Sunday, February 27, 2011

Week of February 27, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

SYMBIOTIC LEARNING WEEKLY MEETING (Math 2.0 Series)
Sun 27 Feb 04:00PM New York / Sun 27 Feb 09:00PM GMT / Mon 28 Feb 08:00AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Our first dream is to develop a virtual body/atlas with which you could explore, research with and share the results. A way to do science online and remove the ethical, financial and other constraints and just get back to researching ideas, gathering results and sharing them.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/140235

DISTINGUISHED LECTURE SERIES- ONGOING (Elluminate Live)
Mon 28 Feb 03:00PM New York / Mon 28 Feb 08:00PM GMT / Tue 1 Mar 07:00AM Sydney
Blackboard Collaborate. Free online lectures covering a wide-range of topics related to education and technology, presented by thought leaders and innovators from around the world, delivered LIVE to your desktop. If this is your first time hearing about the series you can catch up by viewing the archived events or be a pioneer and join us for a live upcoming lecture!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/142220

EP: COLLABORATIVE STRATEGIES FOR EFFECTIVE LEARNER OUTCOMES (Australia Series)
Mon 28 Feb 08:00PM New York / Tue 1 Mar 01:00AM GMT / Tue 1 Mar 12:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. Collaborative strategies for developing resources for effective learning outcomes using e-portfolios
http://www.learncentral.org/event/135468

TECH TALK TUESDAYS: BIG, LITTLE EDUCATION (Australia Series)
Tue 28 Mar 12:00AM New York / Tue 1 Mar 05:00AM GMT / Tue 1 Mar 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. The guest presenter this week is Adrian Camm, who is an innovative, mutli-award winning teacher at both the national and state levels in Australia. Adrian won the coveted Outstanding Secondary Teacher for Victoria last year. In this session, Adrian will talk about some of the great things he has been doing since this award, his current role, Quantum Victoria and the international conferences that he has attended. As part of his new role, Adrian will share some of the new technologies that he is sharing with his new role eg augmented reality and the Little Big Planet 2. No matter what subject or year level, or area of education you are interested in, there will be something for you.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/141443

IPAD AND APPS GO TO MIDDLE SCHOOL (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 1 Mar 04:00PM New York / Tue 1 Mar 09:00PM GMT / Wed 2 Mar 08:00AM Sydney
Mary Henton. Explore the iPad and some great apps for the middle school classroom. We’ll focus on apps that lend themselves to STEM as well as apps to facilitate integration across disciplines. Take a look at iPad’s possibilities for teaching and learning. If you’re already using iPad, bring your ideas along and share!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/138149

POSTPONED - TED TALKS, EDUCATION, AND THE DEPTH OF CONVERSATIONS (Future of Education Series)
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon, David Bill, and special guests discuss the TED and TEDx ed programs in the context of education reform conversations--what role do these programs play in the larger conversation, who and what point of views are being featured, and are substantive education scholars ignored?
http://www.learncentral.org/node/142537

PSYCHOLOGY OF MATH LEARNING (Math 2.0 Series)
Tue 1 Mar 09:00PM New York / Wed 2 Mar 02:00AM GMT / Wed 2 Mar 01:00PM Sydney
Carol Cross. Join this "Live" discussion of P2PU "Psychology of Math Learning" class.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/13259

ET@LKING: A DIGITAL JOURNEY (Australia Series)
Wed 2 Mar 04:00AM New York / Wed 2 Mar 09:00AM GMT / Wed 2 Mar 08:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. Penny Bentley will be the guest presenter. Listen to one educators' journey into the successful uptake of technology - from where Penny Bentley started to today! Penny will share with us her digital journeys over the last 12 months from early beginnings to now, where she is establishing her one learning network. Where and how to start with technology, how do you get connected, how to find a learning network etc right through to today, where Penny has commenced a facebook page for her network, is actively involved online and keen to teach online. Follow Penny's e-footsteps with us and continue or commence your own.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/141906

EPA WATERSENSE/WASTEWATER EDUCATION: FIX-A-LEAK WEEK! (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 2 Mar 03:00PM New York / Wed 2 Mar 08:00PM GMT / Thu 3 Mar 07:00AM Sydney
Wastewater Education. EPA WaterSense and WasteWater Education will present a free hour seminar to introduce home school, elementary and high school teachers to the curriculum materials available from USEPA to promote March 14-20, 2011 "Fix A Leak Week!" In 2009, EPA WaterSense's 2,100 partners collectively saved over 36 BILLION gallons of precious drinking water. Which translates into 4.9 billion Kwh of electricity saved! Which means over 1.75 million metric tons of carbon dioxide didn't go into our atmosphere! This presentation is applicable for anyone who teaches physical sciences, environmental or social studies and would like to inspire their students to action!
http://www.learncentral.org/event/139252

POSTPONED - JIM KLEIN ON SOCIAL NETWORKING IN A SCHOOL COMMUNITY AND STUDENT TECHNOLOGY USE (Future of Education Series)
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Jim Klein on Social Networking in a School Community and Student Technology Use
http://www.learncentral.org/node/142192

P2PU COURSE - CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 2 Mar 07:30PM New York / Thu 3 Mar 12:30AM GMT / Thu 3 Mar 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131366

ISSUES CONCERNING EVOLUTION TEACHING: PRACTICE (PART VI) (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 3 Mar 02:30PM New York / Thu 3 Mar 07:30PM GMT / Fri 4 Mar 06:30AM Sydney
Panagiotis Stasinakis. With Greek secondary education teachers, we are going to talk about evolution teaching, teaching practice issues concerning this problematic subject for many science teachers. The webinar will be held in Greek language.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/140766

POSTPONED - PANEL DISCUSSION ON "UNSCHOOLING" (Future of Education Series)
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon as he talks with Kate Fridkis, Monika Hardy, Lisa Nielsen, and Clark Aldrich for a panel discussion on "Unschooling".
http://www.learncentral.org/node/142199

CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 5 Mar 12:00PM New York / Sat 5 Mar 05:00PM GMT / Sun 6 Mar 04:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise. Join Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George asthey explore technology tools to use with students in the classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/142186

LEARN TO BE - ONLINE LEADERSHIP EXCHANGE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 5 Mar 03:00PM New York / Sat 5 Mar 08:00PM GMT / Sun 6 Mar 07:00AM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. Learn To Be is a non-profit that provides free online tutoring to children in underserved communities. The Online Leadership Exchange is a meeting open to the public where leaders from the various University Chapters come together to share updates and discuss best practices. More information about Learn To Be is available at http://www.learntobe.org.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/140770
Post a Comment