Sunday, May 01, 2011

Week of May 1, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

EPORTFOLIOS IN MAY: COMMUNITIES OF PRACTICE (Australia Series)
Mon 2 May 03:00AM New York / Mon 2 May 07:00AM GMT / Mon 2 May 05:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. Presentations from a panel of CoP 'ers: Presentation one Ken Gooding for eWorks VIC,Presentation two Rodney Lofts for the Melbourne Moodle User Group,Presentation three Allison Poot for PebblePad, TAS, Presentation four Sarah Chesney for JISC UK
http://www.learncentral.org/event/153736

DIVING INTO DIGITAL BOOKS: ADDING EREADERS TO YOUR LIBRARY (TL Cafe)
Mon 2 May 08:00PM New York / Tue 3 May 12:00AM GMT / Tue 3 May 10:00AM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones. Kindles, Nooks and iPads, Oh My! Implementing eReaders into your library program is about more than just jumping on the latest technological bandwagon or attempting to reinvent your library in order to stay relevant. It’s about good practice. Join Buffy Hamilton and Jennifer LaGarde as they discuss how eReaders have helped them provide students with a) access to the most up to date titles, b) the unique ability to efficiently link works of fiction with nonfiction resources and, c) the opportunity to interact with texts in ways that are simply not possible with traditional, library owned, books – all in an environment that both appeals to and enhances their skills as 21st century learners.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/127625

PCTI (PEER COACHING) - S7 WHAT'S WORKING? PROTOCOL - #4 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Mon 2 May 09:30PM New York / Tue 3 May 01:30AM GMT / Tue 3 May 11:30AM Sydney
Shelee King George. What's Working?, one of 34 activities in Peer Coaching, centers on a success analysis protocol -- a guided discussion designed to encourage reflection and a focus on replicating success. Is the protocol useful among educators generally? Can it be used well with students? Join us to discuss these and related issues, and see the latest videos from Shelee King George Productions!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/155533

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: PHISHING, SCAMS, ONLINE SECURITY AND MORE! (Australia Series)
Tue 2 May 02:00AM New York / Tue 3 May 06:00AM GMT / Tue 3 May 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. The recent scams and security leaks involving Sony Play Station brings to the fore, issues with online security. This session will be a general discussion amongst participants of personal experiences with any of these, ways to keep secure online and approaches to take when we are phished and scammed! Come join along and join in the conversations. If you can, bring examples of any phish, security or scams that you have come across or been involved in.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/155733

VODOU, SANTERÍA, AND CANDOMBLÉ: AFRO-EUROPEAN RELIGOUS ENCOUNTERS IN THE CARIBBEAN AND LATIN AMERICA (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 3 May 07:30PM New York / Tue 3 May 11:30PM GMT / Wed 4 May 09:30AM Sydney
Mary Risner. Part III of a 4 session series to introduce Latin American themes to encourage teachers to integrate area studies across the curriculum. Participants are invited to collaborate on a wiki that will share online resources and activities related to Latin America for classroom use.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/151420

EXCHANGES THAT WORK WITH ANVILL (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 4 May 06:00PM New York / Wed 4 May 10:00PM GMT / Thu 5 May 08:00AM Sydney
Jeff Magoto. ANVILL gives your students a platform for speech-based activities that go well beyond the classroom. Today's session will focus on what language instructors do to make those exchanges meaningful and lasting.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/153742

DOCENTES INGENIOSOS (Aula 2.0)
Thu 5 May 09:00PM New York / Fri 6 May 01:00AM GMT / Fri 6 May 11:00AM Sydney
Tomas Chaskel. Integrarse y formar Redes sociales de investigación y docencia. Conocer herramientas que permitan mediar contenidos docentes, conocimiento y dictar cursos a través de Blogs de contenidos, aprenderán a subir contenidos y manejar el concepto de gagets y códigos incrustados Elaborar y compartir enlaces de documentos compartidos y a generar conocimiento en Red: Google doc, e integrar esta información y publicarla en el BLOG.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/155470

PCTI (PEER COACHING) - S7 WHAT'S WORKING? PROTOCOL - #5 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 5 May 09:30PM New York / Fri 6 May 01:30AM GMT / Fri 6 May 11:30AM Sydney
Shelee King George. What's Working?, one of 34 activities in Peer Coaching, centers on a success analysis protocol -- a guided discussion designed to encourage reflection and a focus on replicating success. Is the protocol useful among educators generally? Can it be used well with students? Join us to discuss these and related issues, and see the latest videos from Shelee King George Productions!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/155536

CSOV NEWSCAST (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Fri 6 May 08:00AM New York / Fri 6 May 12:00PM GMT / Fri 6 May 10:00PM Sydney
Molly Williams. Join Molly for a student newscast.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/153372

CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 7 May 12:00PM New York / Sat 7 May 04:00PM GMT / Sun 8 May 02:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Classroom 2.0 co-hosts will lead a conversation about using technology tools and resources in the classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/155904
Post a Comment