Monday, February 15, 2010

This Week's Live and Interactive Events

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive webinars from, the social learning network for education that I work on for Elluminate

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. Be on the lookout for Australia-time-friendly events as part of the new Australia Series!

I also hope you'll consider hosting your own public webinars using the LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the "Host Your Own Webinar" group on the main announcement tab (

Monday, February 15th
  • 1pm Pacific Time (US) / 9pm GMT/UTC (international times):
    Anne Mirtschin hosts "eT@lking - The Power of Blogging" as part of The Australia Series.  "Blogging started me on an amazing journey and it is still a tool that I am passionate about. Join me in a discussion on the power of blogging, what blogging might look like, tips, hints, how to generate an audience, how it can be used with students, the importance of tagging and categories, what to write about, their use for reflections and connecting etc."LearnCentral Link:

  • 5pm Pacific Time (US) / 1am (next days) GMT/UTC (international times):
    "Lesson Planning for ESL/EFL Games."  The Learning Games Network's Sherri Wright will be discussing approaches for creating lesson plans for games, merging both Week 5 and Week 6 sessions. This event is part of the "Online Games for ESL/EFL" session in TESOL's Electronic Village Online 2010 ( All are welcome to join us.
    LearnCentral Link:
Tuesday, February 16th
  • 2:30pm Pacific Time (US) / 10:30pm GMT/UTC (international times):
    Kim Lightle hosts MSP2's "Citizen Science: Building Math and Science Skills and Knowledge."  In this session, you’ll find out about the Cornell Lab’s citizen science projects, especially eBird, and how your classroom can participate. You’ll also see examples of the kinds of online data and graphs that are easily accessible to you and your students. Finally, you’ll learn about our free BirdSleuth resources that will support you in giving students experience with the entire scientific process: observing birds carefully, asking their own questions, collecting data, summarizing data with graphs and charts, drawing evidence-based conclusions through research and observation, and publishing their results in Cornell Lab’s student scientific journals.
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 5pm Pacific Time (US) / 1am (next day) GMT/UTC (international times):
    Theresa Beffa  interviews David Siteman Garland on "Entrepreneurship Education for Young Entrepreneurs" as part of the interview series on the impact of the Internet on Culture and Society.
    LearnCentral Link:
Wednesday, February 17th
Thursday, February 18th
  • 2pm Pacific Time (US) / 10pm GMT/UTC (international times):
    Jane Krauss and Suzie Boss  hosts "Better with Practice: PBL Implementation Tips from the Field Session 1."  This is the first in a three-part Webinar series on Project-based Learning.  The first session topic is How to Create a Culture of Inquiry in the PBL Classroom. "We seek your input in shaping the conversation. Look for opportunities to interact on this topic coming soon."
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 3pm Pacific Time (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (international times):
    Join me as I interview
    Clay Shirky, author of Here Comes Everybody:  The Power of Organizing Without Organizations.  
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 3pm Pacific Time (US) / 11pm GMT/UTC (international times):
    Jo Hart hosts "
    Edublogs - Serendipity - unconference session" as part of The Australia Series.  "Join us in our fortnightly unconference webinars. Bring along the burning issues and hot topics YOU would like to discuss. Topic is chosen by poll at the start of the session."  
    LearnCentral Link:

  • 4pm Pacific Time (US) / 12am (next day) GMT/UTC (international times):
    Terry Lindenmuth  hosts "
    HS19530 1to1" - Students from a 1 to 1 laptop high school will present technology infused projects and activities related to their classes. The students and their teacher will be available for questions after the presentation.    
    LearnCentral Link:
Saturday, February 20th
  • 7am Pacific Time (US) / 3pm GMT/UTC (international times):
    Terry Lindenmuth hosts "GeoGebra:Tech in Math Ed" as part of the Math 2.0 Series.  "You, the participants, will determine what aspects of GeoGebra I demonstrate."  Target audience: This is mainly for beginners to GeoGebra and high school math teachers.  Everyone is welcome.LearnCentral Link:

  • 9am Pacific Time (US) / 5pm GMT/UTC (international times):
    Peggy George, Kim Caise, and Lorna Costantini host the weekly
    Classroom 2.0 LIVE show. The topic this Saturday will be "PBS/Frontline Digital Nation" with special guests Kim Flack, Sandy St. Louis, and Malinda McCormick. Kim, Sandy and Malinda will lead a discussion about the content featured in the 'Digital Nation' program.

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!
Post a Comment