Saturday, January 29, 2011

Week of January 31, 2011 - Live, Interactive, and Free Webinars in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through LearnCentral.org, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (http://www.learncentral.org/group/3432/host-your-own-webinars).

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

KAREN CATOR ON THE NATIONAL EDUCATION TECHNOLOGY PLAN (Future of Education Series)
Mon 31 Jan 06:00PM New York / Mon 31 Jan 11:00PM GMT / Tue 1 Feb 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Karen Cator, Director of the Office of Educational Technology, on education, technology, and the 2010 National Education Technology Plan.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131618

STEM/PBL COLLABORATION (Middle School Portal 2)
Mon 31 Jan 07:00PM New York / Tue 1 Feb 12:00AM GMT / Tue 1 Feb 11:00AM Sydney
Mary Henton. Incorporate STEM activities through project-based learning. This webinar will discuss how STEM and PBL projects work together, 21st Century skills and how to use Bloom's taxonomy to create projects for student engagement.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132687

EPORTFOLIO COMMUNITY OF PRACTICE: PD STRATEGIES (Australia Series)
Mon 31 Jan 09:00PM New York / Tue 1 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Tue 1 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Coach Carole. Meeting #5 of the EpCoP: PD strategies - What strategies would you choose to help others get started with eportfolios? How would you structure a short course in eportfolios? What are the best methods of doing all of this online? Please join us to discuss, we value your opinions and ideas. Also a chance to help develop the EpCoP blog for 2011 and help promote the EpCoP events for Feb - June.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/123800

DAVID WILEY ON OPEN EDUCATION (Future of Education Series)
Mon 31 Jan 06:00PM New York / Mon 31 Jan 11:00PM GMT / Tue 1 Feb 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews David Wiley, Associate Professor of Instructional Psychology and Technology at Brigham Young University, Chief Openness Officer of Flat World Knowledge, and Founder of the Open High School of Utah. David is well know for his work on open content, open education, and informal online learning communities.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132743

PSYCHOLOGY OF MATH LEARNING (Math 2.0 Series)
Tue 1 Feb 09:00PM New York / Wed 2 Feb 02:00AM GMT / Wed 2 Feb 01:00PM Sydney
Carol Cross. Join this webinar for a live discussion for P2PU Class "Psychology of Math Learning".
http://www.learncentral.org/event/132581

ET@LKING: AN EBOX FULL OF TWEETS (Australia Series)
Wed 2 Feb 05:00AM New York / Wed 2 Feb 10:00AM GMT / Wed 2 Feb 09:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. This is a follow up to our inaugural eT@lking session for 2011 on the widespread uptake and use of twitter during the current flood disasters in Australia. Why use twitter? How can twitter be used effectively? What impact is twitter having on society and therefore what is the impact for education? What desktop applications can be used eg tweetdeck, hootsuite etc. What are hashtags in twitter? How can they be used to good effect? What tags do people follow? How can twitter be used as a search engine? Join us for a general discussion session. This is open to all – people who are new to twitter and those who already use twitter. Opportunities will be provided for participants to ask questions and to share knowledge.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/134648

GET EVERYBODY ELSE TO DO IT: ENTERPRISE PROJECT MANAGEMENT (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 2 Feb 01:30PM New York / Wed 2 Feb 06:30PM GMT / Thu 3 Feb 05:30AM Sydney
Lou Russel. Join Lou Russell to learn how to grow the project management competence of everyone else so they don't drive you nuts. Learn ways to grow PM in your organization so you get the help you need to get more done with less chaos.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/130254

P2PU COURSE - CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT (Math 2.0 Series)
Wed 2 Feb 07:30PM New York / Thu 3 Feb 12:30AM GMT / Thu 3 Feb 11:30AM Sydney
Maria Droujkova. Join this webinar for a discussion about this fast-paced, highly interactive online course introduces curriculum development ideas of the last decade, concepts from the near future, and tried-and-true classics through participation in educator communities.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/131361

BEING AN EMOTIONAL COACH TO GIFTED CHILDREN (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 3 Feb 02:00PM New York / Thu 3 Feb 07:00PM GMT / Fri 4 Feb 06:00AM Sydney
Margaret Keane. Christine Fonseca, author and gifted advocate, suggests strategies to support the emotional needs of gifted children.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/98481

KAREN HUME ON "ENGAGING THE 21ST CENTURY LEARNER" (Future of Education Series)
Thu 3 Feb 08:00PM New York / Fri 4 Feb 01:00AM GMT / Fri 4 Feb 12:00PM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Steve Hargadon interviews Karen Hume on on her book Tuned Out: Engaging the 21st Century Learner.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/134859

A WOMAN'S WALK IN GRACE - CHAPTER 11 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 3 Feb 08:30PM New York / Fri 4 Feb 01:30AM GMT / Fri 4 Feb 12:30PM Sydney
Catherine Martin. Join Catherine Martin and others worldwide for the Chapter 11 Discussion For A Woman's Walk In Grace Study. This study is open to all who want to discover the magnificence of God's extravagant grace and experience it for themselves. You will learn that grace is God's love in action and it is "the face that love wears when it meets imperfection, weakness, failure, sin. Grace is what love does and is when it meets the sinful and undeserving."
http://www.learncentral.org/event/100315

CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE - SEEDS TO SUCCESS USING SKYPE IN THE CLASSROOM (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 5 Feb 12:00PM New York / Sat 5 Feb 05:00PM GMT / Sun 6 Feb 04:00AM Sydney
Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Join Paula Naugle and Jan Wells as they share ways to innovatively use Skype in the classroom.
http://www.learncentral.org/event/134857

LEARN TO BE - ONLINE LEADERSHIP EXCHANGE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sat 5 Feb 03:00PM New York / Sat 5 Feb 08:00PM GMT / Sun 6 Feb 07:00AM Sydney
Jingshen Zhao. Learn To Be is a non-profit that provides free online tutoring to children in underserved communities. The Online Leadership Exchange is an hour-long meeting open to the public where leaders from the various University Chapters come together to share updates and discuss best practices. More information about Learn To Be is available at http://www.learntobe.org
http://www.learncentral.org/event/134195
Post a Comment