (international times here)
Description:  "In this session we will describe 3 case studies using Wenger, McDermott, &; Snyder's (2002) 7 Principles for Cultivating Communities of Practice. This framework provides a close look at how our decisions about community design and technologies to support community activities were made and revised, as well as a consistent and rich view to help those involved in online and hybrid communities learn from our experiences."
Location: In Elluminate. Log in at http://tr.im/edw20.  The Elluminate room will be open up to 30 minutes before the event if you want to come in early.  If you haven't used Elluminate before, you can make sure your computer is configured correctly to enter the room by going to http://www.elluminate.com/support
Event Page:  http://www.learncentral.org/event/65701


Title:  Blended Work – Experiences From International Development Projects
Authors/Presenters:  Susan Crichton with Azra Naseem
Date: Wednesday, March 31st, 2010
Time: 12:30 pm Pacific Time / 3:30 pm Eastern Time / 7:30pm GMT (international times here)
Description:  "We know about blended learning but what about blended work? When we use learning tools in academic work place applications, what changes and what are the challenges?  This seminar shares the authors’ experiences from the last fourteen months as we’ve navigated the virtual terrain connecting colleagues in Pakistan East Africa, the UK and Canada.  Trust us, time zones weren’t the biggest challenge!"
Location: In Elluminate. Log in at http://tr.im/edw20b.  The Elluminate room will be open up to 30 minutes before the event if you want to come in early.  If you haven't used Elluminate before, you can make sure your computer is configured correctly to enter the room by going to http://www.elluminate.com/support
Post a Comment