Monday, June 14, 2010

This Week's Live and Interactive Events in Elluminate

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive webinars through, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate.

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. A number of folks have emailed me looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, and while the developers at LearnCentral are working on a good long-term solution, you'll find my Google Calendar "hack" at Hope it helps!

Be on the lookout for Australia-time-friendly events as part of the new Australia Series, and Spanish-language Webinars from the Aula 2.0 Series! I hope you will also consider hosting your own public webinars using the LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (
Thanks for your attention, and see you online!


Monday, June 14th
  • 2am PDT (US) / 5am EDT (US) (next day) / 9am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times):
    “Elluminate Master Classes.”
    “Join Carole McCulloch for a session about the 'Basics: Nuts and Bolts' for using Elluminate.”
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 6pm PDT (US) / 9pm EDT (US) / 1am GMT/UTC (intl times)AULA SERIES
    "Yo maltrato, tú maltratas, él maltrata..." Facilitador: Mauricio Roa Mackenzie. Administrador aducativo; psicoterapeuta transpersonal; Logoterapeuta; "Bullying escolar, prevención y tratamiento de la agresividad en las aulas" Instituto Balear de Psiquiatría y Psicología; Creador del programa de prevención del maltrato escolar PAMI en el Colegio Bilingue Clermont; Consultor en la creación de programas de prevención e intervención del maltrato en varios colegios de Bogotá.
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 8pm PDT (US) / 11pm EDT (US) (next day) / 3am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times)
    AzTEA Mini-Geekfest Monthly Online Conversation .” Join Peggy George and Kim Thomas for a "Mini-Geek Fest" Monthly Online Conversation. Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don’t have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. The session is not a presentation or a tutorial, but a conversation--think of it like a "show and tell" where ALL participants can contribute. Shows will be recorded and archived so if you can't participate in the live sessions, you can listen to the recordings later. We look forward to an exciting and interesting conversation! Feel free to share this invitation with your "tech-loving" colleagues.
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 10:45pm PDT (US) / 1:45am EDT (US) (next day) / 5:45am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times)AUSTRALIA SERIES
    Let's have fun in the classroom!” Join Anne Mirtschin for a discussion asking why should all the fun stuff happen at home? Why shouldn't school be just as much fun, if not more so? How can technologies used at home be implemented in the classroom? Easily! Using technologies such as gaming and online social networking in the classroom to engage and educate students in Literacy has had a positive impact on student engagement in the classroom. Lynette uses the Nintendo Wii and Playstation 2 to learn general knowledge and learning how to share and cooperate with peers. She also uses digital cameras, iPods and Netbooks to create videos and audiobooks. SuperClubsPlus is used to learn about Cyber Safety and make friends with students in other countries. The classroom is a fun place to be!
    LearnCentral Link:
Tuesday, June 15th
  • 8am PDT (US) / 11am EDT (US) / 3pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    Successfully promoting and marketing your language program.Led by Dr. Sarah Eaton, international speaker and author of 101 Ways to Market Your Language Program: A Practical Guide for Language Schools, this webinar will give you strategies and tips to help you maximize the limited dollars and time you have to spend on marketing your program. Dr. Sarah's takes a practical approach to marketing, knowing that program promotion is a hot topic, but that many teachers and administrators just don't know where to start or how to do it effectively. In this 1-hour session we'll go over the basics of what marketing is and strategies and tips on how to market your program on a shoestring budget. We'll also touch on social media and networking. Who is this webinar for? Program directors and managers, department heads of language units, teachers, tutors, and other language professionals. If you already have the means to work with a professional marketing company, this session isn't for you. This program will be most useful for those who have a limited budget and those who do their own program promotion.
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 10am PDT (US) / 1pm EDT (US) / 5pm GMT/UTC (intl times): ELLUMINATE LIVE SERIES
    Jolt Participants Into Awareness And Action.Join Dr.Thiagi Sivasailam and Tracy Tagliati for their monthly series in Training Magazine Network. Problem: Experiential exercises require such a long time to prepare and to conduct that no time is available for debriefing. Solution: Use a jolt! Participate in different activities, each conducted in a few minutes and giving you a long-lasting wake-up call. Learn about the advantages of using brief simulations called jolts. Locate several ready-made jolts and create your own. Master a powerful model for debriefing to maximize team learning. LearnCentral Link: (pre-registration required)
Wednesday, June 16th
  • 12am PDT (US) / 3am EDT (US) / 7am GMT/UTC (intl times):
    VITTA Online Educa European Study Tour Information Night.” “Join Irena White for a session about 'The Victorian Information Technology Teachers Association (VITTA) '. VITTA will lead a study tour to the annual Online Educa Berlin international conference followed by a one-week of visits to leading European education and training schools and centres of innovation, including the European eTwinning projects and Join participants at the information night being held at the Melbourne German Club Tivoli hosted in association with the Goethe Institute who will be enjoying glasses of glühwein and bier with pretzels while learning more about the study tour program from tour leader Gerry White, 2009 VITTA ICT Leader of the Year. The tour is open to all educators interested in furthering their professional expertise in meeting the challenges and opportunities of digital learning.
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 3am PDT (US) / 7am EDT (US) / 11am GMT/UTC (intl times): AUSTRALIA SERIES
    Blogging Beyond Borders,” with presenter Anne Mirtschin. Blogging is one of the essential 21st century digital literacy skills. Whether you are new to blogging or experienced this session and challenge could be for you. Do you want to link your class or students to others around the world? Then join the student blogging challenge which is held in March and September each year for a 10 week period. Learn how to set up your blog and get ideas for posts and activities to add to your blog. Comment on blogs from classes and students in over 10 countries of the world. Sounds like too much hard work? Well, leave it to Sue Wyatt and Sue Waters organizational work - you just have to register and have a go at the activities. Here more about the challenge, or gain some tips and hints from this session to help you with your blogging journey.
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 3:30pm PDT (US) / 6:30pm EDT (US) / 10:30pm GMT/UTC (intl times): BRAINPOP SERIES
    “Digital Storytelling with Promethean and BrainPOP.”
    Learn how you and your class can create engaging projects using BrainPOP and Promethean's ActivInspire software. Use both audio narration and the video recorder to make your own original multimedia projects that get students motivated. You will learn techniques to help students synthesize content, develop understanding, and increase long term memory in this hour long webinar.
    LearnCentral Link: (pre-registration required)

  • 10pm PDT (US) / 1am EDT (US) (next day) / 5am GMT/UTC (next day) (intl times)
    Strategies for using e-books,” with host Kerrie Smith. Join in and share your thoughts about how schools and libraries might manage implementation of e-books. If you are already doing it, we'd love to pick your brains.
    LearnCentral Link:
Thursday, June 17th
  • 2:30am PDT (US) / 5:30am EDT (US) / 9:30am GMT/UTC (intl times): STUDENT 2.0 SERIES
    “Twitter - not just small talk. Using Twitter for learning purposes.”
    Join Jenny Luca to discuss the use of Twitter. Twitter can be the basis of a very useful learning network. Discover how you can find people on Twitter who have similar interests to your own, and how to effectively share what you know with the network you form.
    LearnCentral Link:
  • 4pm PDT (US) / 7pm EDT (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (intl times):
    “Edublogs Fine Focus (Topic to be advised in advance).”
    Join us for our forthnightly "Fine Focus" sessions on a wide range of topics from: how to use tools/applications (the "techie stuff"),
    edu issues, e-learning tools/strategies and much more. In fact anything "e" that is of interest to educators. PS If you have anything you would like to share we would love you to deliver a session for us.
    LearnCentral Link:
Friday, June 18th
  • 12:30pm PDT (US) / 3:30pm EDT (US) / 7:30pm GMT/UTC (intl times): ELLUMINATE LIVE SERIES
    “Who Has Quit Without Leaving?
    Assessments To Test Staff Commitment,” with presenter Lou Russell. “It’s been tough out there in the job market, and we all have friends that are still looking for work. On the other hand, we’re blessed to have jobs BUT we are frantically doing more with less staff, and not always being treated in ways that indicate the company values us. Do you have people on your teams feeling undervalued, looking for the first chance they get to move to somewhere that will treat them better? It’s not likely these people will tell you, for fear of losing their jobs. Think about using anonymous assessments to examine how many of your staff have quit without leaving.”
    LearnCentral Link: (pre-registration required)
Saturday, June 19th
  • 9am PDT (US) / 12pm EDT (US) / 4pm GMT/UTC (intl times): CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE SERIES
    Toronto District School Board, Using Social Media to Support Staff, Students and Families . Join Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George for another Classroom 2.0 LIVE session with Stuart Oakley, T.J. Goertz, Manny Da Luz, Chris Spence, and Aveline Ristuccia who will share how the Toronto District School Board uses social media to support and engage students, parent and teachers.
    LearnCentral Link:
  • 11am PDT (US) / 2pm EDT (US) / 6pm GMT/UTC (intl times): MATH 2.0 WEEKLY SERIES
    InstaCalc and BetterExplained. Join Maria Droujkova for a discussion about the InstaCalc online calculator and 'BetterExplained' blog projects.
    LearnCentral Link:
Post a Comment