Sunday, May 08, 2011

Week of May 8, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

EFACILITATE: WHERE CAN I LEARN TO BE AN EFACILITATOR? (Australia Series)
Mon 9 May 03:00AM New York / Mon 9 May 07:00AM GMT / Mon 9 May 05:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. Sarah Stewart will be the guest presenter.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/153734

LINGUAFOLIO ONLINE FOR STARTALK (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 9 May 04:00PM New York / Mon 9 May 08:00PM GMT / Tue 10 May 06:00AM Sydney
Krystal Sundstrom. We will discuss LinguaFolio Online for STARTALK programs, and share information on how to register, how to navigate the tool, and how to integrate LinguaFolio Online with your STARTALK program.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/154411

EPORTFOLIOS IN MAY: EPORTFOLIOS IN THE PROFESSIONS (Australia Series)
Mon 9 May 08:30PM New York / Tue 10 May 12:30AM GMT / Tue 10 May 10:30AM Sydney
Coach Carole. Presentations from eportfolio practitioners in the professions: Presentation one Pauline Wilson, Teaching, TAE @ YNH Services, VIC; Presentation two Una Daly, Dental Hygiene, Foothill Community College, California, USA; Presentation three Bec James-Mobbs, Nursing, RDNS, SA; and Presentation four Sarah Stewart, eportfolios in the cloud, NZ.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/153738

"MINI-GEEK FEST" MONTHLY ONLINE CONVERSATION MAY, 2011 (AzTEA )
Mon 9 May 11:00PM New York / Tue 10 May 03:00AM GMT / Tue 10 May 01:00PM Sydney
Peggy George and Kim Thomas. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home. It's not a presentation or a tutorial, but a conversation--think of it like a "show and tell" where ALL participants can contribute. Shows will be recorded and archived so if you can't participate in the live sessions, you can listen to the recordings later. We look forward to an exciting and interesting conversation! Feel free to share this invitation with your "tech-loving" colleagues.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/152482

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: THE GOOGLE TEACHER ACADEMY (SYDNEY) (Australia Series)
Tue 9 May 02:00AM New York / Tue 10 May 06:00AM GMT / Tue 10 May 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. In April this year, a Google Teacher Academy was held in Sydney. This prestigious event is offered to innovative educators. This session will have Tania Sheko presenting to us on her experiences at this academy. These will include highlights, the cohort, benefits, some google apps to share. How can google and all its apps be used in the classrooms and education in general. Bring along your questions and share in the conversations.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/15702

CSOV STUDENT REPORT (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 10 May 09:30AM New York / Tue 10 May 01:30PM GMT / Tue 10 May 11:30PM Sydney
Molly Williams. Join this webinar for a CSOV Student Report/Broadcast of Camp News.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/155233

CSOV STUDENT REPORT (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 10 May 11:30AM New York / Tue 10 May 03:30PM GMT / Wed 11 May 01:30AM Sydney
Molly Williams. Join this webinar for a CSOV Student Report/Broadcast of Camp News.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/155234

US-LATIN AMERICAN RELATIONS IN THE OBAMA ERA (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 10 May 07:30PM New York / Tue 10 May 11:30PM GMT / Wed 11 May 09:30AM Sydney
Mary Risner. This presentation provides a brief historical overview of US-Latin American relations, regional and international trends affecting US policy, and the Obama administration’s performance. Part IV of a 4 -session series to introduce Latin American themes to encourage teachers to integrate area studies across the curriculum. Participants are invited to collaborate on a wiki that will share online resources and activities related to Latin America for classroom use.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/151428

SECOND PANEL ON PASSION-BASED EDUCATION, WITH GUESTS ANGELA MAIERS, AMY SANDVOLD, LISA NIELSEN, AND GEORGE COUROS. (Future of Education Series)
Tue 10 May 08:00PM New York / Wed 11 May 12:00AM GMT / Wed 11 May 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. This webinar will feature a panel of educators discussion passion driven classrooms and educators.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/154672

GLOBAL SCIENCE SEMINAR - INSTRUCTOR SESSION (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 11 May 12:00PM New York / Wed 11 May 04:00PM GMT / Thu 12 May 02:00AM Sydney
Jim Gerry. Instructor dialogue to prepare for seminar with scientist on 5/18/2011. Time to review material to be covered, how it fits into the science curriculum, how to conduct the live session with your students.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/156979

INTERVIEW WITH HUGH MCGUIRE, THE CREATOR OF THE CROWD-SOURCED AUDIOBOOK SERVICE LIBRIVOX.ORG. (Future of Education Series)
Wed 11 May 08:00PM New York / Thu 12 May 12:00AM GMT / Thu 12 May 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon will talk with Hugh McGuire about LibriVox.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/154669

PRIMARY SOURCE GLOBAL READ (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 12 May 05:00PM New York / Thu 12 May 09:00PM GMT / Fri 13 May 07:00AM Sydney
Maggie Kaiser. This webinar will feature "The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind" with Bryan Mealer.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/150119

INTERVIEW WITH PAUL KIMMELMAN ON HIS BOOK, THE SCHOOL LEADERSHIP TRIANGLE (Future of Education Series)
Thu 12 May 08:00PM New York / Fri 13 May 12:00AM GMT / Fri 13 May 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon will discuss "The School Leadership Triangle" with Paul Kimmelman.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/154674

BEST OF THE SCHOOL YEAR LIVE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 12 May 08:00PM New York / Fri 13 May 12:00AM GMT / Fri 13 May 10:00AM Sydney
Laura Candler. Laura Candler of Teaching Resources (http://www.lauracandler.com) is organizing this special event in which teachers of students in grades 3 through 8 will share their best strategies, activities, and technology ideas from the 2010 - 2011 school year. Join us for an exciting, fun-filled session!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/152978

THE KNOWLEDGE SHARING PLACE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 12 May 08:00PM New York / Fri 13 May 12:00AM GMT / Fri 13 May 10:00AM Sydney
Dean Mantz. The Knowledge Sharing Place welcomes Lisa Dabbs from Teachingwithsoul.com as she shares with us one of her favorite missions - creating a mentoring environment for new teachers so that everyone can succeed. Help us celebrate the one year anniversary of Teacher Chat and learn how you can also be an effective mentor in your own community.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/156001

MAKING MATHEMATICS REAL: A TED-ED SERIES PROPOSAL (Math 2.0 Series)
Thu 12 May 07:30PM New York / Thu 12 May 11:30PM GMT / Fri 13 May 09:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join David Wees and Maria Droujkova for brainstorming a mathematics education video series for TED-ED new archive.The TED-Ed Brain Trust is a private online forum created to shape and accelerate TED's push into the realm of Education. It aims to assemble a new archive of remarkable educational videos designed to catalyze learning around the globe. TED is seeking the expertise of visionary educators, organizations and creative professionals to help guide, galvanize and ultimately lead this exciting new initiative. During the event, David Wees will introduce the idea of video series centered on real mathematics.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/157238

CSOV ONLINE STUDENT NEWSCAST (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Fri 13 May 08:00AM New York / Fri 13 May 12:00PM GMT / Fri 13 May 10:00PM Sydney
Molly Williams. Join Molly and her students for another student newscast.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/153373

FEATURED TEACHER (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 14 May 12:00PM New York / Sat 14 May 04:00PM GMT / Sun 15 May 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Cheryl Oakes will share ways she uses technology to engage her high school students.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/157104

"MATHEMATICS 1001" AND OTHER PROJECTS OF RICHARD ELWES (Math 2.0 Series)
Sat 14 May 12:00PM New York / Sat 14 May 04:00PM GMT / Sun 15 May 02:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Richard Elwes will talk about his work on popularizing interesting bits of mathematics.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/157240

HIGH TECH HIGH -- COLLEGIAL CONVERSATIONS (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 14 May 03:00PM New York / Sat 14 May 07:00PM GMT / Sun 15 May 05:00AM Sydney
Ben Daley. Educators gather virtually to discuss student work and educator dilemmas.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/125301
Post a Comment